We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than fancy hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CasaNova Guest House
Ranked #173 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than fancy hotels”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I added some photos so you can see how it looks in reality. Everything is the same as in the photos provided by management. Though I didn't live in the room with painted wall designs like those on some pictures.
The guesthouse is situated on the 2nd floor (they say that it is on the 1st floor, don't believe, you should walk up the stairs) and there is no entrance, you should use the door speakerphone (press the button near the plate B&B).

So there are lot of advantages of this guest house:
+ you can prepare breakfast by yourself on the kitchen (for example, bread with jam and cheese)
+ you can drink tea like a cultured person, which is very good in comparison with other horrible countries in Europe that drink only coffee.
+ free and fast Wi-Fi
+ good desing of rooms, doors and tables look good like they should be, and not like cheap stuff from ikea
+ you can go to Sagrada Familia or Plaça de Catalunya on foot, no need to use buses or subway

Though there were some shortcomings like absence of painted wall desings in my room and view from my room on a strange Ecuador office, but this guest house is definitely better and less expensive than 2 and 3 star hotels in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vortexwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBB-Casanova, Propietario at CasaNova Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for take the time to write a review. For us and for the future guests are very important the reviews.

For us is important, because we love what we do... and it's necessary to check with our guests if we're doing a good work or not, and learn from you and your travel experience (and from all the guests also).

We hope to be your host next time that you visit Barcelona.
Regards,
The BBB - Casanova team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The place is close to the metro station (5 min), there is a bus station right in front of the entrance.
At about 5 min away of walking you can take the one of the buses that makes the tour of the city.
Is is very clean and beautiful and the hostess was very polite and tell us usefull information about the city.
It is a place where you want to return .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are not fussy travelers, we really only need a clean, inexpensive place to stay. Cassanova filled the bill perfectly! Our hostess was extremely helpful and accommodating, a good range of options for breakfast, basic, but nutritional and filling. Well located in the city (near the Metro), making getting around a breeze. We were there Oct 15th, 16th & 17th 2012, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondJim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Some B&B's make you feel like you're a guest of the family: they check in on you multiple times a day, they serve you breakfast, you share the bathroom with hosts ...

BBB Casanova Guest House is not one of those B&Bs. What you get is a private room with a lock, air-conditioning, and really clean shared spaces.

There are 5 rooms, for a total capacity of 9 guests. 4 rooms are arranged along the hallway to the shared bathrooms and kitchen, and the fifth leads directly off of the breakfast/living room. Each room is individually locked and has air-conditioning. The rooms are separated by french doors, however, which are not ideal for keeping out sound and light; I'm an extremely light sleeper and occasionally needed to use my earplugs to deal with folks wandering the hall.

The shared spaces are definitely the highlight for this B&B: the 2 shared bathrooms are pretty amazing when you consider that 9 people are sharing them; I wondered at times whether they were getting cleaned twice a day! And the living room has a cute sitting nook for watching the street or relaxing with a book. It's also, incidentally, where the wifi antenna is located; I didn't have any problems with getting signal from my room.

Breakfast is your standard self-serve "continental" breakfast: cereal/muesli, yogurt, juice, coffee, bread, etc. One highlight is that self-serve means it's available at 4 AM when if your appetite arrives with jetlag.

Booking and checkin was pretty easy; Annereik (spelling?) lives onsite, but I only saw her once, during checkin. She hung around for an extra hour when we got lost getting to the B&B, and still took the time to give us a map and an introduction to the city.

One last thing to note: its location. Although it *is* only 1 block away from Avinguda Diagonal, that's not really super helpful for seeing the city: what really matters is being close to the subway. Unfortunately, BBB Casanova Guest House is located about 6 minutes away from the closest stop (Hospital Clinic), which isn't on the most convenient subway line. To save yourself some transfers, you really want to walk to the next closest (Diagonal), which is more like a 15 minute walk away. Of course, by the time you walk out to the next stop, you're already in the midst of Gaudi buildings ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zombie_shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
1,880 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#171 of 513 in Barcelona
1,256 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Jardinets Guest House
Jardinets Guest House
#150 of 723 in Barcelona
152 reviews
Eixample
Casa Maca Guest House
Casa Maca Guest House
#127 of 308 in Barcelona
274 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#32 of 308 in Barcelona
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaNova Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaNova Guest House

Property: CasaNova Guest House
Address: Bruc street, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Barcelonese district of Eixample, at 100 meters from the impressive Diagonal Avenue, you will find CasaNova Guest House. Our house has been specially designed to offer a polite and cozy spaces at our guests. The first impression of most of our guests is how well located is our Guest House: Right next to one of the streets that crosses the whole city (Diagonal Avenue) and surrounded by all the touristic points. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
CasaNova Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing