We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem”
Review of Caramba

Caramba
Ranked #180 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Homemade quality tapas and paellas at a fair Price Open from Wednesday to Monday from 19:00h
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little gem”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went to this tapa place after my friend and I were unable to get a spot at Cera 23. Neighbourhood was a little sketchy and the tapa bar didn't look like much. BUT, the food was great!! Great prices, very friendly staff, willing to explain what the different tapas are. We had some great tasting fries with a fried egg. The toast with apples and some caramel sauce was also really great tasting. I wish I could go back and have more!! Definitely should check this place out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flightgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    149
    22
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“31euros for fantastic tapas and drinks for 2”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I'd have paid double. Great food friendly staff - if you close by its a must. Brilliant.
Had 6 dishes and 2 drinks each. Fast friendly service. Hard to find though.

Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food and sangria!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very nice food and waiter very friendly and gave us free shots after our meal.
Very good sangria! And cheap
Very reasonable value and right next to the metro station.

Helpful?
1 Thank abcdefg186338
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This restaurant is just off a main road. It looks like a small bar from the front. The seating is past the small bar at the front. The tapas menu had plenty of choice and the prices for food and drink were cheap for Barcelona. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The different dishes were explained and we had several tapas, all freshly cooked and tasty. Well worth a visit. Will go here again when we return to Barcelona.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_ofarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Tapas at affordable prices!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Decided to try after reading the TA reviews. Thank you reviewers as my friend and I had a really great experience dining here.

It's a small bar but not to be underestimated. The staff were very friendly and helped pick out tapas from the menu. Their recommendations were very good. We shared 4 tapas dishes & paella between us and it was a good meal. As many have said before, the tapas was tasty, good hearty food of a decent amount at very affordable prices. These along with two freshly squeezed juices meant we were very fed for under €25, although alcoholic beverages are also very decently priced if you wanted sangria or wine.

Patatas bravas is the real treat here. The paella is also a good tummy filler. Whilst it doesn't look as exciting as some of the others/pics u see tempting you around barcelona the taste was really impressive and much more than it looked. For under €10 a paella dish it's a bargain deal.

Environment - The decor is fun and eclectic. It's a mix of delicately decorated lanterns hanging from the ceiling and our mosaic table contrasted with modern pictures of new york scenes, modern art and one of Marilyn Monroe. It makes for a warm fun environment which is also shared in the service. Both the staff serving us were extremely helpful and friendly not always a given in the town. They spoke english very well so language is no barrier here.

Whilst it's called a "bar" we enjoyed a proper sit down dinner like in any other restaurant. There is also a nice communal seating area if you wanted to go for drinks and tapas with a group of friends. No outdoor seating when we went but it wasn't really the weather for it either.

Star quality: affordable prices, friendly service, hearty food
Star dish: Patatas Bravas

Getting there - It's just off the corner of junction of calle de la cera & ronda sant pau, ~10mins from las ramblas. Great if you're looking for a tapas meal coming off las ramblas and don't mind a short walk or staying in the parallel area.

Sadly, this was our last evening's dinner so we didn't get to visit again but I would definitely not be shy to return and would recommend it to any friends/family visiting Barcelona.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jalee247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Caramba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing