We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claris Hotel reasonably priced luxury and location in Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #65 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our 3rd time to stay at the hotel. Obviously a fan? Location is close enough to La Rambla, shopping, and Gaudi buildings downtown, museums, Oldtown (Gotica) abd a wide range of restaurants to be a great choice. The rooms arte modern with a very "artsy" flair and many contain unusual works of art on display. The breakfast room and food is WELL worth the 11 Euros each day and the bar and pool on the roog (7th floor) is a must! Great cocktails always mixed right at your table with a very generous service! The room electronics are completely modern and the bathroom and toiletries are highest standards. My only caution is to avoid the 6th floor - we found it noisy late at night with people moving chairs upstairs in the bar area. The other floors and the suite we used on one occasion were perfect - esp the 2 story suites - if you can splurge it is a great room option ;-) The concierge always did a great job with recommendations and making appointments for us. Metro reasonable distance. Cabs quick to arrive.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor - noisy middle of the night with chairs in bar on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblmdmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Claris Hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found the Claris staff really friendly and helpful, I thought their uniforms smart and a little zany. We loved the bar on the top floor, Mario, Julian and Daniel looked after us very well, they were very professional and friendly. The vodka and tonic with fresh raspberries and lime slipped down very nicely.
Having said that, it wasn't all plain sailing. We are travelling for 3 months and have a lot of luggage, consequently we book larger rooms and suites in hotels. We had booked a junior suite. The first room we were shown just didn't measure up size wise....there might have been room for us but not our bags. It was delightfully decorated but oh so dark...on the first floor looking out to a brick wall a few feet away. Reception suggested we store the bulk of our luggage...that doesn't work for me....I don't pack that way! Take 2...we see another room again on the 1st floor, lighter but still not satisfactory. We asked for a room on a higher floor to enjoy some natural light...no go there....by now I am thinking we will decamp and go elsewhere, however that is easier said than done, with our bags, we require a large room and car parking. We have no access to Internet to see what else is available and have just driven 6 hours. After more discussion we are offered a larger suite....still on the 1st floor....it was unrenovated but okay....the right size, comfortable and room for us and the bags. However,we found the room very noisy, not from traffic noise, we could clearly hear the antics of our neighbours, it sounded as though they were dancing a flamenco at 6am one morning, also, unfortunate bathroom noises were apparent.
We should have left after 2 days but lethargy set in and we loved the rooftop bar....thanks guys! Also, the doorman and George were lovely helpful people..along with the charming fellow on reception who recommended great tapas. Also, even though we only went to breakfast one morning, we enjoyed it.
I guess if you travel light, had the right room and are not concerned about natural light the Claris would really suit. Sadly, for us it was lacking.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
I regret that you found that the style and decoration of the Hotel didn't fit exactly with your espectations but let me inform you that we have a lot of different rooms with different style and charming decoration that makes every room as unique and we would be vder happy to show it to you in your next visit.
Regarding to the noise let me inform you that all our rooms are soundproof and I want thank you for letting us know it during your stay because we could revise and solution it.
The Claris staff remain at your entire disposal,
Sincerely yours,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location& not bad value for money but not 'the real deal' - reception staff thought they were just too cool -(despite truly ugly uniforms)-concierge guys fabulous& in fairly plain polo shirts (= much better dressed)-incredibly friendly &helpful when reception are not-but hotel really lacking heart-
Rooms =style over substance- pokey&dark&absolutely no sound proofing- really poor bathrooms-water everywhere-
Recently stayed at house hotel Istanbul which was very cool - but where staff& management really cared - made all the difference-

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to read that your experience with us was not as pleasant as you expected.
Thank you very much for your feedback and let me inform you that we have 124 differents rooms ( combines modern and traditional style ).
I would love to take care personally of your next visit in case you will decide to book in our hotel.
My best regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Woderful hotel with charming helpful staff.
We enjoyed cocktails on the roof terrace.
Lovely large modern room. Great value for money.
We enjoyed a lovely breakfast. It was easy to get taxis to and from the hotel.
Looking forward to our next visit. We wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffwv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words and we feel really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and with us.
With warm regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel close to all amenities including shops, metro , la rambla, museums. Only complaint is about free wifi which was very limited and a hassle to get on to. Would not download e mail on iPad . Some rooms also get noise from the passage. Breakfast is good, continental and hot breakfast served.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your information.
After having read your review belonging to your stay with us, I would like to thank you for your comments, that for sure, will help us to improve.
Sincerely,
José Luis Fernández
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ours was a one night stay as we were headed back to the U.S. the next day.

Claris reminded us of the W hotels. Rooms very modern with electronic windows shades that completely black out the outdoors. Shower takes a few minutes to figure out and the phone is somewhat awkward to hold. Otherwise the room was fine.

The food and wine in the roof top Claris Restaurant is top notch, as is the service. We recommend that you get reservations.

If one of your goals is to stroll or shop the high end shops you would be two blocks away. In addition, in normal traffic you are only 20-30 minutes from the airport.

Since we had an early morning flight the staff arranged for us to get morning room service before they officially opened. Overall we felt the Claris was a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelaide_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure for us to accomodate you in our Hotel and we feel very happy to know that you enjoyed Barcelona and your stay with us!!!
Do not hesitate to contact us for everything you will need in the future.
With warm regards,
José Luis Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Well located, beautifully maintained, fabulous staff. In the heart of Barcelona, 15 minute walk to anything, Sagrada Familia, watertfront, Picasso Musuem, restaurants. The staff was very helpful, especially Biliana. She organized anything we wanted in no time at all. Lobby and rooms very cool. Roof top restaurant, bar and pool were beautiful. Ahhh, the view. Our room abutted the apartment building next door. The second day renovation was started on the apartment with a lot of noise. We spoke with Maria Rosa, manager and were moved to a suite within the hour. We stayed an extra night we loved it so much. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredinVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words and It’s been a real pleasure to accommodate you at the Claris.
My best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#18 of 515 in Barcelona
1,871 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#49 of 515 in Barcelona
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,767 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#74 of 515 in Barcelona
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $168 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing