We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view, great team!”
Review of Gaudi's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gaudi's Nest
Ranked #19 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We chose Gaudi's Nest for the accommodation for my Mum's 50th Birthday celebration in Barcelona after reading the fantastic reviews online and were not disappointed! 11 of us took over 3 of the apartments over the space of 5 days in April and overall we were extremely impressed with the rooms and service.
Rooms are fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and extremely clean.
The view from every apartment was breath taking and has to be seen to be believed!
All hosts and staff couldn't have been more helpful including the transfer service which was seamless and very reasonable in price.
Arthur, who I understand to be the owner/manager couldn't have done any more for us if he tried and made our stay an absolute pleasure.
Views from the roof terrace were incredible, only thing I will say is that I don't think that they are making the most of the space that they have up there. This isn't really a negative but they could really do something great up there.
Only slight negative and this really is very small... the bedrooms face the street and can be quite noisy at night, was not a huge problem for us as we were always very tired after each day's sightseeing. Reminds you just how effective the double glazing that we have at home is!

We loved it and would go back given the chance!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sianie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 374 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you're reading this review, then you will likely read many of the others about Gaudi's Nest. I rate at 5 stars as, based on the $ or Euro, it's worth it and then some. The views are as in the pictures. And it doesn't get tiresome. We did 4 days in London, 4 at Gaudi's Nest, and some time in Madrid...the memories from Gaudi's Nest are at the top of the list. I'll list some items that may prove helpful for the readers, that may not be listed in other reviews:
- there is a farmers market one block from the apartment that is wonderful and economical. We bought items for lunch and dinner there and took food upto rooftop terrace...great outdoor dining!
- bus 21 (I don't normally ride a bus where I live) can take you right to the beach and back very easily
- we loved our meal at Los Bellota, only a 5 min walk
- we did use Artur's shuttle service and that worked well...driver with sign right outside of baggage claim
- there are shops nearby (Pharmacy for example) that are open 24 hours
- make reservation for the Sagrada Familia ahead of time

Room Tip: A room with a view...there is no elevator, so, you will need to climb stairs...that may be an import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATLsoccerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I traveled to Barcelona with my husband and son March 2014 and gaudis nest couldn't have been more perfect for our stay. The apartment was clean, comfortable and had a magnificent view of Sagrada Familia....we were literally on its doorstep! The owner and all who work there were helpful, friendly and met all our needs. The little restaurant next door served absolutely delicious food....our only regret is that we didn't eat there more often! I also really liked the location... it was easy to get to everything by metro and we enjoyed being in a typical neighborhood vs. all tourist hotels. If you choose to stay there, you won't regret it! we will be back!

Room Tip: request any of the rooms that have a view of sagrada familia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laukaps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just back from three amazing nights in Barcelona. Gaudi's Nest was wonderful. We rented apartment 2 (which I think is on the third floor). The apartment was very modern and spotlessly clean. The view is wonderful and even better from the roof terrace. We loved having breakfast and lunch in the apartment looking out at the park and Sagrada Familia and feeling like it was our own private view. Although busy during the day the area is very quiet of a night time. We used the shuttle bus service, which worked perfectly to and from the airport. Barcelona was easy to get around, we were happy to walk but used the Metro as well. Highlights - the beach, Montjuic, MNAC, seeing the FC Barcelona team leaving Camp Nou, Sagrada Familia. Avoid - the Ramblas, so busy and tacky. Will definitely be back, as so much more to see. Thanks for a brilliant stay and for being so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you can manage the stairs then this is a great find just for the view. Visiting a big city is very tiring so it is a bonus to go back to your apartment and feel that you are still absorbing the culture and atmosphere while you rest up. Clean apartment, comfy beds. The only thing we didn't like was the sofa just wasn't easy to get comfortable on, especially with four of us trying to fit. The shuttle bus worked really well for us and we found everyone to be very helpful and friendly. Not only is the metro very close, but as soon as you can find a bus map and there are lots of routes which mean that you can see the city as you travel around.

Room Tip: Best view will keep you fit! Remember, no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I finally have the guts to write this review after seeing the three stars given by a traveler a few days ago. The only drawback I have found with tripadvisor is that if a place gets great reviews consistently, it sounds as is you are a complainer if you give it anything less.

We stayed at Gaudi's Nest on the front and back end of our visit to Catalonia. Unfortunately, we did not feel as welcome or enjoy near the hospitality that so many others have written about. For example, on our return, we did not get the apartment (5) we put a deposit down on (and had our hearts set on) four months earlier, with no explanation. We made it clear we did not mind the stairs (in the building with the terrace) and it would have been nice if we could have had access to the terrace "any time we wanted" as promised.

Another example: Upon arrival (flying in around 8:00 a.m.), we were told that the people in apartment six were not leaving until 11, so we could not check in until 2:00. I understand that 2:00 is check in time. But we had also been told that they knew we were getting in early (we used their shuttle) and they would work with us to get us in our apartment early. Upon arrival we were told that the other apartments' occupants were leaving at 6 and 7 a.m. but "unfortunately, yours is not leaving until 11". So, it takes three hours to clean an apartment that occupants are supposed to leave clean? The issue was not that we couldn't get in: check in time is 2:00. The uncomfortable/unwelcome feeling came from how they treated/spoke to us. There are other minor examples of ways we felt uncomfortable but I don't want to take up too much of your time.

The apartment we had, six, has a great view and Gaudi's Nest is in a great location. Parts of the apartment are worn, especially the white chairs.

Would I stay here again? Not sure. Great location!! Great view! We had all our tickets and transportation lined up over two weeks so we never had to ask reception for anything, except to pay. If I ever stayed here again, I guess I just wouldn't expect the level of service so many others have raved about.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nartur, Propietario at Gaudi's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear guest,
We are sorry about your feeling but believe us that we tried to treat you the best we can,
the same we do with anybody staying with us
I personally talked a few times about your stay and I did not feel over our conversation of any complaint you are describing
We upgraded you to the apartment with a lift to make your stay easier (you left for some days
for a tour and come back again to the same one , and we kept your bagagge along this period
with n o extra cost) We offered you free acces to the roof terrace anytime and you could enjoy it so we do not understand that point.
About your Checkin, our standard checkin time is 2 pm, we try hard to clean the apartment IF the former guests leave before checkout time 11 am. We make a real cleaning and sanitation of all rooms (your apartment has 70m2) and needs beetween 2 or 3 hours
We offered you full asistance in our bar restaurant that you told me you like very much specially
a bottle of catalan champagne you got for free in our welcoming
We understand that some details were not totally at your convenience and sorry if any member of our staff was not sufficiently hospitable and perhaps mistook you with some information
We hope you may come again and improve your experience in Gaudis nest
Artur Lopez
Owner and director manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Nice, clean apartment with a great view of the awe-inspiring Sagrada Familia. Not much in the way of restaurants and night life in the immediate vicinity, but the location is good thanks to Barcelona's excellent metro system (Gaudi's Nest is very close to 2 metro stations). Unfortunately our stay was marred by communication issues. We stayed for 5 nights at the end of March - had originally booked 6 nights but changed plans and so cancelled our final night a couple of days before our arrival (8 days before the night in question). Cancellation policy on the website made no reference to penalty for cancelling part of the stay, and the owner mentioned nothing in the confirmation email. So we were disappointed to arrive after a long trip from Australia, and be informed that we would be charged for a sixth night, even though we would not be staying. If I had been informed at the time of cancellation, I would not have booked flight to Seville and stayed in Barcelona for the extra night (rather than pay for a night unnecessarily). We were quite upset and management eventually waived the extra night. However, although we intended to make our own way back to the airport by train, we were encouraged by the owner to use their shuttle service (at a reduced rate that was about the same as a taxi) - we agreed to do this to appease the management and make up some of the cost of the night we cancelled. Unfortunately this was a disaster, as there was a massive traffic jam on the way to the airport and we nearly missed our flight - would have been far better off on the train or in a taxi (that would have been able to use the express lane).

We stayed in many other equivalent apartments during our trip to Spain, and had no such issues - all were clean, well-located, well-equipped and offered warm welcomes and great personal service. Gaudi's Nest was a bit more basic by comparison, as the other apartments we stayed in offered more extra touches such as sugar, toilet paper and laundry detergent. We stayed in apartments (not hotels) in Seville and Granada that also provided basic daily servicing of rooms.

We chose to stay at Gaudi's Nest because of the positive TA reviews - and while the apartment was as expected, advice to future travellers would be to check terms and conditions if you make any changes at all and get email confirmation....so there are no nasty surprises. Despite this experience, we enjoyed Barcelona and returned for our final night in Spain - had a great stay in the Gothic Quarter for about the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
281 reviews
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
#93 of 515 in Barcelona
1,293 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,033 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
1,768 reviews
Sensation Sagrada Familia
#11 of 735 in Barcelona
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaudi's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaudi's Nest

Address: 273 carrer Lepant, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $165 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gaudi's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudi's Nest Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing