We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #44 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed for a few nights at the Majestic during the La Merce folk festival in Barcelon and it was superb. While most of the areas of Barcelona were teeming with tourists, the Majestic offered an oasis of calm. The rooms are lovely, but best of all is the roof terrace with pool and bar. In the evening, the terrace was full and a deejay played great tunes until 1am. We had beautiful views of all of Barcelona. When we returned to the Majestic for an additional night after a cruise, we were upgraded to a Penthouse Suite with a jacuzzi pool, lounge chairs, dining area and chairs and umbrella, again with views of all of Barcelona. What a special hotel!!!!

Room Tip: corner rooms have beautiful views of Passiege de Gracia; Penthouse suites are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhappyinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

One of the best hotels we've ever visit. Excellent breakfast in quality and choice. Bar at the top (10. floor) with a wonderful view over Barcelona. We did enjoyed very much the outside bar every evening. The hotel is optimal located for sightseeing tours and you need only 30 minutes by train from the aeroport to the hotel. Staff is excellent

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank MichaeI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times. Twice on our own and once with the children. Every stay has been exceptional. Our flights are always in the morning ancestry arrived before the 3pm check-in time she reception staff put our luggage in a secure hold so we can go out and enjoy the city without our bags.
Our room has always been large and clean and the bathroom luxurious.
Our favourite part of the stay is the breakfast. There is so much choice. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

majestic is a five star hotel on a very good location .its in the middle of high end shopping where its not as crowded as rambla.if you want to be in the city close to everything and if you are ready to pay the price of a five star this is the hotel ..
first class service ,excellent staff ,very special reception and concierge .
dont miss the bar at top teras with city view.
worth to mention breakfast bufet
rooms very comfortable and nice new furniture . bathrooms worth to mention .

Room Tip: try to get a room with street view.rooms looking to back dont have any view but dont worry they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabit a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the morning to drop our bags off with the concierge and were told we would be able to check in at 3pm. We were kept waiting until close to 6PM along with two rooms filled with other travelers waiting. I don't know what the hold up was...possibly short housekeeping staff...as we were never offered an acceptable explanation. The rooms themselves were clean and the location of the hotel is optimal but the service was certainly NOT 5 star!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to leave your opinion here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of the rooms, however we are concerned that you think our service is not 5 stars, and that you were not able to check in at 3 pm. May we kindly ask you to contact our Guest Relations department on guestrelations@hotelmajestic.es,? We would like to investigate this issue, since it is very unusual. I sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon in order to provide you with a seamless experience as you expect.

Sincerely Yours,

Pascal Billard,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Back recently from 12 days in Spain, including 3 nights at the Majestic Hotel & Spa in Barcelona. We arrived about 2 hours before the official check-in time and were told that our room wasn't ready. So, we freshened up in a lobby restroom, checked our luggage, and headed out for some mid-day touring. We returned to the hotel 3 hours later -- 1 hour after check-in time -- and were told that the room still wasn't ready and we should come back in 1/2 hour. We went up to the rooftop bar for a drink and came back in 40 minutes, only to be told that the room was still not ready. We waited in the lobby for another 1/2 hour before I lost my patience and got rather aggressive at the front desk. And Presto! Within 10 seconds of raising my voice, our room became available.

It wasn't a good start for such a highly-rated and rather pricey hotel, but I must admit that it got much better after that. Our junior suite was spacious, it offered an outstanding view over the busy street below (while still being very quiet), it was nicely appointed (looking perhaps newly refurbished), and it was exceptionally clean. The bathroom is good-sized, with ample counter space, a stand-up shower, a whirlpool tub, and a separate toilet/bidet room. The rooftop bar is beautiful and includes a small swimming pool, which is pretty unusual in Europe. And our interactions with hotel personnel after our initial encounter were all very positive, and at no time did we think that our same-sex couple status mattered at all to hotel staff. Importantly, the hotel's location could not be more centrally located in relation to the city's principal tourist sites.

Aside from the check-in experience, my only other quibble is that the shower water temperature fluctuated perpetually between cool, just right and very hot, forcing each of us never to stand under the rain shower when not using it to rinse. But, in fairness, we found that precise issue in nearly every Spanish hotel at which we stayed, so that may be hard to avoid.

Overall, we liked the Majestic and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLover23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the Majestic earlier this year for a conference and had an enjoyable stay. The location of the hotel is ideal, down the road from the famous Casa Fuster hotel, around the corner from the remarkable Gaudi buildings and close to the best shops, restaurants and the buzz of the city.

The staff were friendly, well presented and super helpful.

My room was perfect, a great size with good light and a nice comfortable bed. The bathroom was perfect and very clean.

Breakfast was good and with plenty of choice. The rooftop bar is also an added bonus!

I really enjoyed staying here as a base for a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,768 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
1,920 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#49 of 515 in Barcelona
1,409 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#18 of 515 in Barcelona
1,871 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#69 of 515 in Barcelona
4,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $264 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing