We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscco

Mariscco
Reserve with
Mariscco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #653 of 8,532 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Situated in the heart of the Eixample district, mariscco offers the best quality to price ratio in the city. Mediterranean cuisine with fresh top quality products, from which the client can select the fresh fish and seafood they wish, and we will grill it or prepare it Andalucia style; one pays according to the weight of the product and we serve this at the table.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Set on a large plaza and provided good service. Food was good but not outstanding - price very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    224
    67
    33
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tourist trap but not bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This restaurant is in Placa Reial which is without doubt a tourist trap and the restaurants all fairly generic - the food and service does not have to be amazing as they are not out for repeat business.

We went for the Lobster paella as it is something we would not have an opportunity to have at home.It was 18 euros per person and came out with all the tools to pull the lobster apart which was good fun. The paella was tasty but it was bordering on being a risotto. My boyfriend had profiteroles for desert which were fresh and tasty, the wine was reasonably priced. All in all it was an OK meal, at the standard I would expect for this type of restaurant in this type of setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I ate here on a weekend away trip to Barcelona.
The square this hotel is situated in is lovely, quite rowdy when the time reaches midnight but the restaurants all look stunning with their fire heaters etc...
This one was the best out of all of them.
We had the Langoustine Paella and I have to admit, it was the best paella I've ever had.
We had lots of instruments brought to our table to get the meat out of the seafood, which we thought looked like we were about to perform an operation but it all added to the experience.
I had the chocolate fondant for dessert and my partner had the Chocolate Tarte which were both lovely.
The service kind of left something to be desired, but it was far from the worst we recieved while staying in Barcelona.
If I were to visit the city again, I would come here. And I have also recommended it to friends who are travelling there soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank browneyedowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“mediocre seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

More of a canteen, than a restaurant. Plastic tables and chairs, not romantic at all. Choice of seafood average for Barcelona. Wine list rather limited. Langoustines were tasteless, fish was overcooked. Salad was not impressive. Service was slow. Overall very average experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
459 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Looks promising but service is bad and food average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We wanted to eat seafood. We chose this restaurant on this website and were very happy when we entered as it looked really good. The lady at the entrance was very professional and helpful. Once we had chosen our food we went to sit in the restaurant. My 12 oysters were produced and 2 of them looked really bad, I mean it did look like it had fallen on the floor when it was opened or messed up by the knife.(see picture attached). I asked the waitress to change them but the Chef refused. I found the reaction unprofessional especially that we had also ordered fish and wine for a table of 3. The food was really average. Napkins are paper napkins which is also not good. The waiters were young people with no experience and service was awful. Overall it was a poor experience. I will not go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscco also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mariscco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing