We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smells, taste and see”

Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.90*
and up
Barcelona Food Walking Tour: La Boqueria Market and El Raval
Ranked #8 of 698 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This popular food market sells some of the freshest fruit, vegetables and seafood in Barcelona.
Europe
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“smells, taste and see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Most colourful place ever. I was walking in La Ramba and turn to small street as it was some kind of street art. On the way back I realised it is some nice smells coming my way. I turn my head and I saw so many colours I have never seen before. You can find here everything. Amazing selection of fruits and fresh squeezed juices, sea food I have never seen in my life before, sweets and oils, meat and eggs.
I would love to have this kind of market close to my home it would be my best place for shopping :)
Go and see yourself!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ciauskut e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,118
    3,704
    860
    169
    90
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

An amazing experience and must do when visiting Barcelona. Best to go early as to beat the crowds! Lots of "fresh juices" but carefull, they're not all that nice unfortunately..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nc1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Un mercat super sin supermercat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a nice, colorfull, tasty, rich and enjoyable place to see in Barcelona, from fish to frut, from candy to candle, from chorizo to chocolate...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tshorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
186 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A must-see in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful, crowded, food market with so much to taste, see and smell! Fantastic fruit, lots of fresh fish, and delicious treats!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try the best smoothies in the world!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We find the central market in the middle of Barcelona, in the walking street of the city.
The market has a lots of things to offer, bred, fruits, fish and meet, pero, what i loved at most, was the fresh juices, witch they are selling for 1.5 - 2 euro. If you going in the evening time /8-20/ sunday close, you can try them for 1 euro each. this kind of smoothies, are really fresh, self made, and they mixing a lots of really different fruits together, in the end those smoothies are incredible good!!!

You could see, all of the tourist been there, to try them, and everybody loved them! I try most of those smoothies in 3 days staying, nothing happend to me /diaria or like that/ so you should dont miss them!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing