We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Private Tour”

Runner Bean Tours Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 710 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a Spanish-Irish couple who started this project in 2010, offering FREE TOURS in Barcelona as well as other WALKING TOURS, inspired by our passion and love for everything with Barcelona’s name on it. As we became more popular over the years, we expanded our team to other like-minded locals. We are all professional guides ready to welcome you, share our knowledge and help you discover Barcelona in a fun and friendly manner. You will only find Runner Bean Tours in Barcelona. Recommended by Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers… Hope to see you here soon! The Runner Bean Team.
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Eric was an outstanding Gothic Quarter tour guide - knowledgeable, engaging, intelligent, and patient. Our family of three (two adults + one teen) learned so much from him; he clearly loves Barcelona and wants to share its highlights with others. Our teen-aged daughter said that this tour was the highlight of her Barcelona experience. And, scheduling with Gorka ahead of time via email couldn't have been easier. She was very responsive, answered all my questions, and gave me all the information I needed so that we would be ready for the tour. Thank you Runner Bean Tours!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank TheFlyingMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Really great to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your time with Eric! He's a super guide and it's lovely to read you review, thank you.

I'm delighted your time with Runner Bean was so enjoyable!

Thanks again,

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old city"
in 1,539 reviews
"gaudi tour"
in 1,441 reviews
"runner beans"
in 766 reviews
"walking tour"
in 742 reviews
"gothic quarter"
in 855 reviews
"great tour"
in 474 reviews
"ann marie"
in 181 reviews
"free tour"
in 222 reviews
"free walking"
in 127 reviews
"placa reial"
in 86 reviews
"great introduction"
in 98 reviews
"gaudi's life"
in 58 reviews
"sagrada familia"
in 301 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 106 reviews
"gaudi buildings"
in 89 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 62 reviews
"night tour"
in 54 reviews
Filter

2,087 - 2,091 of 5,785 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2016

Love that this tour started at 11 (allowing time for a leisurely breakfast!), and that we only had to make a quick and easy reservation the night before on their website. Our guide was Miguel, and he was really engaging, funny and knowledgeable! We visited Palau Guell, Casa Mila, Casa Batllo, and the Sagrada Familia. Big plus points to Miguel and Runner Beans for ensuring that enough time was allotted to each site, with relevant overview, enough attention to detail to keep us interested (theories on motifs, meanings and trivia behind the striking symbology on the facades, and contemporary context), information presented in a structured manner, and showing us photos of what each site looks like from the inside, so that we could decide whether we wanted to later visit them! Miguel was also really great with helping us on other Barcelona details - public transport, where to go out in the evenings etc. Strongly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank PrachiH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Hi Prachi,

A lovely review of Miguel's tour and your enthusiasm for Runner Bean is really appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in detail and we hope to see you again.

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

My niece and I enjoyed the Gaudi Tour (Jarod) and Old City Tour (Ruth) so much that we signed up for the night time tour tomorrow. Both guides shared very interesting and useful information and we loved their personalities. Jarod was so nice that he even took a picture at the "secret photo op spot" for a family that wasn't even on the tour. They had waited patiently in line for their turn and he was too gracious to say anything that would embarrass them. The size of the groups was manageable and the pace of the tour was excellent. Can't wait until tomorrow night!!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank pixi345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

It means so much to see you both enjoyed the tours. Both Jarrod and Ruth are hugely popular guides and we very much appreciate you taking the time share your experience.

I hope you both had a fab time in Barcelona, despite the dismal weather!

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Easy to book website & easy to locate meeting point. Plus for the free walking tour that we chose (Gaudi), the tour starts at a very comfortable 11am, which helps if you have sleepy or jet-lagged teens!

Miguel was unfailingly polite, full of interesting facts about Gaudi and his buildings, and ensured no one went astray or got left behind. (That last point is super important for any tour group!) He answered questions with ease and good cheer, even entertaining a couple who were not part of our group who had fallen in with us briefly. Miguel made sure he spoke with everyone in our group so that no one was left out, and he was very helpful at the end of the tour (about 2pm) with recommendations for lunch or directions for those wanting to explore other sites. He was not pushy at all about tipping, just casually mentioning at the beginning and the end of the tour that you pay what you think it's worth.

I decided on a round figure of €30 for Miguel for my party of 3. I don't know what the others tipped him.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank SLNeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Your review was a pleasure to read and your appreciation of Miguel and his tour means a lot to us all here at Runner Bean.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on trip Advisor and we hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona.

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2016

We chose this tour as a pre-cursor to visiting some of Gaudi's buildings later on, and we're so glad we did. Our guide, Jarrod, was fabulous: he was well-informed, shared great anecdotes and trivia, and was an engaging and attentive guide. We'd highly recommend this tour before visiting Gaudi's buildings in Barcelona - it provides really great background. 10/10

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Front Office Manager at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Thanks a million Robyn. Great you enjoyed Jarrod's animated tour and I know he'll be as delighted to read your review as we were.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, it's hugely appreciated by us.

All the best,

Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runner Bean Tours Barcelona also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Runner Bean Tours Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing