We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun, delicious evening with The Barcelona Taste!!”

The Barcelona Taste
Ranked #8 of 171 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The city's first gastronomical tapas tour, The Barcelona Taste is about food. And lots of it! On this 2-3 hour food tour we stop in 3-4 small food establishments in either the famous Gothic or the lovely Gracia neighborhoods of Barcelona. Our venues range from high-quality specialty shops to home-style tapas restaurants, each one with its own scrumptious specialties for you to taste. A knowledgeable and very friendly guide will safely lead you through this labyrinth of a neighborhood, all the while sharing stories about Barcelona life, food, and history. You will enjoy all the cuisine, and, due to the small size of the group, you will also enjoy a more personal, relaxed experience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a fun, delicious evening with The Barcelona Taste!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friends and I signed up for the Barcelona Taste based on rave reviews on this site, and others. The reviews are spot-on, as we were delighted with the energy Jo and Ramiro shared with us. Good energy and delicious food, a warm Barcelona night, and new experiences.
We started at a cheese "cave" (more like a small cathedral honoring local cheeses) where we had 4 local cheeses and a glass of red wine, shared with the owner of the cheese shop. Turns out we knew folks in common in Philadelphia, making the time more intimate.
Second stop was a vermouth cafe. That's right. Vermouth. Not your grandfather's vermouth, this is the latest craze in Spain. Sweet vermouth with a shot of fizz makes for a fun drink. Not to overshadow the local tapas - anchovies, olives, peppers, meatballs, etc. Right when we were "getting comfortable", Jo moved us on the third destination.
Belmonte is a small, romantic restaurant where we dined on its second floor, getting to know the rest of the small group (8 invitees, plus 2 hosts). I totally loved the patatones and the roasted vegetables and grilled tomato bread. In fact, we all went back to this restaurant on our last night to experience it again.
Last stop was for cava and desserts - a large selection of delights.
All in all, this is the best place to start the Barcelona experience. and Jo will share with you her short list of excellent tapas restaurants (not touristy spots).
I highly recommend this tasting tour!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeannaJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    30
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food night!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a great foodie tour we had, starting with the most delicious cheese at a small shop on a tiny street and our first taste of fabulous wine. Throughout the tour, Jo and Ramiro peppered us with information that brought color and vitality to the tour. And they were fun and interesting people, who love Barcelona and everything local, who infuse the tour with their passion and interest. We went to two Tapas restaurants, where the food was beyond glorious and ended with a wonderful dessert tasting with some great accompanying wine. The time just flew, sadly. We would have loved to spend more time with Jo and Ramiro and taste more food, though I doubt we had any room left once the tour was over. We did get a repeat, managing to wend our way to one of the Tapas restaurants that we'd so enjoyed for our final Barcelona dinner, thanks to the directions Jo gave us. We'd do this tour again in a second and will if we return to Barcelona!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2wing65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were looking forward to this tour since we are foodies who love to try new things and get off the beaten path. We were a little hesitant to do this in Barcelona since neither my husband nor I speak any Spanish or Catalan for that matter.

Just so Joe knows who we are-the couple from Philadelphia on the 4/9 tour-my husband did the Porron nearly perfectly...

I’ll admit I didn’t find The Barcelona Taste on tripadvisor, but in a specific internet search on food tours in Barcelona. They had the best website, and we could tell by the site the guides would be a blast to hang out with. We were NOT wrong! Joe was our guide, along with Anna and right from the start they made us laugh and feel comfortable! An email prior to the trip indicated where we should meet. We had a small group of 8 people which was great. Joe explained why the number is limited to 8 and it was as a result of the first place we went- the cheese shop wasn’t big enough for any more. My kind of place.
We went first to the lovely cheese shop owned by a Scottish woman-tasted cheese and wine, then wandered over to an authentic tapas spot and sampled several unique tapas-different from the things we found on the main roads. A side note, Joe was very nice to ask if anyone had any allergies, food preferences or aversions in advance of ordering! We also sampled homemade Vermut, with a spritz of soda water. From there, dinner at a traditional Catalan restaurant owned and run completely by 2 local women. Here we discovered the Porron, which is a Spanish drinking vessel that when done properly reminded me of a classy keg stand. The women who owned the place I believe, if my wine and vermut brain isn’t too foggy, have a farm and grow many of the vegetables they use in the restaurant. We finished the evening off with dessert at an old Bodega, along with some cava! And if that wasn’t amazing enough- he provided us with a map with the locations marked that we visited so we could go back.

A note to Joe- the cheese shop was NOT easy to find the next day. HAHAHA Barri Gotic is kind of like Hogwarts and things moved from one night to the next. We did end up finding Kathryn and purchasing a bunch of cheese to take home (I also got a picture of the place-her permission was granted of course). We didn’t make it back to the Vermut place but our minds were expanded for ordering options the next day thanks to you! We also purchased a Porron from a neat shop in Barri Gotic.

I can’t recommend this tour enough if you want a FUN evening with people who enjoy the same thing you do-food, spirits and great conversation!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great walking "tasting" tour”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

On a business trip to Barcelona, I had booked this tour based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. This was an extremely fun and interesting tour. Our guides were well versed in local customs and history, as well as fun to hang out with. Each place we ate had unique and wonderful dishes. We would never have enjoyed such an eclectic evening of tasting on our own. It was well worth it and I would recommend to anyone visiting Barcelona. They even have us ideas for other places to shop and see while in town. A great experience!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TechieTraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Introduction to the Barcelona Food Scene”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic tour with Dave from The Barcelona Taste. Apparently, this was his first solo tour, but we never would have known it. There were three other people on the tour with us, and we all had a great time talking and learning all about the tapas, drinks and desserts of Barcelona. Like the other tours, we visited four spots: one was a small cheese shop with a lovely owner who told us about her experiences selling cheese in Barcelona for the past 20 years; two focused on tapas (albeit different types); and at the last we enjoyed dessert. There is definitely enough food for dinner. Dave gave us some other recommendations based on our requests, such as for chocolate con churros. Dave was also easy to talk to and made us and the group as a whole feel comfortable on our second night in the city. He asked all of us about ourselves as well as shared some information about his personal experiences in Barcelona. Hats off to Dave and The Barcelona Taste for an excellend tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barcelona Taste also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Barcelona Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing