We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day here. Weather was a bonus. Views tremendous., lots of pics.”
Review of Park Guell

Park Guell
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Park Güell
Ranked #14 of 698 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Park Guell is one of the masterpieces of the Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi, who projected it in 1900. Inaugurated as a public park in 1926, it was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984, reconizing its patrimonial and cultural value as a symbol of modern architecture, being one of the biggest exponents of Gaudi's modernism. This playful urban park, the work of architect Antoni Gaudi, features peaceful greens, winding paths and many sculptures and mosaics designed by Gaudi himself. We recommend the following options for ensuring that you arrive on time at the Park Guell Monument Precinct: - Metro (green line, get off at Lesseps or Vallcarca). When you leave the station, you’ll have a walk of about 20-25 minutes. - City bus (lines H6 and 32). When you get off the bus, you’ll have a walk of about 15 minutes. - City bus (lines 92 and 24). When you get off the bus, you’ll have a walk of about 5 minutes. - Barcelona City Tour and Bus Turistic. When you get off the bus, you’ll have a walk of about 10 minutes. - Taxi to Park Guell (Carretera del Carmel or Calle de Marianao)
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great day here. Weather was a bonus. Views tremendous., lots of pics.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Queues on entry were long but no complaints really as staff were efficient and lines went down quickly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alcralyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,709
    16,677
    6,731
    1,560
    720
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy and Beautiful”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Going to this Park was an afterthought for us but I am so glad to have been there. It is very lovely but very busy. Designed by Gaudi with Mr Guell's money, this was meant to be the start of a community of houses al built in the Gaudi style. The Park was meant to be an area for people to enjoy and share as part of living here. The project ran out of money and the only things built were the rather special features of the park that you can wander around and two houses which you can't go into. You can however go into the house that was designed for the caretaker to live in. It is totally splendid from the outside but in truth inside is very disappointing. The only things to see are videos running in each of the rooms. But it is included in the entrance fee to the park so if you are intrigued, you are not losing anything. Just don't expect anything interesting.

Once you have taken your fill of the Gaudi created wonders, you can then wander out into the wider park which is free to anyone who just wants a walk in the open space.

If you go to Barcelona, I would definitely put it on your wish list.......but as with anything popular, the earlier you can get there, the better. Oh, and be warned, there is no-where decent to have anything to eat in the area. We went to a local restaurant and it was really terrible and they tried to overcharge us.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a must see on any visit to Barcelona! It was very busy when we were there on a weekend morning in November! Must be nice to wander around here and take in the details in peace - but I wonder if you ever get the chance to do that anymore

Helpful?
Thank MathanTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a fun afternoon.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I liked the whimsy of this park, which has not changed much since I last saw it 20 years ago but I didn't like the dogy looking street venders on the paths. We had to skirt around one who was yelling at some tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Skip the Fee and Enjoy a Beautiful Park”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent an enjoyable couple of hours here, walking the tranquil paths, seeing impressive city views and unique Gaudi style landscaping. It was disappointing to learn that there is now an admission fee ( based on the descriptions in our Guidebook, the 8 euros cost didn't seem great value) to get into the centre of the park, where the main Gaudi influenced buildings are. Having done the Gaudi Cathedral earlier that day were happy to forgo the fee and wander around the remainder of the park for free, which still offers the magnificent city views and stone bridges and landscaping straight out of Tolkien's books.We took the Metro and hiked and took escalators to get there and yes it is steep, but nothing too taxing (we are moderately fit in our mid 50's).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannuckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Guell also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Park Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing