We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

The Barcelona Taste
Ranked #9 of 171 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The city's first gastronomical tapas tour, The Barcelona Taste is about food. And lots of it! On this 2-3 hour food tour we stop in 3-4 small food establishments in either the famous Gothic or the lovely Gracia neighborhoods of Barcelona. Our venues range from high-quality specialty shops to home-style tapas restaurants, each one with its own scrumptious specialties for you to taste. A knowledgeable and very friendly guide will safely lead you through this labyrinth of a neighborhood, all the while sharing stories about Barcelona life, food, and history. You will enjoy all the cuisine, and, due to the small size of the group, you will also enjoy a more personal, relaxed experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We met our guide at Plaça de l'Àngel in the Gothic district which the tour focused on. She was very knowledgeable about the culture, foods and local customs. The group was mixed of couples and singles from all over the USA so our conversations flowed easily. I am highly allergic to crustaceans and emailed the company before hand. Jo our guide was prepared and able to still provide a wide variety of tapas for me without depriving the others of tasty shrimp dishes. There was a variety of beers and wines for everyone to try. I recommend wearing comfortable shoes the walking on old streets can make high heels tough and casual attire is fine. There are four stops the first a cheese and wine tasting, then a local pub for authentic tapas, then a restaurant that serves more Barcelona Home cooking and finally desert. If you drink wine ask your guide about trying a Perron it is a fun Spanish traditional activity and we did this at the third stop where the Perron are readily available. I also recommend doing this tour on your first night and it will enhance your eating experience throughout your visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    29
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful night of food and wine with friends”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had an amazing experience with Joe and Ramiro from the Barcelona Taste! We had 3 days in Barcelona pre-cruise and wanted to experience the delicious local food. The day we arrived following 12 hours in the air we met Joe and Ramiro in the Gothic Quarter and the adventure began. We never even thought of being totally sleep deprived. All of our reservation conversations occurred via email and what a positive experience. In person, Joe and Ramiro we just as wonderful. The two guys accommodated our group of 10 and the tapas bars we visited we treated us well. We thoroughly loved wandering the small streets off of the traditional tourist path. We trusted Joe as he ordered cheeses, seafood & meat tapas, and desserts and enjoyed each of the dishes presented to us. We tasted many wines, beer and amazing vermouth as a great first experience. Joe and Ramiro were willing to share recommendations for future meals and activities and both contributed to a wonderful, festive first night in Barcelona. We recommend this group without hesitation

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful night in Barcelona, great food, new friends”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a wonderful tour with Don - eating and drinking our way through Barcelona. We had an incredible experience. Don is wonderful. His knowledge of food and his attention to detail made our tapas experience a highlight of our time in Barcelona. We would highly recommend booking a tour with Barcelona Taste. We had an incredible experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cgroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly and tasty!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our tour guides were super friendly and knowledgeable about the foods we ate and the area of Barcelona we toured. They had great senses of humor and engaged us in jovial conversation. They brought us to places with a variety of foods for us to try. Even if you are a semi-picky eater (as I am), you could find something you liked in the array of tapas they shared. It was great to be able to try new things, but not having the pressure to finish a whole dish if it wasn't to your taste. As first timers in Barcelona, it was perfect for my husband and I to be able to feel more comfortable walking into the small tapas bars that we are unfamiliar with, being from the US. We had a great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this for one of our free evenings as we wanted to try a range of different tapas dishes and locations but were a bit scared! This experience was definitely the highlight of our trip and we would definitely go again. The guides were really friendly and relaxed ( perfect English ) and the whole evening was very enjoyable. We had a great range of foods in places that we would never have found by ourselves. After Jo recommended a great little bar where we spent an hour talking to the bartender And having a drink. If you like food or the idea of trying something new then definitely do this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMcC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barcelona Taste also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Barcelona Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing