We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$195
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$225
Derby Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$219
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$240
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$347
$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$477
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,863)
Filter reviews
1,863 results
Traveler rating
1,490
255
66
33
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,490
255
66
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ritzroman bathgarden roomconcierge deskwalk in closetjunior suitedouble sinksmodern amenitiespillow menurain showerrestaurant recommendationswonderful staypublic areasbreakfast roomlarge bathroomrooftop poollas ramblas
Filter
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,863 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Walking into this hotel is like stepping back in time. It has grace, beauty & charm. The staff are welcoming and always helpful. Close to all Barcelona has to offer, you could not find better. Although there are no tea/ coffee facilities in the room (a bit of a downer) there is a quaint coffee shop/ patisserie across the street. Great rolls, pastries, cakes & coffee.

Room Tip: We had 3 adults in one room (328) and it had ample space. The bathroom is to die for. More space than I have ever seen in a hotel bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fabulous hotel, comfortable room, and excellent service. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a junior suite. Our package included a continental breakfast which was good. Upgrade to the full buffet did not appear to be worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bac5133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were knock-out impressed by this hotel! Our room gorgeous, the location was perfect, and we felt like we had really lucked out, as we found this hotel by walking by it.

Some reviewers have commented that they did not feel treated as 'special' but for us, that was a bonus. Since the hotel staff are not my close friends, I just need to be regarded with respect and prefer restraint and helpfulness to pandering or over-eager reception. We felt charmed just being in this hotel and did not really notice that no-one followed us around to make sure we were comfortable. We were.

At the point in our tour of Spain that we arrived at El Palace, both my husband and I had become sick - he with a flu and I with a cold. We were so taken with the comfort of the room that we were secretly ok with staying in. Our illnesses gave us an excuse to enjoy the comfortable bed, the fine linen and the tv-camoflaged-as-a-mirror. The main lobby lounge was so beautiful that I spent a couple hours reading there and taking tea, as my husband slept.

We would venture out of the hotel, but when we tired (which happened quickly) we were thrilled to get back to this romantic boîte of a hotel. In fact, we still talk about this hotel as one of the nicest we have visited and dream of when we can splurge again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On the way to join our ship for a cruise round the Medi we decided to spend a couple of days in Barcelona. As we live in Marbella we decided to take the Ave train from Malaga, travelling business class, which was well worth what we paid. We also decided to stay at the El Palace Hotel (was the Ritz originally) and were not disappointed. From arrival to leaving we were made to feel welcome and every member of staff we came into contact with made our stay one to remember. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and the room we had was out of this world and we were not disappointed with anything, from drinks on arrival late in the evening to breakfast in the lovely conservatory to dinner in the Michelin Star restaurant. The staff were all very helpful, courteous and made our stay very relaxing.

The Michelin Star Restaurant within the hotel was absolutely the best we have ever visited, from the waiters, waitresses and especially the Front of House, we could not have been made more welcome, but when it came to the food it was exquisite!!! We enjoyed every mouthful of the many course on the digestion menu, together with the individually paired wines for each course, which was absolutely an experience not to be missed.

To end this recommendation, I would also like to mention the taxi driver from the railway station to the hotel who had to find the hotel from limited information as I had miplaced the address, and who later returned to the hotel with two bags of expensive clothing I had left in the back of his taxi.

All in all an experience not to be missed, so thank you everyone from the day trips round Barcelona, the absolutely wonderful hotel and restaurant and the very special taxi driver who went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the rest of a fabulous stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britabroadSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel has been kept incredibly well and looks stunning throughout.

The service was very good in every area of the hotel, from the concierge to the waitress service in the Jazz bar. The reception staff were perhaps a little less than engaging on check in, but nothing worth talking about.

The room was nice with a little balcony and a view of the street below. Perhaps not quite as large as they look in photos but perfectly fine for 2.

The breakfast was nice with plenty of choice, but in all honesty 32 Euros each is a little steep! No brown bread available though and no wish to obtain any, despite a nice bakery being directly across from the hotel, a small thing but 5* Hotels are surely about the small things?

This theme is kept though out the rest of the hotel with drinks very highly priced, with a bottle of beer costing 8 Euros and a cup of Tea at 7 Euros! Incredible really, despite the high class of the hotel.

Great location 2 blocks from Placa de Catalunya, but not too busy/ noisy, couldnt have chosen better in this regard.

Overall the Palace is very nice and a great experience, but worth the money? Possibly as a one off experience, but probably not as a return booking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wand3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews