We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tapeo

Tapeo
Reserve with
Tapeo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ate Saturday night - taken there by a local - lovely veggie tapas (Aubergine lime and honey my fav) and excellent house rioja (3eur per glass). Only criticism - It was a cold night and each time the door opened the temperature seemed to go down 5C - no door heater. Will go next trip when temp not an issue!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marisco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,495
    569
    148
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you want to experience tapas done properly, this is the place. The ribs are sensational. It is almost as if everything that they do is a speciality. Don't miss it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This a tiny place, but the food is grand. If the comfort of the place was improved to Michelin standards instead of very uncomfortable high chairs, in a fast-food joint decor, they would deserve one star. But then, they would probably have to raise their prices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lafayettenousvoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unlike any tapas I have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great tapas bar to go to. The food is absolutely delicious! The best tapas I have tried. The beef and mushroom cannelloni was to die for, as well as the potato ball (bomb) and stuffed squid. You can also watch your food being cooked. Great atmosphere. Very attentive staff. Enjoyed a meal for two with drinks for €55. YUM

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eloboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This is THE Tapas Bar to go to in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

All you need to know: if you're picking one Tapas restaurant in Barcelona, THIS IS IT.

If you're like me and my friends in that you like to eat-your-way around a city, you'll probably be keen to make sure that you get the BEST that a city has to offer. In Barcelona, you just can't go past Tapeo, anem de Tapes.

A friend suggested Tapeo and after reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor I was convinced. When we arrived at 7pm the place was closed, but thankfully just because most locals don't eat until much later. We returned at around 8.30pm and the place was packed, but luckily it was only a short wait before we were seated at the bar. It's a small restaurant, but really nicely set out, and it was great fun to be seated up at the bar.

They have a permanent menu as well as many specials on the blackboard. The (very busy) wait stuff were very prompt and eager to please, happy to translate and provide recommendations where required (a service we certainly didn't get elsewhere in Barcelona). And now the food - honestly, I don't know where to start. It was A M A Z I N G. We congratulated ourselves on how well we ordered, but really I think you couldn't go wrong. Highlights were:

- Wild mushroom and beef Spanish style cannelloni
- Honeyed pork ribs so tender the meat fell off the bone
- Patatas Bravas (a typical Spanish dish but done the best of anywhere I've ever had it).
- Sweet marinated muscles that simply melted in the mouth.

Plus much, much more.

If you can manage it, try to leave some room for dessert as, OH MY GOD, it was just so, so good. My friend ordered the "bread pudding" which sounded boring but was like sweet, dense french toast, but 100 times better. I ordered a chocolate cream dessert which was served with extra virgin olive oil and salt - sounds bizarre but it was one of the best desserts I've ever had. Even with these two desserts, our third dining companion felt like he'd "won" the dessert order with his Catalan Cream dessert, which is usually served like a cream brûlée but instead was served free standing with gently burned sugar over the top.

Food aside, there was an extensive wine and Sangria selection, and the waiting staff (despite being run off their feet) were only too happy to help you choose. You can watch the chefs in the restaurant preparing the food, and the sangria is mixed with great care in front of you. Win, win, win.

We ate like absolute kings and stuffed ourselves silly, and with a couple of bottles of wine, sangria, tapas, dessert, the whole bill (including tip) was about €130 for three of us. That is pretty good for what I felt was the best food I have had for a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MARSonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapeo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tapeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing