We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Majestic Contemporary Portrayal of Nature!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.37*
and up
Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour
Ranked #1 of 691 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Basilica of the Sagrada Familia is a monumental church devoted to the Holy Family: Jesus, Mary and Joseph. Construction began in 1882, based on plans drawn up by the architect Francisco de Paula del Villar, and Antoni Gaudi was commissioned to continue the project in 1883. The Temple has always been an expiatory church, built only from donations. As Gaudi said: "The Expiatory Church of the Sagrada Familia is made by the people and is mirrored in them. It is a work that is in the hands of God and the will of the people." In 2010, Pope Benedict XVI consecrated the site as a minor basilica.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Majestic Contemporary Portrayal of Nature!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was told to visit this beautiful Cathedral by my girlfriend on our Barcelona adventures. As soon as I left the metro station I was affronted by this enormous structure which I've never witnessed before. It was beautiful, a bit like a tree or small forest sprouting from the group. It looks smaller on the outside if that's anything to go by.. its huge but when you walk in you see inside the forest. Architecturally a masterpiece! Never seen anything quite like it.

It was a long queue but decided it was worth the wait as it was flowing. The ticket prices were reasonable and got entrance to Gaudi's House in Park Guell too.

If you are looking for something spectacular to see, then go see it.. thoroughly recommend it for its beauty & majesty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80,979
    17,770
    5,001
    1,092
    594
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing attraction, no so amazing prices or waiting times.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

As the highest rated attraction in Barcelona, I couldn't go home without visiting. I can't lie, I was slightly disappointed. Although the building is incredible and beautiful, in every sense, i didn't think the visit warranted the price.I felt it was treated like an attraction in one moment and a church in the other. By this I mean, I was told by a guard to stop eating immediately and to not sit on the outside wall, because it was a holy place of respect and at the same time had to pay 25 euros to be there. We booked tickets to go up in the towers and was told the waiting time was 3 hours, after 2 hours of looking around at the building and museums there was nothing left to do but wait, and the towers view wasn't too impressive, mainly of builders and scaffolding, cranes and machines. it spoiled the atmosphere and beauty of the building. Waiting 3 hours in off peak season to see some scaffolding for 25 euros was pretty disappointing.
However, booking online helps avoid the lengthy ques, but costs more so you have to weigh it up.
However, I do recommend this attraction as the building, inside and out is spectacular, and I am glad I went.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jazziepickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Yes, you will have to go and see this - it is THE building of Barcelona. But to say I loved it, well no. Maybe it is different when the sun shines through the windows and colours are brighter, but I doubt that. But I will go back there once it is finnished, that is for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Astrid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Book Ahead to avoid Queues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I loved it! A very powerful, unique and impressive building. We booked in advance online and it really made a huge difference. We wasted no time in the very long line of tourists waiting for tickets and went straight in. No trip to Barcelona would be complete without a visit to the inspirational and beautiful structure.

Helpful?
Thank Eviesapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This one needs no review! An absolute must-do in Barcelona. Buy the ticket online to avoid long queues. Sunday open till 2pm only.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GhoulishOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing