We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Charged by 315.34 Euros and although acknowledged still no refund”
Review of Acta Mimic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acta Mimic Hotel
Ranked #212 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over Charged by 315.34 Euros and although acknowledged still no refund”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the Mimic hotel on a business trip when attending the Mobile World Congress. I had reserved my room (and my colleagues) through the MWC Website with a deposit payment. The remaining amount was to be settled at the end of our stay.

When I checked out I settled my bill and did not immediately see the over charging of 315.34 Euros due to the way that the deposits were charged and the variable dates of bookings of different rooms I had booked for my team.

On my return to the UK I noticed the oversight and contacted the Mimic Hotel to make them aware of the overcharge by telephone call, followed by email. Initially they didn't responded to email and I had to chase them by phone and email again.

Eventually they responded admitting the overcharge but saying that they were having problems refunding it directly to my credit card and asked for Bank details to conduct a transfer. I gave them the details of the company as I had already been reimbursed all my expenses and so needed it to go directly to the company account. After a number of reminders by email and phone, it has been over 2 months of requesting a refund for a overcharge that they have agreed was their fault but they still have not made the payment and continue to either delay responses to emails or reply with excuses when i phone them directly.

I have now reported them to the credit card company.

Please be aware of this company, their lack of professional services is costly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAJRCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    1,208
    420
    105
    83
See reviews for
281
1,408
88
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is in a great location - close to La Rambla, the harbour front, Rambla del Raval, the funicular to Montjiuc, and Paral-lel metro station - though some of the neighbouring side streets and the view from our bedroom window looked a little sketchy (no issues though).

Accessibility was fine throughout for my wheelchair and locally, many of the main metro/subway stations had lifts/elevators. The hotel has a nice little rooftop terrace with drinks (beer, sangria and vermouth on tap), food, lounge chairs and music. Our room had a large floor-to-ceiling window that allowed natural light to fill the room; the bathroom was a large glass enclosure with no curtain to separate the shower from the toilet and sink (grab bars and a fold-down bench for the shower were provided).

Staff were friendly and helpful - the room was clean and towels were changed regardless of whether or not you hung them up for re-use. No complaints at all and would easily stay there again...even though the large picture of the mime on the 5th floor (which greets you when you step off the elevator) did freak me out. ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The key to your enjoyment of this hotel is managing your expectations. It is not a super funky 5 star modern creation, but it is a well located cool 3 star in a good location. It's website is a little more appealing than the reality in only about 20% of the images. The decor is quite industrial and the rooms are small but will look great as you open the door. Unfortunately it will be you that makes them look less appealing as you dump a suitcase and the rest of your stuff in the limited space available. They are basic and open plan with the shower and sink in the main room, the loo is set aside for privacy. The surrounding buildings are quite run down, so most of the windows are obscured by frosting. Upside is location and price, downside is that the walls are quite thin and noise can be heard ( in some locations ) from adjoining rooms. So considering that Barcelona can be very expensive this just might be the perfect hotel for a budget conscious one night traveller.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Acta Mimic is in a great location, just 5 minutes walk from Las Ramblas but the street itself is very quiet. The room was not the biggest but had everything we needed, and the unusual layout actually worked well and made it feel more spacious. Everything was clean and sheets/ towels could be changed daily if you wished.

The breakfast was great value - continental and cooked options with lots of choice served downstairs in a trendy restaurant/bar.

There is an attractive roof terrace serving paella (yummy!) and pizza (a bit dry!) along with reasonable priced drinks.

The staff made a real effort to be helpful and friendly and made us very welcome.

Overall, a great find - if I had a recommendation, it would have been great to have tea/coffee facilities in the room (but not many Spanish hotels do this I know..) .

Would definitely stay here again on another trip and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens,New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel with its helpful and polite staff is small, off the main road but two blocks from the metro is quiet, clean and affordable. Rooms are small with no available windows but one wall is glass. Bathroom, better yet shower area is separated by a curtain and toilet only is in a separate black room with a door. Beds are comfortable, Wi-Fi free in room and flarscreen tv with severely limited stations are available. Sufficient closet space however no washcloth are available at this hotel, bath and handtowels only. Real bummer! Hotel provides free WiFi and has their own lower lounge and bar, which provides meals three times a day, pay in advance for a great price or a la carte. Staff is pleasant, restaurant clean or if you choose eat outside. Toiletries are very sparse, but if you catch housekeeping they'll oblige. Hallways are dark, black walls and commercial grey blend Berber carpet, doesn't appear spoiled but with all this black paint going on who could tell. Great location to the pier. Different, worth the discount price. If you have an open mind stay a day or two, like I said its different.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank virgosrule65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Chose this hotel through an agent. Not a good idea if you normally like doing your own thing. The web photos are more appealing that the actual findings when you get there. On the plus side, its very close to La Rambla and Drassanes & Paral-lel Metro without the noise and bustle. There are perhaps bigger rooms (and beds) so make sure you go for a proper double room size. Ours was like a postage stamp and very poorly laid out. The toilet at one end and the sink at the other. If you like a fresh air drink, the roof top area is lovely. A G&T will set you back €15. Didn't experience that anywhere else in BCN. Even busy bars in La Rambla were half that price. Main message.................., you can get better for less. Don't feel you need to be close to La Rambla. The Metro is great and with multiple trip ticket its cheap to get around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimhatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acta Mimic Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We regret to know that your expectations weren't satisfied during your stay.

First of all, we greatly apologize that the room size didn't please you, if the guest ask for a room change, whenever possible, we will change it, because our main aim is that all our customers are satisfied and have a pleasant stay with us. But, as you can see on our website, Hotel Acta Mimic has an innovative design; we understand that is not liked by all our customers.

In reference to the location, Acta Mimic Hotel is located in the city center just minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya. We are strategically located, which makes us the perfect hotel to start off the adventure in the city. As we are located in the city center, prices tend to be higher, but this may also be found in any establishment around the area. Moreover, as you mentioned in your comment, it’s always better to drink a cocktail calmly in a beautiful rooftop in the city center of Barcelona.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Acta Mimic, Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed for one night at Hotel Acta Mimic. Housed inside a former theatre, the set-up is fun and quirky. The newly built rooftop terrace is a particular highlight with modern style loungers, chairs, tables, downtempo chill-out muic and a bar - it's perfect for catching some sunshine earlier in the morning when it's still and peaceful, or for drinking and chatting away in the evening. There's also an impressive lounge area on the lower floor with huge, comfortable sofas, large televisions, internet access, another bar and central roofless seating area with tables and chairs beneath large red parasols. The facilities overall were faultless.

As for the room itself, we stayed in one of the smaller rooms due to the higher room rates everywhere in Barcelona because of May bank holiday. As a couple we found the intimacy of the smaller room and in-room shower quite charming, but if we had intended to stay for a longer period of time, we'd want a larger room (and would possibly choose a different hotel because there are no opening windows or balconies, although excellent air con is provided).

Location-wise, the hotel is near to La Ramblas, and virtually opposite there's a pretty good little supermarket. Only a few hundred yards up the street "Paral.lel" (just around the corner, to the right) there's also a fantastic cafe and bakery specialising in artisan breads called 365. It's not at all expensive and is a great place to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrichor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#172 of 512 in Barcelona
604 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#286 of 512 in Barcelona
1,525 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#174 of 512 in Barcelona
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#196 of 512 in Barcelona
770 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 512 in Barcelona
1,639 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#195 of 512 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acta Mimic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acta Mimic Hotel

Property: Acta Mimic Hotel
Address: C/ Arc del Teatre 58 | Calle Arc del Teatre, 58, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Acta Mimic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acta Mimic is a centrally located 3 * hotel in Barcelona, located in Ciutat Vella, in the building that housed the old Teatro Colon. It is an innovative design hotel, where it unifies the living room and the bathroom area in one space, avoiding the division of the room in classic compartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acta Mimic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Mimic Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing