We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #62 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent four nights at the Claris at the end of March and we thrilled with the property. Our group book four different rooms, from the Duplex Jr Suite to a standard room and each one had unique properties.

We were upgraded from the Duplex to a Full Suite. The suite include a full sitting room with TV in the front of the room and a separate bedroom with a beautiful bathroom. Each day, housekeeping would convert our couch to a bed for our son. The conversation was a little more difficult than a normal sofa bed, so we weren't able to switch it ourselves in the morning. There were a few negatives about the room. There are no hooks in the bathroom for towels or robes and the light is more limited, because the window in the bedroom is smaller. However, we found the overall quality excellent and loved the space, especially for a European Hotel.

The standard room and the deluxe room we very similar. I was surprised how big a standard room was, given typical European hotels. Both room types included a nice sitting area but the deluxe rooms had both a larger sitting area and much larger bathroom. All the rooms had the same bath products (nice), robes/slippers and turn-down service.

We were greeted warmly when we arrived by Roberto, who noted on our reservation that we had multiple bookings. As he checked us in, he call Maria Rose, the deputy manager to greet us. I am not sure if that is standard procedure, if it was because we had so many people at the hotel or because of our booking with WhatAHotel. In any case it was a very nice touch. Maria Rosa when through all our rooms and the extra amenities we were receiving with the booking. She apologized that the rooms weren't all ready, which we didn't expect as it was 10:00 a.m. And she shared her card so we could call her with any questions or issues.

The staff at the hotel was mostly excellent. We were greeted, by name by most people, every time we returned. When we ran into Maria Rosa in the hotel, she always stopped to see how our trip was and if we needed any help. The restaurant recommendation the hotel gave was was excellent and we were even treated to a complimentary glass of Cava at the end of the meal. (And it was a very local, inexpensive place where dinner was 105 Euros with drinks).

Also, the hotel location was excellent. The local neighborhood had tons of reasonable restaurants and bars. There was a public market just down the street (and way less crowded than the Rambles one). We could walk to Sagrada, Las Rambles, and the Barrio. We also had both bus and subway just two blocks away.

I cannot image a better hotel or location in Barcelona.

Room Tip: No need to spluge for a Full Suite or Deluxe room. Standard rooms and Duplex are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResourceRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Claris Hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed there 3 night in March. The hotel was wonderful and so were the people at the front desk.
Any questions we asked they were able to answer and were very helpful. The rooms were very clean and a pair of slippers by our bed each night was an added bonus. Nice touch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwismer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
In the name of our hotel staff, we are very much appreciated for your observations. It has been a pleasure to help you with any doubt, suggestion or question you may have in order to make your stay easier and enjoyable in Barcelona.
Looking forward to meet you back in the hotel.
Yours faithfully,
Laura Noëlle
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Barcelona
65
Reviewed April 10, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I've felt the need to write a trip advisor review. Our family of six (two adults and four children) stayed at the Claris for four nights and were knocked out by the hotel in all respects. The duplex and executive rooms in which we stayed were gorgeously decorated, spacious and immaculately clean with views to the picturesque street but still perfectly quiet. The roof terrace and pool gave a spectacular view over barcelona and housed a truly first class restaurant with a great and very well priced wine list. The location was perfect for exploring the city. Most of all, the service was perfect in every way from arrangements to pick up my family from the airport to making impossible to come by reservations at a nearby two star Michelin reservations. I travel extensively for business and stay in many of the world's top hotels when I do and would honestly say that the quality of service, rooms, location, facilities and food at the Claris equalled those of any other hotel I've known at a fraction of the price. Tremendous value for money!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank MJYH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very satisfied that your experience with your family in Barcelona and in the Hotel Claris has been so positive.
As you have remarked, design is one of the main features that make our hotel so special so we appreciate your impression as well as your kind words about the service provided and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Laura Noëlle
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel on the recommendation of our daughter who stayed here and is also a hotel concierge in the states..The location was great..very near Passeig de Gracia...the metro and the train..easy day trip to Figueres from here..We really enjoyed walking to local restaurants in the evening..The hotel staff was professional and helpful in many ways..

The rooms had very comfortable beds and noise was not an issue..We stayed on an upper floor with a street view..The rooms were very tastefully decorated..

I would highly recommend staying here..

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Susan,
We are extremely grateful to your daughter and you for relying on the Hotel Claris as the place chosen to live your experience in Barcelona.
It has been a pleasure to help you with your reservations and we will appreciate that you recommend us and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Best regards,
Laura Noëlle
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is the last hotel which I stayed at before going home to Singapore. It is a treat to stay in this hotel.The hotel is centrally located & the staff are polite & most helpful. Even the doorman is most helpful. Also, the hotel is scented with a sweet fragrance.The hotel decor is modern contemporary & Egyptian antiques are displayed in my hotel room. I received the most unique gift ever from a hotel--- a pair of admission tics to the nearby Egyptian museum!!! The owner of hotel Claris is an avid collector of Egyptian antiques & shares his collection with the public in his private museum. This hotel offers a brochure , offering helpful tips for travellers to avoid being pickpocketed in Barcelona. Great hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Claris Hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

check in at hotel very friendly and help ful
great rooms well arranged
large bathrooms
all very clean
good location alot in walking distinance
small but nice pool on the roof
i will return to this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly in case you want to come back to the Claris Hotel.
Best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#109 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,348 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $147 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing