We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel in a prime location”
Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #63 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good hotel in a prime location”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

the hotel is located in thae center of the city, 2 min wallk from passing de gracia av.
it's really a high class hotel, the room was graet and so is the service. (room clean twice a day)
free wi fi in the lobby area + 2 computers for guest use.
notice that online reservation not include tax 8% and brakefest 23 euro per person.
hotel airport service on depart is very heigh, use a texi only.

Room Tip: ask for te high floor its the short way to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    468
    194
    62
    43
See reviews for
303
865
68
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and is a good place to stay in Summer given the rooftop pool. We thought the rooms were elegantly fitted and qute large given typical European size rooms. The staff at the pool bar are delightful and Daniel makes one of the best bloody Mary in Barcelona especialy after the long day exploring the sights. The concierge is also very helpful for restaurant and shopping tips. Billiana recommended some great restaurants and non touristy bars for us. Would recommend going straight to the concierge if requiring tips and suggestions around the city as the front desk are not as helpful. We were lucky enough to get the deputy managers help on restaurants also which ended up being our favorite place to eat in Barcelona. Agree the doorman is a gem and is always happy to greet you when you arrive and leave the hotel. An easy recommendation for future visitors of Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsol2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great City and Great Hotel.

Arrived at the hotel and the concierge immediately looked after our car for us and guided us to the hotel reception. Great guy and great service straight away.

We were placed in a brilliant room on the fourth floor which was very clean, and in a fantastic condition. Spot on so far.

The hotel staff were very helpful, and were keen to offer advice on where in the city was worth a visit.

Would stay again when we return to the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really good hotel staff brilliant great position,nice pool area.you are about 5 mins walk from Passiege Gracia and 2 mins from metro cant complain,Hotel to consider when in Barcelona
there are a couple of little supermarkets near to get those little extras you may need.

Room Tip: to be honest i would say all rooms are good position wise,i was at the front of hotels main street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear client,
We celebate that you have enjoyed your stay at the Claris, not only for our great location but also for our facilities and staff service.
It is great that you have enjoyed our rooftop wich is one of the bests terraces of the city with a nice restaurant with views over the heart of Barcelona, a swimming pool and a cocktail bar.
We hope we will be able to welcome you very soon,
Best regards,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent two nights here in August. Agree with review by Al3111111 that the doorman is amazing - always smiling and helpful (despite a very hot uniform), not to mention multi-lingual. We found the front desk staff very pleasant and helpful from helping us get tickets to the Sagrada familla to helping with the wifi connection on our ipad. They gave good directions and helped us avoid "tourist " mistakes. The amenities are 5 star but the room wasn't, although for us it was just a place to sleep. We couldn't get a late check-out but they did keep our bags locked up for us and we spent a few hours at the pool before heading to the airport, not a problem by any stretch.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ela127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review
We are working hard to get this feeling from our guests and we feel really happy when we receive such a positive feedback as it is yours. It will surely help us to keep working in this direction.
Thank you very much and best regards,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

5 Nights spent at the hotel, great decor in the hotel and the room, great service from the moment you enter the hotel.
did not eat at the hotel as explored the eating places in the city. All staff very friendly and helpful, were offered a late check out when requested, a gem of a hotel in Barcelona

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for highlighting the service and staff, the cleanliness and modernity of our facilities and the comfortability. I am really proud of having met your needs and those of your family during your stay with us and above all you have been enjoying the rooms, our rooftop pool and lounge area.
Again, thank you for sending us your comments and we look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely yours,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Do not understand how can the 5 star can be so misleading. This hotel in Barcelona has a long way to reach its 5 star classification. Service in front desk not too friendly. I do must say the Door-Man is expel did and very service oriented always with a smile ?

We had 2 rooms, and they were not available until around 4:30. When given the rooms, connecting , one was not even made and had a stench of a smocking-room. we had to be given another room but not connecting. The showers gets the water flowing into the floor of the bathroom thru the bottom door.

We had a 4 pm train and therefore asked for one of the rooms for late check out, they say no

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al3111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to read that your experience with us was not as pleasant as you expected.
In any case I want to thank you for your feedback and let me inform you that our renovated rooms, combines modern and traditional style but we will revise some details and of course we will improve through every single comment you are highlighting in your review.
Regarding the late check out you mention, rest assured that we will do our best to confirm it to our guests, but sometimes it is not posssible due to the high occupancy.
Sincerely yours.
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#56 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#71 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Property: Hotel Claris
Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing