We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #63 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

Our family of three just stayed at the Hotel Claris in Barcelona and had a great experience. The hotel is located approximately 8 blocks from the Sangrada Familia and two blocks from the main shopping area. Like much of Barcelona, the HC is a very modern, contemporary hotel complete with its own art collection. There is a very chic rooftop pool and dining area (with a great view of the entire city) perfect for a glass of wine or cappacino after a long day of sight seeing. The pool is not heated. Hotel Claris had a great location. We could walk to just about any where we desired. Our room was a small suite that was well suited for our family. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for all of us to relax when we weren't out discovering Barcelona. The staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful and by the end of our four day stay, we were on a first name basis with everyone. The breakfast that came with package was very good too. We did find that the restaraunts that we found on our own (especially for Tapas) were just as good and less expensive that the ones they suggested. One good suggestion they did make was for a small Tapas Restaraunt called Bohemia- fabulous. Be prepared to spend a lot of time at dinner as this is part of the experience; little taste of each artfully prepared dish. Dinner can easily last for three hours. Hotel Claris is just as nice as it looks in the pictures and a top pick for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    464
    192
    60
    43
See reviews for
299
853
67
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

What a pity! This five-star hotel has lots of potential: it's in an excellent location, it's very clean and the staff are friendly. However, following the worst night's 'sleep' we've had in years, a simple request to rectify a problem concerning a 'rock-hard' mattress could not be resolved. After telling us that 'all of the mattresses are the same" and before demonstrating this unfortunate but extremely important oversight in three other rooms, they attempted, in vain, to address our problem by putting a thick blanket below the mattress. After expressing our concerns again and with little or no response, we politely suggested that, instead, they give us extra pillows to lie on - which they did. No questions asked! So was the problem resolved? Absolutely not! With no alternative, other than move to another hotel, I spent the remaining two nights of our five-star stay, sleeping on a settee in the room, while my wife slept on the pillows we had requested! Did anyone ask if the problem had been resolved to our satisfaction? NO! Ignore this genuine complaint at your peril - the 'five-star' Claris Hotel Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRKellyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Good central position, great staff impeccably turned out.
Nice to enjoy something different to the Holiday Inn on a business trip, forget it if your looking for Grand, but this hotel so suits Barcelona. A city that has reinvented itself to be my favourite destination when on business. Try and get an upgrade to one of their duplex suites, all very cool but equally all very comfortable. Restaurant’s menu is expensive and a bit weird for my tastes so enjoy the Tapas off the Ramblas or take advice from the concierge. Great roof top pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarrahChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We overnighted at the Claris Hotel recently following a cruise. Despite arriving mid-morning, the excellent front-desk staff were able to give us a room immediately.

The hotel has a very modern, elegant interior with a glassed-in waterfall feature, visible from the glass elevators. There is a small gym and pool on the top floor. A display of Egyptian artifacts is on the first floor, where the restaurant is located. The hotel offers free admission to the Egyptian museum 1/2 block away.

The room we were given was a bit worn (scuffed hardwood floor), but very clean. The bathroom had double sinks and a tub/shower combination, and a nice amenity kit. Robes and slippers were also provided. Wireless internet is available for 10 euro per day, but as we were there for just the one night, we used the computers in their business centre instead.

Our major quibble was the noise in the room at night. There is a bit of street noise, and a noticeable gurgling sound that was probably coming from pipes in the wall. This can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. We also could not get the LCD television to work, but were not in the room long enough for this to be more than a slight annoyance.

The location of the hotel is very convenient, near the centre of the Eixample area attractions and shops. We were satisfied on the whole with the accommodations, particularly as we booked a good promotional rate on the hotel's website. The overall feeling we got was that design here won over function.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

This review is based on my second visit to Pau Claris in August 2008 which my partner wisked me off to after proposing earlier on that day in England. My first visit was with a friend and I loved the place so much I came home raving about it.

Upon check in it was quite late and we went up to the terrace and had a few cocktails overlooking the city - the mojitos are lush!

The room we stayed in was an immaculate duplex and some friends of ours had arranged to have flowers in the room to say congratulations. The Guest relations noting this arranged for champagne to be in our room that night when we came back from sight seeing and chocolates on the third night, (Very nice touch).

We didnt spend much time in the hotel but I cant really understand some of the crticisms, if people dont want to walk to La Rambla then stay on La Rambla! Perfect trip, Beautiful hotel and well located.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dionne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

Central location for seeing the major sites made this a perfect choice for our family. The hotel was immaculate, service was friendly & prompt. Times are tough all over, so we were given a great rate for adjoining suites which were very spacious. One suite had a king bed, a table for 2 and a full size sofa that could have slept a third person or child ... don't know if they offer cots, but the suite could have easily accommodated a family of 4. Very modern interior, beautiful marble bath with european shower. The adjoining suite had 2 double beds, a desk and chair and a couch. Would definitely recommend. We walked everywhere from the hotel as the tourist bus lines were way too long!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sej904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed at Claris Hotel during the World Congress last week. The rate were inflated to the large convention in town. Our rate was over 950 Euros per night. Since it was a five star hotel we were expecting a luxurious experience. As noted on previou reviews, the location of the hotel is super, and the reception area and lobby is very nice. However, the first room we got had two small twin beds. My husband is 6'3 and his feet hung off the bed. We pulled the beds together for that first night. The sheets were too short and rough. The beds reminded me of beds you would get at summer camp. The mattress was hard. They moved us to different room for the remainder of our stay. The King bed is not what I would consider a King bed (especially for a five star hotel). Same issues, hard mattress, sheets too short and scratchy. Some other issues we had with the hotel. The hardwood floors in the room were extremely noisy. You could hear other guests walking around. The tile in the hallways is also noisy. You could heard people coming and going morning and night. You could hear toilets flushing, showers being taken etc. We could hear water running all the time. Also, the walls were thin. I could hear coughing and talking in the other room. The housekeeper department made no attempt at being quiet in the morning. They were talking outiside our room and banging their cleaning equipment. The bathroom was adequate (but again, not a five star standard). Both rooms on the second floor had a living room loft area (a waste of space that we didn't use). The morning breakfast was just ok. The staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful. We never ate at the restaurant, but did have drinks at their bar.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AASeattleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#57 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#76 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Property: Hotel Claris
Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing