We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #62 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After a 10 day cruise of the Mediterranean, what a charming hotel by which to have been greeted. Beautiful rooftop with a pool, restaurant, and private dining. Friendly staff, complimentary business center, and cocktail lounge on the ground floor. HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selly0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful words and I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay among us.
I remain at your entire disposal for everything you will need in the future.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

A five star hotel with five star service in the heart of Barcelona city centre. We were not disappointed with the Claris and would recommend to all. The rooms were well equipped and very tastefully decorated and the roof top restaurant and pool are a delight. Don't forget to book asap if you want to dine at the roof top restaurant as it is small and fills up very quickly. Food was excellent. Overall no complaints at all and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcStaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Distinguished Guest,
We are very happy to receive such a nice comments from your stay at the Claris.
We celebrate that you also enjoyed the hotel facilities, our lovely restaurant and the cityviews terrace.
We want to inform you that we have so many different decorated and stylish rooms that we will be more than happy to show you in your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact us when you will come back to Barcelona and we will be glad to warm wecolme you here.

Best regards,

Nuria March
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everything was impeccable. The surrounding neighborhood was very safe. There is a fantastic pool on the roof. This is a great way to unwind after enjoying the city. The rooms were spacious and beautiful. We were there during a heatwave but the air conditioning was excellent. They had the room ready when we arrived so we could sleep off the jet lag. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dochop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your lovely message and we are happy to know that you felt comfortable with us during your stay at the Claris.
It is really important for us to be in one of the bests and safe location of Barcelona from where you can arrive to all the important and interesting points of the city by walking.

Receive our very best regards,

Nuria March
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for three wonderful nights in Barcelona. Staff were fantastic especially doorman and bar staff on roof top bar. Whole hotel, including rooms, are well decorated in a "funky art" sort of way (we thought similar to Ellement in NYC). Location was a little on the outer of the maincity area but is was only a short walk to the central part so no real problem.
Our only concern (observation) was the doulbe bed - I dont think we have ever had a double bed in a five star before

Room Tip: Ask for at least a Queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure for us to accomodate you in our Hotel and we feel very happy to know that you enjoyed Barcelona and your stay with us!!!
Do not hesitate to contact us for everything you will need in the future.
With warm regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Clean design room. Big bathroom. Good closet. Good bed. Great location: one block to Passeig de Gracia and 3 blocks to Batló House (metro also). Great terrace for lunch and dinner (make reservation for dinner). Chocolates twice a day on the bed. Gorgeous breakfast, but it didn´t included in our taxes room and the frontdesk checking didn´t tell us (27 euros/day/person). Finally, we really recomend the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Claris Hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

had a 3 day break hotel in good location for most of the attractions the metro only a short walk away which was very easy to navigate and was a very cheap way to travel.rooms were comfortable
and having full blackout blinds and very good air con helped with sleeping.
was nice of an evening to come back to the roof top terrace looking over the city while sipping a cocktail.had no meals at the hotel so cannot comment on food but many restaurants not far away.
found all staff very helpfull, and the hotel spotless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words and we feel really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and with us.
Thank you again for taking tour time in writing us and I look forward to meet you very soon at the Claris.
With warm regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What's positive:
- Friendly and attentive staff
- Good Location
- Quite neighborhood
- Clean sheets
- Safe location

What's negative
- Thin walls and plaster falling off in living area
- Worn room (sofa torn, furniture tired, plastic chairs)
- Noisy vibration resonating in room origin not known
- Building noises all the time, flossing, doors closing, neighbors.
- Hard bed and poly foam pillows.
- Bathroom shower pools with water, knobs loose and fall off.
- Expensive for value
- Free Internet is very slow and only supports browsing or web based mail. $10 euro extra for service that supports email apps and other services other than port 80 or web traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back between buildings are very dark and there's a lot of building noises. Motors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopheColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your mail and we are honestly concerned and a bit surprised with your comments.
Let me inform you that we have 124 differents type of rooms ( superior, executive, junior suite, duplex and suites).
Let me inform you that just we have finally reedecorated every room individually and I can assure you that, I ´ll be delighted to show you in your next visit to Barcelona, your new impression will be of a 5* GL.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#109 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,350 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $149 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing