We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff!”
Review of Hotel Acta Mimic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Acta Mimic
Ranked #206 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is nearby the Ramblas, but far away enough from same Ramblas to be quiet during the evening.
Rooms are designed nicely, airco and shower are good too!
Staff is willing to assist in all kinds of things. Roof terrace is nice, although a bit noisy (music from speakers on roof).

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetjepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 2,758 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

My best friend and I stayed at the Acta Mimic Hotel during a visit to Barcelona in the beginning of June this year.

Positive sides:
- Location. You are a short walk away from several central areas (La Rambla, Placa Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral +++), and there is a metro station just up the street (Paral-lel) if you are taking longer trips or don't feel like walking one day. At the same time, it is situated far enough from the large tourist crowds in a quiet little street with some supermarkets, so it gives you a nice and easy beginning and end to an otherwise busy day.
- Staff. The people who work at the hotel are very friendly. The receptionists always gave us a smile and proper greeting when we arrived of left, helped us with directions, provided us with everything we asked for. They really made us feel welcome! The same goes for the breakfast workers who made sure to meet us nicely in the morning, and housekeeping who said hello every time we passed them.
-Breakfast. We initially decided not to get breakfast, but after the first day where we struggled to find a proper place to eat a good first meal, we changed our minds. We then got a discount paying slightly less for all of the days. The breakfast is nice with a large variety of options. There is different kinds of bread which you can toast, cheese, cold cuts, eggs (boiled and scrambled), bacon, sausage, yoghurt, cereal, fruit (fresh and dry) and all kinds of drinks (milk, tea, coffee, juice, water). Our one complaint would be that they served the same things everyday. There was never any change in the menu, which would be nice.
-Cleanliness. The hotel was very clean and this includes everything from the reception to guest rooms. Our room was always properly organized and cleaned, and the bed which is perhaps the most important thing smelled and looked nice and fresh from day one. Thumbs up to housekeeping!
Amenities such as wifi (worked great during the entire stay), air condition, tv, hair dryer. We missed a small fridge and water boiler.

Negative sides:
- Rooms (We stayed in a standard room). Unfortunately our room had many flaws. It is very small for two people, as there was hardly any free space to move around which made it feel a little crammed. It would have been much nicer to spend time on the room if we has a little more space. The only place where the both of us could actually sit down together was on the bed. There are very few surfaces on which you can place your things, we counted only two little shelves and one small table which barely fit into a corner. In addition to this, there is no proper closet where you can store your things. We had to use our large suitcase. What really bothered us was the bathroom situation. The toilet is in one part of the room with a proper door. However, the shower and sink are on the other side of the room with only a curtain separating it from the rest of the rest. The whole room filled up with steam when one of us took a shower, and we had to go to the shower part/sink-part of the room every time we used the bathroom. All in all, we felt that the room was extremely impractical. We managed because we were there for a short period of time and too preoccupied with seeing the city to care, but staying there for a longer time would have made these weaknesses quite annoying.
- Elevator. This may seem like a silly thing to complain about, but the elevator was incredibly slow. For most of the days we opted for the stairs as they were much faster. The elevator could seriously take up until several minutes before it reached our floor, during which we could hear it going up and down but never stopping at our floor. Maybe there was something wrong with it when we visited.

Our overall impression of the hotel is that it is a great place to stay if you are going to Barcelona for a short vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandsohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice hotel, nice location, breakfast could be more diverse, helpful staff, clean but small rooms, beautiful roof terrace, modern interoir, clean, beautiful breakfast area outside, very helpful staff at the reception concerning tourist Information

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinaseidokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Service was perfect and the breakfast delicious, the room was small but very tastefully decorated and clean. In a few minutes you are at the next metro station, on the las rambla and the port. perfect location for excursions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff at this hotel are extremely polite & helpful. Customer service is high up on my list of importance and the staff here deliver. Even the the night shift team would ask us how our evening had been and where we had visited. Rooms are not the biggest but adequate and have a really comfy bed which if your like me out all day exploring a great city is perfect. The location is perfect for reaching La Ramblas and key areas. My only slight negative was the sink not being near the toilet and the strange addition of circles cut out of the frosted glass making you worried the residents opposite can see you shower. Yes this hotel is not 5 stars in standard but considering what we paid was ideal. Other reviewers have mentioned the area as not being the best and I agree there is signs of roughness and the pavements are not always the cleanest but the local Spanish authority are constantly tidying and not once did I feel unsafe. I can't name a city in the world that doesn't have its rough edges and for every tourist spot there is the realism of life

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chef-Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel has a gr8 location, with in 15 mins walk from many tourist sites and 5 mins from metro station. The staff is awesome and very helpful and kind. The breakfast is excellent as well. However the rooms are tiny and there is no clothes closet, only 1 small pole to hang the clothes.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Assaf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Breakfast was very good, including various types of breads and a variety of fruits .The staff in the hotel are welcoming and very friendly and effective. The hotel has a very good location near main tourist streets in Barcelona

Room Tip: Rooms that are in the side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#180 of 516 in Barcelona
1,110 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#163 of 516 in Barcelona
656 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#191 of 516 in Barcelona
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#118 of 516 in Barcelona
1,958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#223 of 516 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Mimic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Mimic

Address: Calle Arc del Teatre, 58, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $49 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acta Mimic 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acta Mimic is a centrally located 3 * hotel in Barcelona, located in Ciutat Vella, in the building that housed the old Teatro Colon. It is an innovative design hotel, where it unifies the living room and the bathroom area in one space, avoiding the division of the room in classic compartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Acta Mimic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acta Mimic Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing