We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming staff at a great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #63 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming staff at a great hotel!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for two night's for an anniversary and was very impressed. The location is fantastic and within walking distance of some superb restaurants and all the major tourist attractions. The hotel is stylish, without being trashy, and has some very accommodating and friendly staff. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a excellent hotel that is well located.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time and nice review and we are glad to hear that oy had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Claris in the near future.
Sincerely,

MªRosa Castillo
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    462
    192
    60
    43
See reviews for
299
848
67
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We paid 277 € and got a 17-18 m/2 room without any windows. Strange smell of glue from the bathroom. There was an open glas door to the atrium, a 12 meter drop to the 1 st floor if there had been an active child it would have been a real danger. There was very loud music from a terrace until 00.30 which was not turned down although we asked three times to cut the noice. There was a minibar but no bottle opener to be found.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We regret to know that you did not enjoy your stay at the Claris and we had preferred that you had contacted us during your stay in order to show you other type of rooms.
Let me inform you that all the hotel rooms are completely different, soundproff and all of the them have windows with a security system, for this reason we really do not understand your comments.
Sincerely yours,
MªRosa Castillo
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very nice hotel

- Great location , 1 block away from. Metro and Main Street " Pasieg de Gracia " , plenty of shopping and restaurants near by

- very clean hotel

- sound proofing , not perfect but very very good

- rooms have blinds which conpletely black them out , great for getting sleep of your jet lagged

- roof top pool , very nice

- gym needs work , only basic very light set of weights , treadmill doesn't work properly ( belt slips )

- beds form but comfortable

- staff are absolutely perfect , to say they were nice and helpful , does do justice to how good these people were , nicest most enegetic and hard working group I have come accross

Overall we loved our stay at this hotel so much that we decided to stay longer then originally planned

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambo2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Claris Hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent location. Close to a lot of restaurants and stores.
Hotel staff was kind, yhe room was ok. Clean and with good space.
But i doesn't look like a five star.
Great rooftop with a good pool and a nice bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luisandrekleiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for sending us your feedback and we want to imform you that the hotel has different type of rroms that we would like to show you in your next visit.
Thank you very much for your comments and we remain at your entire disposal.
Best regards,

MªRosa Castillo
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here in a junior suite for about a week for our honeymoon and had an amazing stay. The workers were very nice, the room was clean and modern, and we slept incredibly well (the blackout shades helped). We loved the rooftop pool and bar, visited almost every day.

The location is amazing. La Pedrera and Casa Batllo are very close, on a street with lots of good window shopping. It's a block or two from the Passeig de Gracia metro station, which will take you all over the city easily. There's also a train station a block away that has trains to the airport and for day trips. They also have a driver available, though I don't know if he takes you anywhere or just to the airport. We used him to get to the airport for 35 euros.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethanyfarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your kind words and we feel really happy to receive your feedback, since it is really important for us to know that you have enjoyed your trip and had a lovely stay with us!
Mu best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for several nights at the Claris Hotel at the start of our trip to Spain. The room was very comfortable and large by European standards. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Ricardo the Front Desk Manager. He recommended restaurants that turned out to be thoroughly enjoyable as well as sight seeing destinations, even food stalls at the Ramblas. Every detail was taken care of for us. Visiting Barcelona we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Even rooms that face the street are quiet. Good little places for breakfast are an easy walk from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveYanovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our two-week trip to Spain. We picked this hotel, part of the Derby chain, because of the great experience we had at the beginning of the trip staying at the Urban Hotel in Madrid. This hotel is very similar in experience, very modern, Egyptian art, rooftop deck. It is in an excellent location one block from the Passeig de Gracia and walking distance of the Rambla, the Gaudi houses, and the fancy shopping, etc. We stayed the first night in an executive room on the fifth floor facing the front of the building and asked to be switched to the courtyard side because of the traffic noises starting at seven am. They accommodated us and we slept very soundly for the next two nights! We very much liked this hotel, but I found a few things in the room didn't live up to the five star experience, such as sluggish sink and bathtub drains, burnt out lighbulb, housekeeping which didnt change the dirty glasses. Minor things but for the price, you expect more. On the upside, we really like the Derby hotel experience so would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose the courtyard facing rooms but you won't get a view of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojosottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I want to thank you for you great support to the Derby hotels in Madrid and Barcelona and we celebrate that you feel happy with our service and enjoy our location and facilities.
On the other hand we take very good note of the details you mention to improve and become more comfortable for your next visits. let me inform you that the Derby chain has hotels not only in Barcelona and Madrid but also in Paris and London and they have also great locations and nice and modern facilities.
Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visits and we will be delighted to take vey good care of you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 521 in Barcelona
1,717 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#57 of 521 in Barcelona
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#75 of 521 in Barcelona
1,273 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
1,616 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Property: Hotel Claris
Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing