We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Golf
Ranked #261 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a fair at the fira Gran Via. It is is a lively yet nice neighbourhood. Not the mass tourist area where the average package holiday people get robbed and served crap food and expensive beers (yes, you guessed it: La Rambla). Lots of good bars and restaurants (that's why this hotel doesn't need any) and 'better' shops. approx €12 to get to the Fira Gran Via - when you return the cab driver has the right to charge € 2.5 extra.
The hotel is up to the level one expects as a business traveller: good spacious room, very adequate and clean bathroom, free wifi, and a mini bar with soft drinks and a few beers.
I am thinking of coming back here soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickKortrijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Patrikko,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. With your comments you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    187
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
65
153
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 2 nights. The reception staff were very helpful and if you have a car worth asking for directions to the cheapest car park as saved over €40. Rooms nice and comfortable.. Quiet away from the road. Strange that the bar was not open much and not at all over the weekend. Breakfast adequate if you like pastries, cereal and toast. Cleaning staff lovely and helpful. Would stay again if visiting Barcelona but feel that after 2 nights all the sights have been seen and all the shops visited. Which city to visit next??? :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimstu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Kimstu,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of August and it ticked all the boxes for me: in a quieter part of Barcelona but with very good transport links: a bus stop just around the corner with frequent connections to the main squares, or a 13 minute walk along the tree-lined Avenida Diagonal to the nearest Metro station (Diagonal). The reception staff told me it takes about 40 minutes to walk to the Ramblas but I never did the walk, using public transport instead to get into the city centre. Although our room overlooked the street, the very efficient double glazing kept out all the noise and the air-con was very efficient. The beds were comfortable with nice crisp linen. The room and bathroom are a bit dated but, more importantly, they were clean. There were no problems with intermittent hot water and the shower was powerful, as was the bathroom hairdryer. Toileteries were replenished every day. We got breakfast included in our booking (with Octopus travel) and it was quite an extensive continental breakfast: 3 cereals, fresh bread rolls, various croissants, cheeses, ham, fresh tomatoes, toast, fruit salad (tinned unfortunately), apples, oranges, various cakes. The staff on reception were friendly and gave some very helpful advice about the easiest way to get to various sites. You can store valuables etc in your own safety deposit box near reception for free: they give you the key to your own box which is within a locked safe only accessible by the reception staff (but reception is manned 24/7 so that's not a problem). There's a very well stocked supermarket next door. It's not a luxury hotel but it's clean and comfortable and in a quiet area, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
If you plan to use public transport, get a copy of the map showing all the bus routes (and this shows the metro stations too). The bus fare is 2 euros each for a single journey anywhere regardless of distance travelled: 'simples' ! (or a several day pass may be available and cheaper: I didn't check this out so am not sure about this: tourist info would be able to tell you) I got my copy of the bus map from the tourist info desk on arrival at the airport. It's a much cheaper way to get into the city than the airport bus too. The number 46 takes you from outside arrivals to Placa Espanya, from where you can get the metro to wherever else you need to get to. The public buses are all air conditioned. If you plan to use the metro, buy a book of tickets from the machine at any metro station, as this works out cheaper than paying for single fares.
Be observant if you plan to go for a swim on the city beach: there were considerable 'unmentionables' floating around on the stretch of water we unfortunately chose so we came out again pronto ! It might have been cleaner further up the beach so check out the sea for rubbish before you pay for your sunbed and parasol !

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and, although the room overlooked the street, the double glazing kept out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Infofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA P, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Golf, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear ,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.



Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Sofía Palomera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

im very demanding when it comes to hotel but i loved staying at this hotel, definitely recommend it and would check in again. the room was spacious, as was the bathroom, tasty breakfast, a lot of different food to choose from, the only thing i missed there were my slippers, because the floor can be quite cold (i was there in february, i don't like keeping my shoes on inside, so walking around in my socks made my feet freeze). the hotel was a short walk away from two subway stations, and the road there was very nice, a quiet area, restaurants around and there was a supermarket next to the hotel. very nice staff, very nice coffee and tea machine on the hallway... great experience overall!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Clean, compact hotel (all the rooms are on one floor) 5-10 mins walk from Passeig de Gracia/La Pedrera/Diagonal Metro Station. Hotel is in a nice neighbourhood with plenty of restaurants on doorstep - check out the nearby Rambla de Catalunya (not Las Ramblas) - a tree lined street with many open air restaurants and shops.
I asked for a quiet room - I had booked a room with a double bed and was given a room fairly near the breakfast room/terrace, as the receptionist said all the rooms with double beds were in this part of the hotel. However, I did not hear any noise at all. There are also a few rooms with double beds directly behind the breakfast room - so may be worth asking to avoid these if you want a quiet room. A/C was good. Bed was comfortable. TV had only one channel in English. Room was small and fairly basic but was clean and had everything I needed - so for the price and location it was good value.
Breakfast was a continental buffet which finished at 11am and was replenished constantly - cereal, bread, rolls, croissants, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt etc. The only negative being there was not much fruit - only oranges and apples - and the coffee machine did not make great coffee!
You can walk pretty much everywhere from the hotel - the city centre is compact and easy to navigate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 963Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#170 of 512 in Barcelona
1,265 reviews
Hotel Balmoral
#161 of 512 in Barcelona
650 reviews
Hotel Zenit Barcelona
#292 of 512 in Barcelona
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC Open Hotel
HCC Open Hotel
#318 of 512 in Barcelona
474 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#198 of 512 in Barcelona
524 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Aranea
Hotel Aranea
#236 of 512 in Barcelona
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Golf

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Golf
Address: Travessera de Gracia 72, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Barcelona Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Barcelona Golf, located in the commercial area of the city and just a few steps away from the Gracia neighborhood, offers a golf court and 36 fully equipped rooms for your stay in Barcelona to be perfect. In the hotel, which also has free Wi-Fi connection, you will be able to enjoy its terrace and its chill-out area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Barcelona Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing