We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #38 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Majestic was our last hotel after spending 11 days in Spain in mid-May, 2013 and it was the best of the lot. We were two couples and a single in our 70's but still agile and eager to explore. The hotel is located in an upscale area with fine shops and restaurants but also near enough to walk to outdoor cafes and tapas bars. While our wandering on foot did take us to the old city which should not be missed, a cab ride back to the Majestic was welcome.
Our rooms on the 6th floor were large and luxurious with well-appointed, clean and functional bathrooms. Two of the couples had adjoining rooms with a private locked hallway between, separate from the main hotel hall. This kept any hall noise out, providing a quiet night's sleep........a nice touch.
We requested a queen or king sized bed. However, the room came with two singles pushed together and the beds were individually made up as two separate beds. WiFi at some 15 Euros/day for access in your room is a bit unreasonable for a five star hotel where it should be part of the rate. There is no wifi in the lobby either so you have to go to the lower level business office to wait til others are finished to use the hotel computers.
The hotel decor is first class all around including a top notch staff and you really feel like you are in a five star accommodation.
The breakfast room is quite large with an attentive staff. The selection of food is very extensive with stations at each end of the room to prevent crowding.
We all had a first class experience during our three day stay at the Majestic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for detailing your experience at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
It is a pleasure for me to read your kind comments about your last stay. However, I would like to apologise for the inconveniences that having two beds instead one king side and our internet service could have caused during your stay. Let me inform you that we are working in both points.
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, because your comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel next time you visit Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    472
    106
    46
    26
See reviews for
556
930
68
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We came here for a long weekend 30th - 3rd June. The location of the hotel is amazing - right where the shops are. This can also be said for the junior suite we had - again, very nice. We used the Spa twice - fantastic reception and service. The problem (and where this no longer deserves any 5 starts rather 3 or 4) arises when you start talking about the customer service. Upon arrival the reservation had managed to forget to add the third person to the booking. Once we rectified this (to an additional cost) we went for dinner - only to discover when we came back that no third bed or amenities had been added to the room. Also we had asked for a bottle of Champagne to be waiting in our room when we arrived as we were celebrating a birthday (but received none). The reception responded to this by asking to see my original email ordering the champagne to prove that I had done it - rather than apologise, I felt that the 5 star rating was sinking. We then went on to ask the hotel to make a lunch booking in the morning before we left for some shopping. They advised us that it was too early to do so, but promised to try again. When we arrived at the lunch place we were told that no one had called from the hotel, but luckily they had a cancellation. As we were having lunch, (half an hr after the lunch was due to commence), the hotel called to make the booking! Breakfast is beautiful, but the staff managed to mix up our coffee order three times. Once replacing tea for coffee and espresso for a caffe latte! Lastly, yes, the terrace is good, but do not expect any service. Despite there being plenty of staff, they tend to walk around, ignoring your ' excuse me' pleas for some service and once you had their attention they would say that someone else would come and serve us (and after 20 minutes of waiting we left). Sadly, what has all the potential really falters at the lack of focus of customer care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnG430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Costumer,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
Your opinion is essential to improve and reach the objective of our Hotel, which are our client’s satisfaction, and enjoyment of your hotel experience.

Because of that, I would like to apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with your experience. Your comments make me realize that we have to analyses each point you describes in order to avoid mistakes like the ones you are explaining. I can guarantee that I am going to carry out the necessary improvements to be able to offer you a real 5 star service the next time you visit us.

A guest not satisfied is a failure for us and we always learn from it.
Thank you again for your input which we took very seriously.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This kind of hotel really doesn't need user reviews. It's 5 Star luxury. If you can afford it, do it. Beautiful hotel, great location, great rooftop lounge. If it's in your budget, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We booked a less expensive room (a bit smaller, over-looking the courtyard, as opposed to the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for all your positive comments posted about your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you to Majestic Hotel & Spa the next time you come back to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Barcelona and the Majestic was well worth the expense. It is convenient to shopping and within walking distance to the ancient city center. The hotel is well cared for and the staff was pleasant and focused on our needs. The view from the 10th floor is spectacular ! My only recommendation would be to include wi-fi in with the room price. It was truly a pain to have to pay for a new password to connect each day. The connection was only good for a single site so this took some getting used to. Other than the wifi- it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have taken good note about your suggestions regarding our WIFI service. Let me inform you that we are working on it with the purpose of providing a better service and if it is possible, totally free. Nevertheless we will have your suggestion in consideration for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Majestic Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel has a really good location in Barcelona .It has a spectacular terrace on the top floor the care has been the best, thanks. I could not eat but breakfast looked right. Clean, helpfull staff and friendly. Nearby good ( too good) shopping . After Barcelona we went to Costa Brava , near Lloret de Mar a cosy luxury resort hotel on the sea ,Rigat

Room Tip: backside better Aveniu is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your opinion posted about your stay with us.
I am pleased to read that your overall impression of the hotel and staff is a good one and I am certainly happy that your stay with us did satisfy you.
It has been our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April and loved every minute of our stay. The room was huge and we had a view to the street and a small balcony.
The location is amazing, situated close to a subway station and between two of Gaudi's buildings Casa Balto & Casa Mila (100 meters away). This gives you the ability to get to them early and beat the crowds.
The roof top terrace is great with a good view of Sagrada Familia, the drinks are on the expensive side but the view is worth it, there is a pool but we didn't use it.
The staff and the front counter were very helpful with bars and restaurant recommendations and were extremely nice.
The breakfast was amazing, if you like Iberian ham and other meats, sweets, pancakes and huge range of breads, include this in your room booking.
The only down side about this hotel is lack of free wifi, but the benefits clearly out way the only negative. Definately stay here!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a junior suite, they are spacious, have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissyandbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your overall positive comments which contrasts with the title of your review and the grade you gave us. I hope to welcome you back at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves its 5 stars. Great location, helpful and friendly staff - great restaurant recommendations from the concierge. Roof terrace is great!
The only negatives were that they charge 15euros per day for wifi, breakfast is expensive and my husband slipped in the shower which is over the bath.
Overall I would definitely stay there again! :). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkgem09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your last experience at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona.

First of all, let me apologize because as a General Manager I was not well informed about your husband incident. Thank you so much because with your review I can transmit your experience to our maintenance department in order to check our bathroom fitting supplies.

I hope that eventually the incident you have explained was just a scare. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#56 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Property: Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing