We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend in barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice weekend in barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice hotel: nice room and very well located near the most important barrios. Th internal 1 michelin star restaurant (Caleis) is worth the money and i will not be surprised if shortly it will get a second one. Good services provided with the help of a valid concierge. Just a negative poin , I would have expect some basic SPA service ( Sauna, Steam room) to be offered for free to the hotel customer and based on the high rate that you are expecting from a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    232
    58
    32
    18
See reviews for
338
863
47
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay was very pleasant. Highly recommended for its very comfortable as well as quiet room, attentive service, and its beautiful old world charm. The location is also very central and convenient to explore a great city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wonderful stay! Great staff! Very efficient concierge! I spent 3 nights at El Palace Hotel with my wife and parents. The experience was fantastic. Growing up in Europe, I was pleased to know that classic European hospitality still exists.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogpahom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and also is very attractive because it is exactly like palace ....
Room is very nice , especially bathroom and ....
Location also is good but far from GSMA EXHIBITION
It is better they expand internet speed and TV CHANNELS

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sepehr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and can safely say the service was outstanding, from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Caterina to when we left following a cheery 'adios' from the doorman. We stayed in the Junior Suite (223) which was beautiful, spacious, modern and comfortable...with a shower to die for! Breakfast was excellent and served in the most fantastic garden room. Located a few minutes walk from all the major attractions, the hotel is well located in Central Barcelona. If you are looking for quiet, calm and sumptuous surroundings in a busy city then this is the place to come.

Room Tip: Junior Suites face into the inner courtyard and are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had an amazing stay at this gorgeous hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations on things to see and places to eat. The hotel was spotlessly clean, lavish and in a perfect location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thirty years ago, having just taken the bar exam, I celebrated by backpacking through Europe. It was late summer, 1983 when I stepped off the train and hiked my way throughout the Rambla of Barcelona. Barcelona was the last of the many cities I visited on my six week sojourn so I was now an "experienced" traveler. Nothing I had seen previously however, prepared me for this city.

This was a much slower time when there was no smart phones, internet or any form of instant communication. No jeans or sneakers were to be seen. Men wore slacks and collared shirts and ladies walked through the streets holding each other arm in arm, the color of their shoes always matching their dresses. There was a formality in every task, whether it was a waiter pulling out your seat as you sat down for a meal or the ushers guiding you to the correct path as your toured La Sagrada Familia.

So it was with much excitement when I recently returned after so much time away. Barcelona had changed. It was cosmopolitan. It had hosted the Olympics which brought much needed improvement to the streets and transportation. It was cleaner and much more crowded. It was sophisticated. I liked it. But with all this improvement some of that old graciousness that I remembered seemed to have been lost. That is until, I stepped into El Palace.

El Palace is a magnificent hotel. The reviews already posted accurately describe its old world charms and beauty. Yes, it is a bit faded but where else can you sit and have breakfast in a huge solarium where every possible item you can wish to eat is laid out in glorious detail.

The staff however, is what separates this hotel from the others. That old world graciousness of Spain lives on here. Anything you require is their concern. As an example, after walking Barcelona all day, I would need an ice pack to sooth my knees. It became a custom for my wife and I to return in the afternoon and the front desk, with a smile on their face, would have my chipped ice ready for me. Directions, maps, reservations and general advice were always available and always given with care.

I hope you enjoy El Palace as much as I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank torts58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing