We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Golf
Ranked #255 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Frustrating Experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked at the Catalonia Golf hotel because of its location – it is walking distance to a lot of great areas of Barcelona. Upon arriving we were told they had a problem with the lights in the hotel, so we were moved to another Catalonia hotel - the Catalonia Mikado. The location is terrible and the hotel is not very nice (rooms not cleaned well, bad beds, AC did not work). We got charged the same amount for a room in the poorly located hotel. To get anywhere was a costly taxi ride. We were very excited to check out. Poor experience – I would not recommend Catalonia hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear BJMegan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your experience at barcelona.
We would like to thank you once again and hope that in your next visit we can exceed all your expectations. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    182
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
61
151
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birr, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is lovely hotel with 5 star staff. I dread checking into hotels at night time because you are usually faced with Mr. Gumpy who would rather be at home in bed. But not at this hotel. Rafel was very friendly and welcoming and any of the staff we spoke to were most helpful. The room was lovely and very clean. The location is good in a quiet area. It is a 5-10 minute walk to Diagonal Metro. There are restaurants and bars nearby and also a lovely bakery. There is also a Caprabo supermarket right next door to the hotel. For those of you heading to the Nou Camp the hotel is a half an hour walk from it. You can also get the tram from Plaça Francesc Macià at the end of Travessera de Gracia to Maria Christina. It is possible to walk from the hotel to Las Ramblas, which is a nice stroll if you go via Rambla de Catalunya. We did not try the restaurant so I can't comment on that. My only whinge about this hotel is it does not have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I came back to the hotel room longing for a cup of coffee but alas there was none to be had!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmerDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Saeid

Dear Saeid,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,
Sofía Palomera (Directora)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I only paid 58€ for my wife and I, the front desk person with excellent attitude, the room was very clean, the had free wifi and the bed was ok. The location also very good, in resume I think the best hotel in the zone considering the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Xelaviv,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. With yours comments you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.



Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel very close to transportation (bus, taxis and metro). It was very clean and comfortable for anybody. Excellent for business, couples, families, friends or solo traveler. McDonald's and other restaurants are nearby.

Sadly, its very expensive and hotel will mess up the billing if you are not aware of the price per day plus tax. I recommend you check the invoice.

Hotel staff have a good command of english.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is very well located with a couple of transport facilities around (buses and metro). You will not stay in the center of the city and it may take you a little over one hour to reach Placa Catalunya by foot, but you will be there in no time with the bus. And also you may visit some of the Gaudi's work and other Barcelona attractions on the way.

The room was clean and tidy, decent size (no space for a party, but enough to move around) with good facilities. If you are very sensible you may not love it so much as the walls are made of drywall, thus enabling you to hear the noisy neighbors or loud tourists on the hallway. We had no problem sleeping at night (haven't tried taking a nap mid-day), no noise, the bed was not too hard-not too soft, the tiny light fascicle coming from below the door was no problem for us (you have to look at it to observe it), the windows were noise-proof enough.

Also, there were some good restaurants and breakfast options available around - the 8euro breakfast they offered seemed to expensive for us, as with these money we ate both in El Fornet next door. Though, if you look for ham&eggs or similar may be a good option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piticutzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Piticutzi,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

we value your feedback and with your comments you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was really clean and comfortable hotel for all tourist.i came back to the hotel very late because of visiting the all nice places and walking on the streets.and when i arrived to the hotel i was very tired and need to have good sleep.so the condition for have gppd and relax aeleep was ok

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saeid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Saeid,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm agree with you because Barcelona is a nice city with a lot of beautiful places. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed there three days before our cruise, and had a chance to visit Montserrat and tour Barcelona. We got the bus from the Airport to the City Center, it was only about 7 euro each, and then got a cab to the hotel, about 20 euro.(they charge by meter and per bag) We baught a T-10 (10 trip pass) at a newspaper stall just up the road from the hotel , we travelled to the City Center to get all our tour busses. It was hard getting a hot breakfast anywhere, all the shops had sweet pasteries, even MacDonalds didn't have an egg macmuffan untill 11:30 am. you couldn't get dinner until 8:30pm the restraunts don't open till then. We baught our wine in the grocery store next door, and got two bottles for 4 euro. (we're not fussy as long as it's red).

We found the hotel clean and tidy, the only complaint was that the bed was a bit hard, but it wouldn't stop us from staying there again.

Room Tip: The rooms further from the breakfast room are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Skipper,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations about the bed but this is a very difficult topic because some guests like better, hard bed and other guests like better soft bed so it is very difficult for us to solve it. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#171 of 513 in Barcelona
1,256 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#319 of 513 in Barcelona
524 reviews
Eixample
HCC Open Hotel
HCC Open Hotel
#321 of 513 in Barcelona
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
Hotel Balmoral
#177 of 513 in Barcelona
623 reviews
Hotel Via Augusta
#182 of 513 in Barcelona
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Golf

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Golf
Address: Travessera de Gracia 72, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Barcelona Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Barcelona Golf, located in the commercial area of the city and just a few steps away from the Gracia neighborhood, offers a golf court and 36 fully equipped rooms for your stay in Barcelona to be perfect. In the hotel, which also has free Wi-Fi connection, you will be able to enjoy its terrace and its chill-out area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Barcelona Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing