We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel!”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first 2 nights of our trip in Spain. The rooms were very nice and the the staff was great. Very convenient location and easy to walk to many tourist sights. Great food and drinks just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    236
    61
    31
    18
See reviews for
340
896
47
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you like tyo be pampered this is the hotel for you! Excellent nightclub and a very cool Cigar Bar. Breakfast in the atrium was exciting, almot felt like being served in a big mansion!

Spa services are wonerful...book at check-in with 15% off coupon!

Room Tip: Ask for an uggrade to a two room suite...worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times previous, and found the hotel to be a really great place to stay. The cost is a little more than you would wish to spend, but its worth it. The rooms are large, and fairiy quite, even though the hotel is positioned on the corner of two main roads, we heard very little traffic. Breakfast is also amazing, with plenty of choice and Champagne if you want it. The staff are all very curtious and friendly. The only one issue we did have was wanting afternoon tea after a long morning and afternoon of shopping. Apparently, you need to order this 48 hours in advance. Sorry El Palace, this is not normal for a 5 star hotel. The staff did try to provide tea with some petit-fours, but it wasn't what we wanted. The only bad mark on the entire stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Nice old fashioned hotel, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best experience, hotel I have ever stayed at.recommend to anyone.staff lovely, hotel immaculate, felt like royalty.I visited this hotel for a week in 2010, never been here before, and I will come and stay here again, it is everything and more. The service, the food, the staff is just exceptional. The hotel is close to everything, and aircon is on when you need it in the hot summer months.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Upon arrival everything looks fine with this hotel, you step from the bustly street and its serine the atmosphere of calm and quiet. Check in was fine, then we were escorted to the room by a nice lady who gave me her business card. The room,,,,,was small and scruffy, we were in a deluxe suite, which to me looked like a basic room, the view was of air conditioners. The carpets look like they need to be renewned and the room was cramped, the mini bar was in a strange area. The shower had a overhead spray so you got soaked unless you used the hand held. The breakfast area...... work is commencing some place in the hotel so when you eat breakfast you hear the sounds of machinery constantly, and its a little chilly in there even for someone who is always warm like myself. The choice of food for breakfast could be better. Snack area....which is located just before the business area near the bar,,,the food here was excellent as was the service no faults there. Check out,,,we left this hotel and informed reception early in the morning that we wouldn't be staying that evening, we had booked direct with the hotel, they said it was only fair that we paid half towards that nights stay, which we did, felt a little ripped off. ALSO DO NOT EXCHANGE MONEY WITH THIS HOTEL THEY RIP YOU OFF generally this hotel is a little noisey in public areas also a little noisey in the bedrooms due to overlooking air conditioners

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacebarcelona, Director General at El Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ms. Tota,
First of all, we would like to thank you very much for having chosen El Palace Hotel during your stay in Barcelona last May and for your time for sharing with us your comments and experience.
We have carefully read all what you expose and we deeply regret for not having met your expectations on this occasion. One of the most important commitments for us is to make each single customer stay the most memorable one.
Considering your comments point by point, we would like to specify that the room you were staying is actually one of the biggest ones, a Junior Suite with 40sqm – 431ft2, one of the most quiet rooms as it is overlooking one of the typical Barcelonian Eixample’s patio, and as all the hotel it is decorated following the classic style that is one of the key selling points of our property. The carpets were bought new since our last and deep renovation which lasted two years reopening late 2009, so it was forecasted to restore them again between next year and 2016. However, your opinion is important for us and we have taken all necessary actions to make this project fastener.
On the other hand, and with regards to the breakfast area, as we mentioned the hotel building is located within the Barcelona area designed by Ildefons Cerdà, the famous and illustrious architect admired for its concept of building up edifices islands with a grid shape. The main concept conceived a garden in the middle of these buildings and our breakfast area is actually located into our indoor garden, maintaining the original streetlights from the 1919, and the typical wrought iron furniture so common in the 20’s. We are really sorry that in the adjacent building there were some works but this is an unforeseen circumstance outside the hotel power. Nevertheless we would like to mention that the Hotel is starting now a new era with a new management, so we will also study how we can improve the buffet breakfast being served now at this iconic area as the Garden Room is.
Finally, and with regards to the checkout process, normally the hotel has the policy to charge 1 night penalty fee for early and unexpected departures. Our Front Desk did a gesture of goodwill agreeing with you to only charge 50% of this amount; however we regret that you felt the currency exchange was not the appropriate one. Normally the exchange rate in a hotel is lower than in a bank; however subject on the amount of money you are changing it would be more or less convenient to exchange it at the hotel according to the bank commissions. Nevertheless if you consider this was not the appropriate one, we will kindly ask you to forward us which was the exchange rate applied and we will compare with the exchange rate should have been those days and find that it was not the proper one we will refund you the difference.
Ms. Tota, thanking you again for your comments you can rest assure that all the departments involved have been informed about all your feedback as it is with reviews like yours that we continuously improve our service. Should you give us the confidence to stay with us again you will be able to experience on a first hand that your suggestions have been taken into good consideration.

Hoping to have the pleasure of having you as a valued customer at the hotel upon another occasion in the future, receive my best wishes.

Yours sincerely,


Joan Valls
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a marvelous hotel in a very central location in Barcelona. The easy to use metro system is only two blocks away. Our room was spacious, spotless and perhaps most important, very quiet. And the staff was fantastic from our early morning arrival from the airport to the moment we left. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to satisfy. We included breakfast at all the hotels throughout our three week visit to Spain and Portugal and the one at the El Palace was by far the best. Selection, quality, service were all top notch. Concierge service was skillful and directed us to several great local restaurants. The lounge was a perfect setting for an end of evening stop and drink. This is a 5-star hotel that provides a 5-star experience. Highly recommend and when we return to Barcelona, this will be our choice for hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a marvelous hotel in a very central location in Barcelona. The easy to use metro system is only two blocks away. Our room was spacious, spotless and perhaps most important, very quiet. And the staff was fantastic from our early morning arrival from the airport to the moment we left. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to satisfy.

We included breakfast at all the hotels throughout our three week visit to Spain and Portugal and the one at the El Palace was by far the best. Selection, quality, service were all top notch. Concierge service was skillful and directed us to several great local restaurants. The lounge was a perfect setting for an end of evening stop and drink.

This is a 5-star hotel that provides a 5-star experience. Highly recommend and when we return to Barcelona, this will be our choice for hotel.

Room Tip: Although fronting on a busy street, the rooms in this hotel all seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SantaFeFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,250 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#95 of 513 in Barcelona
6,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing