We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and lots of it!”
Review of Pho Bar Barcelona

Pho Bar Barcelona
Ranked #3,648 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Monzon, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and lots of it!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The food was good and BIG portions. Staff very friendly and spoke English well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliaslullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    55
    24
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not Exactly Authentic, But Remember Where You Are”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

As much as I love tapas, I needed a break on my 10th day in Spain.

Pho Bar doesn't offer a sprawling menu of options like most Vietnamese restaurants do, but it has the staples (e.g., spring rolls, pho, vermicelli bowls). We opted for the pho and ga kho gung (braised chicken with ginger). If you've had traditional pho before, you'll find their version somewhat lacking: only one cut of beef, thicker noodles, fewer garnishes, a less rich broth. The ga kho gung was more satisfying: the meat was tender and flavorful (it reminded me of my mother's cooking - I'm Vietnamese), and the vegetables on the side provided a nice textural contrast. For dessert, we tried the banana fritters and avocado ice cream that other reviewers here have raved about. The fritters were predictable but tasty - hard to go wrong with fried bananas - and the avocado ice cream was smooth and refreshing - a nice way to end the meal.

Overall, I would recommend Pho Bar if you're missing Asian cuisine and aren't overly picky about where you get it. The service is good, the atmosphere is cozy and modern, and the location is easy to find. You won't have the most authentic experience, but then again, you are in Barcelona.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnworldlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good taste of Vietnamese Food....!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

They have good selection of vietnamese dishes including those traditional rice wrap and the rice noodle...... most asian will like the taste as it should be.......the portion is good... if not for the rice wrap, i would try the avocado ice-cream.... I tried the spicy beef noodle..its excellent..... friendly staff. I made some suggestion to him and he's pretty receptive.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank just_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the vietnamies tastes”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This small place seemed quite and calm but it's really stormy and hot! I enjoyed every moment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ganoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertzlia israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best asian restaurant in barcelona”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

dont miss this place!!!!

only few meter from la rambela you will find the best asian food in barcelona

great food and service

very nice atmosphere


try the avocado ice cream :)

do you think thay make delivery abroad???

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liranmalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Bar Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pho Bar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing