We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly Drassanes”
Review of Hostal Drassanes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Drassanes
Ranked #459 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smelly Drassanes”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hostal only has its location going for it, half way between the beach and La Ramba, and the fact that the air conditioning worked in out room.

The hostal was renovated in the last 10 years so it does have newer washrooms and newer doors as well as marble tile flooring throughout. Problem is that they used a flat orange paint when this reno was done and at least the room we were in looked horrible. The walls were covered on scratches, stains, smears etc. You can't wash a flat paint and the hotel needs to paint the rooms again as their current state is beyond unacceptable.

Now the really bad: The hotel does not have washing machines or dryers!!

The staff/manager/owner (I only saw one person during our stay so I assume they are all the same person) washes all towels and sheets in an outside sink and then hang dries them in the back of the hotel. Result: our towels and sheets all stunk badly and had hairs (from previous guest, pubic and others), dirt and stains on them. These were by far the most disgusting sheets and pillows I have ever slept on in my life!!! In fact the room next to ours the German couple bought there own sheets and pillows for their stay as they could not handle what the Hotel provided. We opted to sleep clothed on the sheets.

The next bad item is the staff/manager/owner. He did not speak a work of English or French, only Spanish. Our check in at midnight was scary as he did not want to let us in despite having a reservation. We showed him the reservation on our smart phone, and he did not want accept it and started yelling at us for not having a printed copy. He was rude, scary at some points and worst of all stunk, to the point that the entire hotel, both ground floor and second floor simply reeked of his horribly bad body odor and cigarettes. He smoked non stop and the entire hotel just smelled horribly bad because of him and his cigarettes. The worst smelling hotel we have ever stayed at. We actually held our breath while running to our room to avoid the stench! On the positive side out air conditioner worked and cleared the smell from our room in less than 5 minutes.

Now room service??? Not sure what the standard is but our room was cleaned the first night but not the second night. We didn't complain as we simply wanted to avoid the staff/manager/owner at all costs.

I would avoid this place at all costs until they paint the place, get new sheets and towels as well as washing facilities to wash them properly and finally change the staff/manager/owner who simply stinks, quite literately.

AVOID THIS DUMP!!!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, just don't. Unless you are smokers or have no sense of smell and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    20
    9
    16
See reviews for
4
28
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İSTANBUL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you’re planning a holiday in Barcelona but are a little short on cash, this hostel will be a correct decision. The location is really great, close to all attractive spots of the city, you can walk everywhere. 5 minutes to La Ramblas, 5 minutes to the port, 10 minutes to Barcelonatta beach and 10 minutes to the beautiful park Ciutadella. The staff does not know English, but a little bit French will help. The rooms are very small. They are not comfortable for long stays. But if you want to be in the downtown and reach everywhere on foot, go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISIL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

For a three night stay in Barcelona Hostel Drassanes was a great location for visiting the central areas, Port Vell and the beach. There are some great bars within easy walking distance and it takes less than 5 minutes to get to the bottom of Las Ramblas. The rooms were basic but generally clean however towels were not changed during the stay and one had a hole in. Shower was excellent and always hot! WiFi was advertised as available in all areas but no signal was available in our room. You had to go to the hallway to use it so other rooms may be luckier. Finally the staff were friendly but did not speak any English. This didn't cause a major problem except when trying to gain entry at the main gate after hours when it was locked and relied on talking over an intercom.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Though other reviews were not good, we booked this hostal. It was very quiet, peaceful and clean. Our room was big enough for to young women and their luggage. Staff doesn't speak english very well but they are very nice. Hostal is in excellent location, easy to walk anywhere and close to metro. I recommend Hostal Drassanes!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymmelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Rooms are very small and very basic. We used as a base to get rest and nothing else and it did the job well for us.

Location is very good and has many transport links close by as well as bars, and places to eat.

I wouldn't stay here again but if your on a budget and dont mind very basic accomodation then this will do the job

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#62 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#319 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#474 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Levante
Hostal Levante
#180 of 722 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Palace Hostel
Palace Hostel
#561 of 722 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Portugal
Pension Portugal
#548 of 722 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Drassanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Drassanes

Property: Hostal Drassanes
Address: Carrer Ample 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Drassanes 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hostal Drassanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Drassanes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing