We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Bar Canete

Bar Canete
Ranked #232 of 9,534 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: El Raval
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In Barcelona you seldom stumble upon the best places as tend to be well hidden down some dark, dingy alleyway. Bar Cañete is no exception to this rule - even though its address in Raval is surprisingly close to the culinary no-go zone known as Las Ramblas. From the outside it looks like an over-crowded hole in the wall but don't be fooled - this place is amazing!

Firstly, the food: delicious. We shared a selection of everything from steamed mussels to pickled anchovies, tuna tartare, chipirones with beans, jamón bellota, artichokes and lots more and it was all fresh, delicious and cooked to perfection. Service was great too (not typical for Barcelona).

A couple of words of warning: 1) not cheap by Barcelona standards but well worth it (expect to pay about €40 per person for food, wine and coffee), 2) either book or be prepared to queue, 3) take care of your belongings on Calle Unio.

This is without question my new favourite restaurant in Barcelona. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    399
    106
    63
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent and very friendly”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic tapasrestaurant in Raval quarters. We are so happy that we found this excellent place. Food is amazing, best I have eaten in Barcelona. The citchen is open and there is a lot going on there. The waiters are friendly and funny but do not speak english. Even though our spanish is not perfect we got great help with the menu and enjoyed some great tapas and seafooddishes. We will definatley go back here again. The place is very crowded. We came very late on a saturdaynight and got a table even without reservation. Lots of locals and a great crowd. Go here!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal I had in Barcelona!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My cooking class instructor (from Barcelona Cooking- excellent) recommended this place to me as we were finishing up. From 1-4pm each day they have a 16 euro three course meal plus wine/beer. He (the chef) and his girlfriend go several times each week!
So the next day I walked over and wow...it was incredible.
The menu is in both Spanish and Catalan, but the guys behind the counter can help with questions. I got an egg/chorizo/potato hash to start with, the chorizo was chopped and it was delicious. The main was a seafood paella-like dish but with small, rice-looking noodles. Also amazing. I ate the whole pan. Dessert was a french toast-like bread pudding dipped in their sweet wine. Plus a glass of their great house rioja/tempranillo. Bill...16 euros.
Best meal I had in Barcelona and certainly best value. I would highly highly recommend!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missingcali4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Possibilities”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel personnel when we asked for a dinner that featured true Spanish cuisine. When we went to Canete we identified ourselves as tourists and asked for help to order a meal. The menu is completely in Spanish, as well it would be. The reception was friendly but the advice was disappointing. We had water, one glass of red wine, bread, a tomato salad and a seafood salad for 34 euros plus 6 euros tip. The couple next to us, said the same thing to the head waiter, and he was more helpful to them. Their food appeared more exotic and adventuresome than ours. We left still slightly hungry. I would have liked more guidance and direction. We were prepared to pay 80 to 100 euros for a typical but tasty Spanish dinner. I had the feeling we were fleeced and could have been better guided. I did not feel we got good value for money. Clearly this is a reputable restaurant, it had several cooks who were going about their culinary business, so there was the possiblility of great fulfillment but our experience was just...great potential.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachersTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Even with not much English-speaking, we managed a great meal!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The menus are in Spanish, and the staff spoke very little English. But that did not stop them from helping us fill in the gaps of our little Spanish. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and the meal was better than I could have hoped for. Great tapas. Wished we were hungrier! Not touristry at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyFitz2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Canete also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bar Canete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing