We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Barcelona”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Barcelona”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I will start my review on a positive note...location-fantastic, mint tea-great. Did I mention that the location was great? I thought I was staying in Barcelona, but my PTSD said I was trapped in a Vegas hotel. We had cigarette smoke enter our room >85% of our stay through the A/C unit. This made having a good night's rest a challenge. At least we had windows that actually worked. I was also disturbed by the practice of turning our key into the front desk every time you leave the hotel. No one and I do mean no one, ever asked us for ID to verify if we were the current occupants of the room. I'm just saying...we weren't in Kansas anymore. The only saving grace for this hotel...LOCATION!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    242
    62
    32
    19
See reviews for
359
913
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

On entering the hotel you are warmly welcomed by door staff and efficiently directed to the reception, where I have to say standards dropped dramatically. The rather unfriendly tall gentleman seemed irritated that we had arrived so early from South East Asia, and did little to make us feel truly welcomed. Once checked in we enjoyed coffee in the beautifully decorated main salon. After a four hour wait we got our room and whilst it was very well decorated, it did not meet our expectations when comparing to hotels such as Claridges or The Dorchester in London. The bathroom was dark and the towels could not be described as luxurious. The main restaurant and cocktail bar was closed on both nights we stayed at the hotel. Concierge staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and were also happy to chat with us about possible daily itineraries. We used the hotel Mercedes car to get to the hotel and this was a real treat. Would I stay again? Probably not, as there are so many other great hotels in Barcelona to choose from....having been to Barcelona so many times, I feel this property has been rather over-rated on this site and certainly is not great value. given the lack of swimming pool and closure of the cocktail bar and restaurant on two nights a week!

Room Tip: Use the helpful concierge for restaurant recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location, beautiful hotel, wonderful staff! Our mini suite was just beautiful! Large luxury modern marble bathroom, large walk in closet, 2 comfortable beautiful rooms, great bed!
I read a review about smoking in the lobby, we were there for dinner as well and there was NOT a person smoking! I never smelled smoke any place in the hotel!
We all enjoyed our deluxe beautiful rooms and would definetly come back. We were only there for one night but it could not have been better!
Great Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is the old Ritz Carlton and is situated in a good and quiet location 5 minutes walk from the Plaza de Catalunya at the top end of Las Ramblas and the old City.
Easy walk to Casa Batllo, La Pedrera and shopping.
The rooms and bathroom are big and the bed very comfortable.
The property is immaculate and the breakfast buffet is very good.
Well prized for the quality you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELRAY BEACH
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We having been traveling all over the world for 40 years and are really very fussy.We pay for luxury and expect it.
We loved the Palace hotel in Barcelona. The Lobby is gorgeous,it has a 1 star Michelin Star restaurant in the hotel as well as a lovely breakfast room and another restaurant.
We all had mini suites that were beautiful,comfortable ,and had the most wonderful bath products. The bathrooms were beautiful marble rooms.
The location was great.Would highly recommend,but do not eat in the regular restaurant.Service was very slow,took 2 hours to get main course..we sent it back and didn't have dinner.
No other complaints and would definitely stay there again,but not have dinner.

Room Tip: We had suites and they were lovely.dont know about regular rooms Rooms were a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBBB0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 2 blocks to main street P.Gracia and the best attractions Casa Batllo, la Pedrera, etc. The rooms are small and the hotel looks like a museum,the service is good and the staff is attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

El palace location is central and great to explore central barcelona. We choose this hotel because it is one of the leading hotels of the world and we were not disappointed. Service was great and rooms were great. We were upgraded to a suite and the room was spacious and were were treated with chocolates and sparkling wine. The spa was expensive but the treatment were great.

Room Tip: In the city so view was not impotant to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSAUNDERS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
234 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
6,286 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing