We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #38 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Apartments”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment here, having booked in a sister hotel initially but our booking fell through. The apartments are lovely, balcony excellent kitchen and sitting room is very comfortable. my only complaint would be the cost of wi fi.....9euros. As we hadn't initially booked here we couldn't complain and certainly weren't prepared to pay that price, one would expect a 5 star establishment to have it as part of the room price. The booking desk at the main hotel had long waits, and eventually we got to the head of the queue only to be told we had queued for the concierge and not the booking in. A minor frustration but it was not clear which Q was which.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank christinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    472
    106
    46
    26
See reviews for
556
930
68
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've just spent 2 nights at the hotel hosting a group of 36 people I flew to Barcelona from South Africa. My check-in experience was frustrating and annoying. We arrived at the hotel at 10 am having just completed a 7 day cruise on the Mediterranean. We'd been advised in advance that our rooms would only be available at 3 pm and it came as a pleasant surprise that some rooms were actually available when we arrived ...but not mine (which wasn't a problem for me as I was keen to get out into the city celebrating the La Merce festival). I returned to the hotel at about 3.15 pm and was told my room would be ready in 20 minutes ...... 30 minutes later I was told the room was ready but they were checking the mini-bar and it would be ready in 10 minutes .... I finally got into my room (suite 325) at about 4.30. The receptionist apologized but told me that they were only expecting my group at 10 pm. Can't figure that out because the booking was handled by the same people who collected us from the port at 9am that morning. But gripes aside .........
The hotel is lovely but not on a par with other 5* luxury hotels in which I've stayed (my reviews of some of these are on tripadvisor). My suite was spacious and comfortable, super bathroom, excellent breakfast, etc, etc .........but I agree with some of the other reviews that suggest that the hotel just doesn't live up to one's expectations of a hotel of this class.
The location of the hotel is good but not wonderful. My group of 36 were mostly women over 55 years old and they found the walk to and from the Pl. Catalunya a bit much the second and third time round. My advise would be that if having the Chanel shop in your hotel is not a priority - find a hotel closer to the centre (there are other 5* and 4* options that I would choose in preference to the Majestic).

Room Tip: A corner room or suite is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesRuhrmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is located on a main street in an upscale area right in the middle of two of Gaudi's main residencial sites. The staff was helpful and friendly and the rooftop bar/pool has fabulous views. Although busy during the day, reasonably quiet in the evening. Good access to metro, tour buses and restaurants as well as high end shopping.

Room Tip: breakfast is pricey if not included in the price of a room but the rooms are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such nice words regarding your recent stay at Majestic Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had a great time with us and that our dedicated team looked so carefully after you. I am also indeed pleased you very much enjoyed our top roof terrace Dolce Vitae. We always do our best to exceed our guests expectations during their stay, we are glad we succeeded.
We hope to welcoming you back again at Majestic Hotel & Spa.

Thank you again and kind regards

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled, this isn't a spa hotel. There is a tiny plunge pool on the roof and a roof "hut" with a couple of small treatment rooms offering expensive massages/facials etc. It is misleading to think of this hotel as a spa.

The location is very good and the rooms are large and very well equipped with Villeroy & Boch bathroom fittings, a Parlux hair dryer (world's best) and Bvlgari products.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan0rexic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to the Majestic Hotel. We are glad to read your good feedback about our rooms and location, however disappointed to hear that our Spa did not meet your expectations.

We hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back during your next visit to Barcelona and, should you have the opportunity, we highly recommend you to make use of our Spa facilities. Even though it is not a large Spa, we have extremely good professionals and the most efficient and innovative products for you to benefit from a fully relaxing and therapeutic experience.

Sincerely yours,

Pascal Billard,
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Truely Majestic. Caring staff, wonderful food, excellent location. What more could one want.
Barcelona is a fun city with a variety of Spanish Cultures, great innovative architecture, sandy beaches and great food experiences. The Majestic is ideally centrally located to facilitate easy access to all these pleasures.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your experience of The Majestic. I am very pleased to read how much you appreciate the staff, the food, the location, and the city of Barcelona.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.

Kind regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel in perfect location. Really plush room with stunning bathroom and the biggest bathtub I had ever seen. Well stocked mini-bar and delicious food. Gorgeous lobby. Was amazed there was no free wi-fi, thought that was a bit stingy. Great roof top terrace with pool and bar. The spa wasn't what I had hoped for, small and disappointing
Otherwise recommend this one especially off season as it didn't cost as much as you'd think.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DeeLight-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at The Majestic. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us, from the bathroom (with the extra large bathtub), the food, the lobby and the rooftop terrace.

We are concerned to hear that the Spa did not live up to your expectations. Even though ours is not a large Spa, it offers you an exclusive experience to improve your health, beauty and general wellbeing and it can be enjoyed right in the centre of Barcelona!

Regarding the wi-fi, we have taken good note of your comments, since all feedback we receive is of great value to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed in March 2013 at the Majestic, and it was a wonderful, classy and very friendly stay, staff are polite & professional.
Breakfast is a delight, but you have to come early, as with Barcelona, this hotel is a prime property in Barcelona and you will be amazed at the number of guests arriving for breakfast.
Location is equally important, and nothing equate to the Paseo de Gracia, superior in every sense.

Room Tip: I reckon the main Building rooms are classy, I was lucky to stay at the upper floor with a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Said Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit at The Majestic.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, including our rich buffet breakfast and the unbeatable location of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Pascal Billard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#56 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Property: Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing