We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to visit the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #41 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

- very clean rooms
- top quality roof top bar with fantastic views over the city
- very friendly staff
- the pool is rather small but very convenient after a hot day in the city with a lot of sightseeing: the location is just perfect for shopping, culture and business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having posted such a positive review following your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our central location and nearby attractions. Thank you for your compliments on the room cleanliness, staff and rooftop bar Dolce Vitae.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Ingrid David
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is my second stay at the Majestic. Located a block off Las Ramblas... Close to all the shopping and wonderful restaurants. Very nice modern accommodations, very comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your motivating and wonderful review!

We would like to thank you for your trust in Majestic Hotel & Spa and for your kind words regarding your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very rewarding for all of us and we truly appreciate being your hotel of choice in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ingrid David
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for four nights having booked an Executive Deluxe room.
The quality of the room presented was excellent as five stars would suggest in the centre of Barcelona. In fact location proved to be fantastic as very close to both the metro and local trains; also a short walk to Ramblas.
Main entrance was still under going renovation - much of the hotel was already completed. However this meant thet the reception and concierge were at a side entrance and very crowded whenever passing through.
Check-in was fine and told us that we had a lovely room overlooking Passeig de Gràcia - true (7th floor). However no mention was made that this was a change to the booked room. A Deluxe Executive (30m2 to 40m2) changed to a Deluxe Passeig (20 to 26 m2) - the difference was a much better view in exchange for much reduced living space ! Bathroom less than half the size - this matters to a woman - and much less easy to relax in hindsight without a sofa or easy chair - despite website photos. Yes the price is slightly higher on the website ! We felt that this was a hotel weaze.
We stayed as had already unpacked, but felt disappointed throughout our stay even though we could have moved. The disappointing aspect was that this wasn't even mentioned at check-in and we had to discover the difference - definitely not 5 a star approach.
It was a busy time (August) for the hotel and the breakfast area was inadequate for the number of guests. At times it became a melee trying to access the buffet breakfast - with at times a wait in a queue for up to ten mins for a fried egg. Breakfast food quality was excellent, with a superb choice, but too many people in such a small space, relatively speaking, to select from the buffet and constant movement did not make for a relaxing experience. Waiters were a mixture of consideration and disgruntled, whilst cooked egg/omelette chef were considerate and apologetic about the wait.
The roof top terrace had a fine view over the roof tops of Barcelona but the pool was rather small - not a swimming pool.
The Concierge staff were very helpful with car parking and general advice and should be complimented.
For five stars there was that something lacking - not helped by annoyances such as charging 15 Euros/day for wireless internet or even worse 1 Euro for a Nespresso coffee capsule !

Room Tip: Be careful with room selection. Get to breakfast early for a relaxing experince.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an excellent hotel very centrally located and is ideally located for visiting Barcelona.The hotel throughout is very clean and the service is excellent.The pool however is no more than a plunge pool.Excellent breakfasts.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Couldn't be happier with the Majestic Hotel. Stayed in a junior suite with our teenage daughter for 1 week. Great location for all the sites. Can easily walk to Las Rambles and many of the Gaudi museums. Beautiful spacious room. Huge bathroom. Great service. Would definitely return to the majestic if we are lucky enough to return to Barcelona. Roof top pool was amazing!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 7th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just spent four nights in Barcelona at the Majestic Hotel and found it to be a poor value for the price we paid. We opted for an advance-purchase rate of €220 per night (~$290 per night) through the hotel directly for a deluxe room, which we felt (at the time) was a good price for a “five-star hotel” in Barcelona.

If you decide to this hotel, I would encourage you to sign up for LMT Club, a travel club that offers amazing hotel deals. We later found this property for under €200 per night with free breakfast and a complimentary room upgrade, but since our reservation was prepaid, there was nothing we could do to change it. A note: LMT Club membership is usually $50/year, but if you do a google search for “LMT Club Free Membership,” you’ll find a link on the first page of search results that will waive that annual fee.

We took a cab from the airport which was quick and relatively inexpensive (€30). The porters were quick to take our luggage, even though we each insisted that we could manage our carry-ons. No big deal, just an unneeded tipping expense when you’re traveling lightly.

When we booked the room, we noted that we were celebrating a special occasion and also mentioned this to the concierge when making reservations for a day trip to Montserrat. No acknowledgement of said occasion was made at check-in, nor at any point during the trip. No in-room amenities, no upgrades, no nothing. We asked about the availability of an upgrade, they insisted that the hotel was full. This really gets to me, being that their website showed availability for every single room class on all nights of our stay (I looked in the cab on the way from the airport that day!). We saw maybe 10 guests during the entire duration of our stay. I would rather they offer the upgrade to me at a ridiculously obscene surcharge than LIE to me about it. I would describe the service we experienced throughout our stay as being consistently cold and unwelcoming, making the new renovation feel like lipstick on a pig---a pig that really doesn’t understand hospitality to begin with.

Our Deluxe Room with 2 Twin Beds faced the rear of the hotel, overlooking a parking garage and surrounding buildings. The room was the SMALLEST I’ve ever encountered in any “five-star hotel” at just 215 square feet. The bellman couldn’t even find a place to put the luggage stand to put our suitcases and left them at the door in frustration. Also worth noting, the beds were pushed up against each other, though this is common in European hotels and wasn’t a big deal for us.

With that said, the room was excellently furnished. The upholstered walls were elegant and richly laden with thick wood moldings. The closets, albeit small, offered enough shelves and hanging spaces for two people to unpack comfortably. The bathroom was beautiful, as well. I really enjoyed the excellent sound system in the room that allowed you to listen to the TV programming while in the bathroom. With a variety of music stations in the upper channels, it made the morning routine enjoyable, especially because I could have the sound off in the bedroom and on in the bathroom so as not to awake my sleeping traveling companion. The Bulgari amenities were also top notch and the shower had excellent water pressure. However, the glass partition is a bit poorly designed, causing the whole bathroom to get wet when you use the shower.

Besides this, there were some other poorly designed elements to the room. First, the walls are EXTREMELY thin. We could hear the entire conversation of the guests in the adjoining room while we were trying to fall asleep at night, which was quite annoying. Second, there was no iron or ironing board in the room, so we had to call down to get one. While annoying, this wasn’t a huge problem. What made it into a problem was the fact that each day, the housekeeper took it away so we had to call back down and ask for it to be sent up again. Additionally, for the first three nights of our stay, there were no notepads or pens in the entire room, which again is something I expect a hotel of this caliber to have.

We didn’t have breakfast in the hotel. Instead, we opted for coffee and pastries at the cafe across the street at Il Caffe di Francesco which were excellent. Their glazed donuts were the best I ever ate in my life.

We had dinner one evening on the rooftop of the hotel, which was disappointing. Most of the restaurants on Passeig de Gracias closed by 11pm and with few other options, we opted to give it a try since it was open until midnight. The food was decent, but WAY overpriced. I wouldn’t go back, nor would I recommend it.

I came down with a pretty bad head cold, so we had room service one afternoon. The food was excellent, but a bowl of spaghetti, a turkey club sandwich and two bottles of still water came to over €60.

Where the hotel cannot be beat is LOCATION. It is located on the “Fifth Avenue” of Barcelona with great shopping and restaurants right outside the front door (to put it in perspective, Chanel and Brunello Cucinelli have boutiques in the hotel). You can walk to most of the main sites, including La Sagrada Familia and the attractions in the Gothic Neighborhood. Park Guell and Barceloneta are a short, cheap taxi ride away.

We also hired a car to Montserrat through the hotel, and while it was pricey (€105 per hour for 4 hours...), it was well worth it. Our driver was excellent and passionate. He even gave us a tour of Barcelona on the way back.

All in all, its a four-star property at BEST, and that is being generous. They missed the mark on all the little things that separate a “good” hotel from a “great” hotel. If you’re looking for luxury, I’d recommend the Mandarin Oriental three blocks south on Passeig de Gracias. Had my cold been so bad that I couldn’t fly to Seville for the next leg of our journey, we would have moved there. The Renaissance is also a solid property that is a good value in the neighborhood. Hotel Arts looks great, but we don’t care for its location. But with all these other options to choose from, I’m not likely to return to the Majestic or recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe Executive Room if you MUST stay at this hotel...standard rooms feel like a walk in clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arlingtonman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here from August 13th onwards. My 60th birthday was on August 14th and when we came in from our travels that day, there was a bottle of champagne on ice in our room, together with Chocs, etc. What a superb gesture and a wonderful surprise. But that aside, this is a lovely clean, efficient hotel and if there is any negative at all, it would only be its prices which are high. I'd say to you, go on and pamper yourself....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CG4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#68 of 519 in Barcelona
1,995 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 519 in Barcelona
1,818 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 519 in Barcelona
1,484 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,441 reviews
Eixample
The One Barcelona
The One Barcelona
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $298 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing