We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Big Production Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda del Port Olimpic

La Fonda del Port Olimpic
Reserve with
La Fonda del Port Olimpic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #668 of 8,544 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Production Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Looking for a good restaurant in Barcelona this restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel staff. I got there with a friend and it was quite empty (it was 7:30pm). The waiter warned me not to take so long to come backk since it could get pretty full. Didn't believed him and were back an hour later only to find just a few tables left (this is a huge restaurant with 700 seating capacity). I have to say the service was excellent, our waiter was very friendly and efficient and food kept coming promptly. We had the 26eur. menu which included 4 appetizers (nice portions), 2 entrees and 2 desserts. We ordered the goat cheese salad, calamari rings, garlic shrimps and grilled langostinos. Everything was very good. Then, and this is the only reason didn't gave them an "excellent" rate, the fish I ordered as entree was kind of cold (has to return it to be heated) and my friend's beef was too rare (she ordered medium well) but then after that there were ok. We were offered an after dinner drink and little cake squares by the house with dessert. Our bill came for 67eur. which is not bad considering we also had a bottle of wine and water. Yes, I could eat here again anytime. (Also have to try another rest. down that line called "El Cangrejo Loco"(The Crazy Crab) which also had heard strong recommendations).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    598
    269
    129
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waterfront Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent. Service is exceptional. Seafood was fresh and well prepared. Wonderful ambiance. La Fonda was packed; other restaurants nearby were vacant; that says a lot about La Fonda,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money here !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our second day in Barcelona and we thought of trying the seafront .. It was a total disappointment .. The bread which is served at the beginning was soggy with olive oil and tomato .. Fish was fresh but we have definitely eaten better tasty fish than this .. Sangrilla didnt have much fruits was just diluted with Ice and 2 slices of tangerines. Patata bravas which is actually supposed to be served with spicy tomato sauce is served with some salad dressing and chilly powder !! Monkfish is served undone not sure is that the way u are supposed to eat it . I have always eaten fish well cooked ! We have definitely eaten better fish and hot tapas . It's a total waste of time and money ..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pranav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“YES, YES, YES - have at least lunch here !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

MOST IMPORTANT THING - at 1:00 pm the place gets full within minutes, so get there earlier or make a reservations (really !).

The food (especially seafood) is just lovely - the lunch menu is 26 EUR per person and includes 4 startes per table (Cesar's salad is quite good, so are clams and fried prawns) and a main course (to be chosen from a quite a long and solid list - it did include a lobster :-) - see pictures).

The service is good and fast enough, with nice attitude - you will fill quite relaxed and comfortable.

The wine selection is wide enough to match almost every dish served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Warsaw_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good Food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a recommendation by a local who went regularly for family Sunday lunches. It is one of many large restaurants in the Port Olimpic area but we hit it on a bad day. A party of four, we booked early by Spanish times so the restaurant was nearly empty. We chose our meal and waited. After 45 minutes the main course for two people came, The other two had to wait another 15 minutes and both their orders were incorrect. Our waiter was then replaced and the new waiter made strenous attempts to recover the situation including a free dessert. His efforts were undone when the bill came and they had charged us for five main courses.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda del Port Olimpic also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Fonda del Port Olimpic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing