We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish food and service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moka Restaurant Cafeteria

Moka Restaurant Cafeteria
Ranked #3,119 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: La Rambla
Description: Restaurant with mediterranean cuisine in the city center.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
642 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Rubbish food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place looks half decent from the outside, but AVOID!

I ordered Spanish omelette – it arrive barely warm. When I asked for it to be heated, the surly waiter took it into the kitchen where they obviously wanted to teach me a lesson, because it was returned, 15 minutes later, super boiling hot, having been nuked-to-death in the microwave.

The staff were more interested in chatting up a couple of girls than serving customers.

Honestly, don’t bother with this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    127
    85
    58
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVOID!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the first Resturaunt we visited during our stay in Barcelona that we didn't check on trip advisor.

Huge mistake.

We did this on the basis that, the previous night we had a couple of beers out front while waiting for another reservation and the food both look and the smell was appealing.

We ordered small fried squid and grilled chicken breast with fries plus one beer, totalling 26 Euros.

I took about 2 bites of my squid and managed to feel ill for the rest if the night. My girlfriend's grilled chicken was bland, at best, and the fries weren't cooked.

This is the first time we have ever left our food. It was still hot as we left our seats.

The staff seemed uninterested with us.

The terrible thing is that this resteraunt has been around since 1936 (I think) and will continue to make money ripping off tourists due to it's excellent location.

Save your money. Go to mcdonalds and buy yourself something nice with the difference!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsSteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee and bacon and eggs.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Basic, quasi-industrial decor, metal topped tables and pictorial menu. Staff friendly and helpful (with one exception - a big man in black who grunted and virtually threw plates of food at the table). The food is simple and well cooked, and ideal for a quick breakfast. The only disappointment were the Churros which were hollow! Cheap and cheerful (with the exception of the 'big' man).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FujairahFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“avoid, poor service, crap food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

popped in here for quick cafe brunch, what a mistake. all male servers seemed disorganised and disinterested in customers, and obviously didnt listen. Ordered 2 egg ham fries, a pizza and ceasar salad with bread (1 portion to go with salad). drinks arrived with bread (1 small plate of bread!) followed by all meals except salad - no apology no explanation. The pizza was fine but ham egg chips very small portion of chips and rip off at 12.95 euro, same in London in pub 7.95£. After 10 mins we asked them to remove salad from the bill and my husband went to subway (shame we all didnt go to subway to begin with!!!!!) bill arrived for all food minus salad, plus tomato bread 6.60 euro!!!! when questioning the bill i was told my husband had requested bread for all and i had to pay, when i suggested he had made an error (confirmed by my husband) and assumed the portion was for 5 of us he told us we had to pay.

when i pointed out the service was dreadful, unfriendly and he was rude and disinterested he told me it was me who was rude!!!!!!! I believe you get what you pay for but in this case it was overpriced, small portions served by staff who are not interested, dont care about their customers and dont listen. When they are at fault they dont apologise just blame the customer! Maybe he needs retraining or is in the wrong job?

Go to subway next door or mcdonalds where the food/salad will be edible, or go to the other end of la rambla/port/barceloneta for better experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank condonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Cheap breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was so much cheaper than the hotel and the food was pretty good! All four of us ate for 15 euro the hotel was 13 euro each!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moka Restaurant Cafeteria also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Moka Restaurant Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing