We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great culinary experinece”
Review of Codium - CLOSED

Codium
Price range: $39 - $65
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great culinary experinece”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Yum, yum, yum.

Like many reviewers we had the tuna to start. I had the fish of the day (flaky and delicious), hubby had the duck--wonderful.

Great service, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScrappyGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    32
    6
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Codium: my best address in Barcelona”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My sister and I went there two times during our trip and each time it's been perfect: the service is absolutly charming and the food excellent. The tataki of tuna was a piece of heaven! I would HIGHLY recommend that restaurant to anybody who wants quality and good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ate here tonight, I called ahead and made a reservation but it didn't matter since we were e first people there. As previously described, we received a glass of Cava and some appetizers to start. To eat we had the spinach salad, duck, veal cheeks and fish of the day. Everything was exceptional. We had two desserts and with a bottle of Cava our meal was about 100 euros. Not cheap, but well worth it. The service was attentive and fast but not rushed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious & Excellent Service!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were welcomed to Codium by Israel. He was an excellent server and offered us an aperitif (cava-sparkling spanish wine) on the house upon arrival. He followed the cava with free appetizers. The appetizers were delicious. He suggested a full body red wine that was paired perfectly with our meal. Both of our meals were exceptional. They were so good, we had to try desert, which was also very good.
At the end of the meal I had a carajillo (spanish coffee in north america) which paired nicely with my desert. The entire evening was a perfect end to our honeymoon in europe.
A++ restaurant in terms of service, food, value and atmosphere. Be sure to not to miss out on Coduim.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veclempt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I went for dinner on our last night in Barcelona. I'm surprised that Codium doesn't get a better rating here... the food, the service and the ambiance is perfection!! Our server, Israel, treated us like royalty from the minute we walked into the restaurant (even though we were earlier than our reservation and they had just opened for the evening). He was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the menu as well as our request for a recommended wine pairing. I ordered the duck cannaloni and my husband had the veal cheeks in red wine sauce... simply delicious. From start to finish, it was an amazing dining experience!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillyBean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codium also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing