We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISIT TO BARCELONA”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“VISIT TO BARCELONA”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

El palace location is central and great to explore central barcelona. We choose this hotel because it is one of the leading hotels of the world and we were not disappointed. Service was great and rooms were great. We were upgraded to a suite and the room was spacious and were were treated with chocolates and sparkling wine. The spa was expensive but the treatment were great.

Room Tip: In the city so view was not impotant to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSAUNDERS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    240
    62
    32
    19
See reviews for
353
903
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I were spending a few days in Barcelona before cruising the Mediterranean. It was really hard to find a hotel that would meet our needs. We chose El Palace and were more than satisfied. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff was more than helpful and went out of the way to make our stay very enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again and hope to be back in Barcelona next summer. We look forward to our stay at El Palace. Absolutely a highlight of our trip. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: The Roman Bath was so incredible. Spa looked so nice. Wish I had more time to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the El Palace Hotel for three nights and couldn't be happier with our decisions to stay there. We normally don’t stay at ‘5 Star’ hotels, but given this was the final stay of our three week European vacation, we decided to go for it and very glad we did.

As mentioned in many of the reviews, the property and rooms are well maintained and reasonably priced for the location and the amenities. We were upgraded to a suite upon our arrival without asking. The staff, particularly David and Tony, were very helpful, accommodating, and friendly.

In a nice and safe area, we spent the day walking to all the ‘tourist’ sites and enjoyed coming back to a clean and comfortable room at the end of the day.

For our last night in Barcelona, we had dinner at the hotel’s 19/NINETEEN Restaurant and then drinks and live music at the Bar Rien de Rien, both of which I highly recommend. The staff for both the restaurant and the bar were professional yet friendly and helped to make this experience one we won’t soon forget.

I would definitely recommend the El Palace Hotel for anyone looking for a more upscale stay in beautiful Barcelona, and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicManOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We found the location of the Palace to be wonderful. It is a quick walk to the gothic quarter as well as the restaurants and shops. The Breakfast buffet was very good and the staff friendly and helpful. Only complaints were the beds were very hard and not too comfortable. Even though we faced the main street our room was very quiet. In any case, next time I am in Barcelona I will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Although we only stayed at this Hotel on night it couldn't have been nicer. We arrived in the morning and our room wasn't quite ready. We had a lovely breakfast in the beautiful garden room which we really enjoyed. The Hotel is stately and of an older style. What I really liked was the large yet intimate lobby and the concierge desk where they couldn't wait to help us. The location is also great - you feel like you're slightly off the track (10 min from La Romba), but you aren't. You're right in the middle of everything, but it's quiet and you can walk everywhere. Our room was ready soon after we ate breakfast, so we were able to check in and take a long walk around the City. Because of this our one night in Barcelona actually felt like two full days. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel
Excellent: location, restaurant design and food, bathroom design, beds, room service, quietness, polite personell
Depressing: Thick curpets on the floors look as if they have been there since 1970s, look worn out and untidy. Most likely, they are clean, but who will take samples and analyze?
Terrible: the AC system is designed in a such avway, that if somebody in this hotel smokes (formally, it is forbidden)the rest feel it as if a smoker is in their bedroom. We had it 4 nights out of 5 and had to turn down the AC and open the windows. Thank God, the early July nights were fantastic. But what to do in August or January?
I think this hotel is one star less than they claim for the reasons above

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyfct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel in an excellent location of Barcelona City. It is close to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and close by taxi to Barceloneta Beach. As a Leading Hotels of the World Member we appreciated the upgrade to a suite, the complimentary continental breakfast, the wi-fi and very generous welcome snacks and drinks. Our room was large, very clean and had the most comfortable bed. The housekeeping staff did an outstanding job in cleaning the room and accommodated our evening turn down service for a later time. There is a very nice lobby and the restaurants at this hotel are excellent. The staff is also excellent at this hotel. There is one particular staff member whose name we believe is Celine (originally from France) and who has been working at this hotel for 10 years who stands out and shines because she is so warm, pleasant, helpful, kind and goes the extra mile for all guests. She makes you feel immediately welcome and made sure everything was pefect throughout our stay. We also appreciated the late check out provided to us. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

(Although this has nothing to do with the hotel, be cautious with taxi drivers all over Barcelona as most of them will take advantage of you and overcharge if you are not familiar with going rate. The hotel is very helpful at arranging a taxi for you and are of great assistance in terms of making sure drivers don't rip you off.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHW108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
213 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,276 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#106 of 512 in Barcelona
6,209 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing