We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most spectacular hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A most spectacular hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for my partners birthday in January 2013 and I cannot fault this hotel. Superb service, luxury rooms, bathrooms with all the little touches you would expect as well as beautiful bar and restaurant area. The hotel is is a great location claw to la rambla and right off the main shopping streets next to the designer shops etc. If we ever go back to Barcelona we will be staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S10bhan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    231
    56
    30
    17
See reviews for
330
857
44
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel is very centrally located - near the old quarters of Barcelona (and the infamous Rambles street) as well as the shopping street. We had a lovely room, with an amazing bathroom that included an old-style Roman shower. Room was a decent size; bed and sheets were comfy.

Location was great to explore the old quarters. We were close to everything and only had to take a taxi coming in, and onwards to our cruise. We discovered a great restaurant nearby where we ended up having dinner on 2 nights - Ciudad Condal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My grown daughter and I stayed here over Thanksgiving and had the time of our life. The service is professional and yet so kind and helpful. There is an elegance to the hotel that is combined with a friendliness that makes you feel pampered. The rooms are exquisite; the beds and linens are incredibly comfortable, there is no noise, the bathrooms are beautiful and spacious and the decor is lovely. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels but this is my favorite. It is above a 5 star classification!.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and it was quiet and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you go to Barcelona just once in your life, you should stay at the Palace. It stands head and shoulders above all the rest. It's rich in architecture and history and has every modern day amenity imaginable.

Located only a few short blocks from the main shopping avenue and the La Rambla district, the hotel is close to great shopping, parks, fountains, outdoor and indoor dining, and even some of Barcelona's foremost tourist attractions like Antoni Gaudi's Casa Batllo.

Built by Charles Ritz in 1919, the hotel's history claims that Salvadoe Dali lived here in the 1950's and according to our taxi driver, Xavier Kugat parked his Rolls Royce by the front door when he was living at the Ritz..

My wife and I stayed here in October for 1 week and had a wonderful time and we both feel it certainly deserves the 5 star rating. The rooms are spacious and have quality furnishings. Many of the rooms are uniquely shaped to form to the building's early twenty century architecture and wide open corridors provide a sense of safety and comfort.

From the expert hotel staff to the Michelin rated restaurant Caelis everything was perfect. If you go there you might even get to meet the hotel manager, a friendly guitar paying guy named Juan who seems to be working all day, every day.

El Palace Hotel Barcelone: a super star...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

El Palace Hotel has grand lobbies and excellent service. The guest room was very pretty and comfortable. The mirror turns into a small television screen (selection of a few programs in many languages). Bathroom was luxurious.
Our room opened out to give a view of the lovely street.
A high point was the absolutely fantastic breakfast buffet in the gorgeous atrium. Everything to eat you could ever dream of!
There was a Michelin star rated restaurant in the lobby. We didn't eat in it, but it was looked beautiful.
All service was excellent.
Hotel is large and can seem a little crowded when there is a large influx of guests. Still, only positive things to say about El Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the boulevard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lestedo, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Professional staff, concierge that knows everything. Big cozy rooms, good quality of materials. Real 5-star hotel, you feel yourself like in a palace. Champagne on the breakfast. I really liked it and will come again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just returned from our stay in Barcelona at El Palace Hotel. We learned before arriving from our tour guide that it was the old "Ritz" hotel and still has the plaque at the entrance way. Each staff member makes every attempt to provide you with the very best service. The beds are extremely comfortable and I really enjoy when a hotel offers you a pillow menu to choose the types of pillows you wish to use.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing