We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Great City”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location is just right between the "old town" and their museums and the Gaudi buildings and attractions around the city.
My rate included continental breakfast and the difference between that and the 39Euro breakfast was "cold-cuts" on the buffet.
Upon arrival at the airport the driver was not familiar with the hotel and the address that I had did not have a street number. He went to the area and asked a hotel doorman for advice and found out it was the Ritz. When I looked up the location on Google Earth it showed a hotel in the middle of a block and not the correct hotel. My guess is that this is a new name on an old facility that recently underwent a major renovation.
That said the facility was up to date and clean. On my floor but not in my room there was a faint smell of "fish". The separation of tasks for each employee was very obvious such as the concierge would not have the internet code but the front desk does.
The room was large enough for 2, but not a suite. The bathroom was laid out nicely with dual sinks a tub and a separate shower. The room also had an entrance lobby about 8 feet long that helps keep the room quite. Like in a lot of hotels now, you have a choice of pillows and soaps.
The restaurant was rated one star but I did not find the food up to standard for a one star. Also my American tastes prevented my from ordering many of the items on the menu.
I found Barcelona the be one of the most buitiful cities that I have ever seen. One building was nicer than the next!
Spend some time drinking a Cava on a couch in their bar area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the El Palace Hotel in October 2011 and it is by far our favourite hotel of all time.
From the moment you lay eyes on the hotel - you will fall in love! The rooms are so tastefully decorated with some very innovative designs. Mirrors that are televisions, minibars behind picture frames...it truly is a complete experience.
The location is second to none. It is within easy walking distance to La Rambla but is so quiet and peaceful of a night time. The staff are very friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them. If you are looking for a perfect Barcelona hotel - then you can not go past the El Palace!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at El Palace for three days in September. Thou we arrived in the hotel very eiarly, we can get the room right away. And we can stay two hours later the chek-out time.
This hotel is a realy Ritz! It has the same ambiance and interior. My friends were impressed and grateful, that i had chosen this hotel to stay. Besides there was my husband's birthday during the stay, so he got a nice present from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 681Olga_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel in August. Our overnight flight from the west coast had us at the hotel at 8 AM yet our room was available and waiting. Top floor room with a great balcony and view. The hotel location is a short walk to Placa Catalunya and La Rambla but was quiet at night.The room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The hotel public areas are the epitome of European luxury. The breakfast buffet is as good as you can find anywhere and served in beautiful surroundings. You can find comfortable hotels for less money but if you want something special and are prepared to pay a little extra for it this hotel can't be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing Gran Via Corts Catalanes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbyTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed twice at El Palace in Barcelona,during August & September2012,( Ritz) each room has a chimney place, very comfortable with pillows menu. I wished for fluffy duvets but they had only sheets & bedcovers .It's a glamorous city hotel with Opulent classical setting & attention to detail in each corner yet maintaing a cosy & relaxing atmosphere with no pretention and a great friendly staff. On my first stay we had a welcome fruit basket and water, on the second nothing! Breakfast is set in an indoor and outdoors areas, very elegant and refreshing start of the day. Staff is attentive and our concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. Location is perfect, you can literally walk to see all major sites of Barcelona and shopping areas.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the cross roads, front side of hotel. For suites they all overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WithAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place really feels like a palace! I think this used to be the Ritz, and it definitely oozes old school glamor. Very opulent and classic, but with all the modern amenities. If you want a contemporary feel, this is probably not the hotel for you, but it surely is one of the best in Barcelona.

We stayed in a Classic Deluxe (their smallest room), which was actually quite spacious considering, including a large closet. The bathroom was a bit tight, but had both a nice rain shower and tub. Our windows faced the main street, but we could not hear anything thanks to the well insulated glass.

The location of El Palace could not be better. Walking distance to many Barcelona's central sites and great restaurants, as well as near numerous metro lines. The only strange thing, which other reviewers have pointed out as well, is the internet. No WiFi in the rooms, but what is even stranger is that you need a code to use both your own computer in the lobby or one of the business center computers. Plus, the code expires within a short time frame, so you have to go back and get a new one each time. Bizarre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Overall a beautiful hotel in a great location - easy to get everywhere. The room was very large and comfortable. Nice bed, bathroom, amenities and very peaceful. The lobby was very old world and comfortable - I spent time there daily as that is where the only free wifi was located. That would be my only criticism as wifi today should be free. Finally the staff and concierge desk especially were very friendly and helpful whether it was dinner reservations, suggestions or arranging transportation to the airport. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,473 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
1,408 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
310 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $285 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing