We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend ”

Runner Bean Tours Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 697 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a Spanish-Irish couple who started this project in 2010, offering FREE TOURS in Barcelona as well as other WALKING TOURS, inspired by our passion and love for everything with Barcelona’s name on it. As we became more popular over the years, we expanded our team to other like-minded locals. We are all professional guides ready to welcome you, share our knowledge and help you discover Barcelona in a fun and friendly manner. You will only find Runner Bean Tours in Barcelona. Recommended by Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers… Hope to see you here soon! The Runner Bean Team.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Booked a private tour with the express purpose of learning about Picasso. The Runner Bean folks accommodated this request and gave us an unforgettable experience.

Eli, our fabulous and knowledgeable guide, met us at our hotel then showed us sights in the Gothic Quarter that we hadn’t even noticed in the 3 prior days we were staying in the neighborhood! The reason for this was to provide background information about the area, learn how it influenced Picasso and to visit places that he frequented. With this foundation we then proceeded to the Picasso Museum.

Eli led us through the various salons. She highlighted items and linked them back to what she had explained earlier about the city and Picasso’s life. She provided historical context for the works as well as insight into his artistic responses to his life experiences. Thanks to Eli we left with a greater appreciation for Picasso; how he challenged convention, pushing himself to experiment and capture the essential nature of his subject.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank neesied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Hi Denise,

We absolutely loved reading your review of Eli's tour; thank you!

She really has a fabulous knowledge and it was nice to how much you enjoyed you private tour with her. I'll be sure to pass your thoughts on :)

Thanks again :)

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old city"
in 1,535 reviews
"gaudi tour"
in 1,422 reviews
"walking tour"
in 735 reviews
"runner beans"
in 759 reviews
"gothic quarter"
in 832 reviews
"great tour"
in 468 reviews
"ann marie"
in 181 reviews
"free tour"
in 217 reviews
"free walking"
in 124 reviews
"placa reial"
in 86 reviews
"gaudi's life"
in 58 reviews
"great introduction"
in 95 reviews
"sagrada familia"
in 297 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 103 reviews
"gaudi buildings"
in 88 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 60 reviews
"interesting information"
in 53 reviews
Filter

435 - 439 of 5,722 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2018

What a wonderful walking tour. Lucky for me, Gorka, one of the founders of this organization, was the one giving this tour. He is so knowledgeable, friendly, funny (!), and took his time to provide all the relevant information during the 2 1/2 hour walking tour. What's more, in a world where After-Sales Service is not commonly good nor available, I had emailed to ask for some tips and suggestions to revisit some of the landmarks we encountered on the tour, and Gorka was prompt and helpful with his reply. He speaks/writes clearly and succinctly, and always lets you know that he is there if you need any other tips, etc. This is a free walking tour, and a donation at the end is suggested. For all the work and effort (and personality) put into the tour and enlightening us travellers/tourists in their host city, it is the least one can do, ie give a decent donation amount :). Keep up the great work and good luck with the Tour company, Gorka! From JP.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 118jayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hi JP,

It was a pleasure to have you on my tour. Thank you so much for your detailed review and also for appreciating the work behind the scenes. It is always a pleasure to help travelers even after they have taken our tours as this is what we would like ourselves when we visit another place.

I hope you had a fantastic time in our city and that I helped you get the most out your stay.

See you on your next visit :-)

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

I did a blunder and went to the wrong destination (Palau Reial), so remember, you rendezvous at Pacau Reial; one letter makes a difference. They did contact me back inquiring if everything was okay, which was awesome and very individualistic-feeling. My (gothic) tour was with Miguel, who was thorough with the history of Barcelona and covered a lot of knowledge regarding Barcelona. He was extremely engaging and took his time with the content in a humorous manner.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jcnavar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

I am glad you managed to join the our in the end and you and a nice time with Miguel. Thanks a million for taking your time to write this review.

For future customers, the meeting point for our Barcelona Free Walking Tours is Plaça Reial, not Pacau Reial or Palau Reial (which is actually very far from there). It is the arcaded square off La Rambla. Just follow the instructions on our website or on the confirmation document for the tour.

Thanks again and I hope we will see you back in Barcelona soon :-)

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

We went on the gothic quarter tour with ALI she is a fantastic guide who told fascinating and absorbing stories. The tour was very informative and well-paced,Very knowledgeable and a good sense of humor. She had all the facts about the gothic quarter from the stone walls to stories about the Spanish Inquisition, Christmas and Jewish traditions. as ALI managed time well, ensuring that we got to hear about different parts of local history.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank yossiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Hello and thank you - your review means so much.

It was lovely meeting you the other week on my Gothic Quarter tour and I hope you both had a wonderful rest of your stay in Barcelona.

Thank you for sharing :))

Alexandra (Ali)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2018

We took the tour with Raquel, a native of Barcelona. This was our second tour with Runner Bean and it was as excellent as the first tour of the Gothic area. Raquel was very knowledgeable, eager to answer questions about the tour sites and also about other things to see and do in Barcelona, including restaurant ideas. She was friendly and funny - made the tour a lot of fun. Thank you, Raquel, and Runner Bean.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank rlames82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Hi there!

Lovey to read you review of our wonderful Raquel and her Gaudí tour - delighted you enjoyed seeing a little of Barcelona with her.

Thanks a lot for joining Runner Bean Tours and we hope to see you again soon :)

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runner Bean Tours Barcelona also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Runner Bean Tours Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing