We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working just outside the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ranked #34 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Working just outside the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Overall the hotel was good, friendly staff, nice although small rooms, practical although small business center and nice spa. Unfortunately, I definitely have to say something about the noise just outside my room in the morning.
I arrived at the hotel on Wednesday 19 December in the morning at about 10.00. Workers were working at the room wall making noise. This didn't disturb me particularly as I immediately left the hotel. I expected it was a matter of one day. Unfortunately, this was not the case and the following morning I started hearing the noise of the drill earlier when I was still sleeping.
After complaining I immediately received another noise-free room. However, what would have happened if the hotel had been fully booked? For sure the hotel knew about this works and the potential inconveniences for the guests. In my opinion they shouldn't have sold the room.
This is the reason for the poor rating

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sterex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    468
    104
    45
    24
See reviews for
545
916
67
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Convinient room, with a nice king size bed. Very nicely equipped room. My room didn´t have a view, but I expect some of the top floor rooms might have a nice view.
The breakfast was good, but nothing superb. It had good variety an nice Spanish flavors.
The top floor has a nice terrace with a pool and lounge bar for drinks and food (at least snacks). The view is spectacular over the city, you can see Sagrada Familia, the Mediterranean sea and the hills to south. I can recommend for sure just going there for a glass of cava and the superb view, even if you are not staying at the hotel. It´s good both day and night.
On the top floor, behind the roof bar you can find the spa. I didn´t find the treatments to be quite worth the money that I paid for them (massage and facial), the person treating me wasn´t anything too special with skills. I would expect something really good for about 200euros.. But I really enjoyed my private time before the treatments, as you can reserve the spas steamrooms all to yourself or with a friend or spouse. They have three different hot treatment rooms, for example a traditional type sauna and a turkis style steam room. There is also two different nice hydro therapy showers. After that I had some time to sunbathe before my treatments by the rooftop pool. I recommend trying this!
The service in general was good, but not superior, like you would expect in a hotel that claims to be 5 stars.
Also the wifi in standard room was with extra fee and quite expensive and slowish. Should be included in the already high price.
All in all, i would give the hotel strong 3 stars, but the view on the roof top is full 5 as is the location :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofipimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here unexpectedly having broken my foot at Heathrow on our way to Barcelona

We had been booked into another hotel that had no amenities.

The rooftop pool and bar area was perfect

Our room had great amenities and was very comfortable

Hotel was undergoing major refurb so lots of scaffolding and works going on

Main restaurant a bit depressing. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is absolutely a top hotel! Everything is tasteful, beautiful and well managed. Well situated in Barcelona. Excelent breakfast. We had one dinner at the hotel and this was also up to all our expectations. Aircondition. Huge, very beautiful bathroom with toaletteries of top brand. Quiet, nice beds, perfect linen. Tea/coffe making facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunkershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband & I arrived on the day of the general strike but had no problem getting to the hotel. We had arranged a car through the hotel, worried that we may not find a taxi. The staff was wonderful throughout our stay & before we arrived, emailing as necessary. Our room was wonderful - king bed, very comfortable. Ate dinner in the restaurant the 1st night since everything was closed, the food was delicious. So no wifi in the rooms - you can access it in the lobby. Location was great - shops, restaurants nearby. Can walk to many attractions. Oh & a spectacular roof top bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel doesn't quite deliver what it promises - the best thing about this hotel is the external look and the lobby/bar area. The rooms are really average (we stayed in a standard double), similar to what you expect to find in any international chain hotel. We were initially given a room facing a parking lot, which was noisy because of building works. We then asked to be transferred to a quieter room and were given a street facing room. The second room had a beautiful view but the double-glazing didn't really block the street noise, which was quite loud because of the very central location of this hotel.
The nespresso machine in the room is quite handy, beware though that each capsule costs 1 euro which is not clearly marked (there's a nespresso boutique across the road where you can buy the capsules for 1/3 of this price).
The service is quite good, most staff very welcoming.
The bar area is not particularly exciting, a bit old-fashioned and lacks atmosphere.
Overall, this is not a great value for money and there are much more special hotels in Barcelona for the same price.

Room Tip: try to get an external facing room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were wonderfully surprised that we got an upgrade when we arrived. Location of these hotel is fantastic, surrounded by all the expensive brands but of course Mango and Zara are walking distance too. There is a great tapas restaurant called the Catalina, it is about 10mins walk away from the hotel. The price and food is superb! Little I could mentioned about the hotel service though, we were there for at least 5 days but the lady at the breakfast reception could never remember our room numner or names. Housekeeping and laundry would just open your door without even ringing or knocking first. This is really unacceptable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#57 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Property: Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing