We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Goudi Tour and Gothic Quarter Walking Tour.”

Runner Bean Tours Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 710 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a Spanish-Irish couple who started this project in 2010, offering FREE TOURS in Barcelona as well as other WALKING TOURS, inspired by our passion and love for everything with Barcelona’s name on it. As we became more popular over the years, we expanded our team to other like-minded locals. We are all professional guides ready to welcome you, share our knowledge and help you discover Barcelona in a fun and friendly manner. You will only find Runner Bean Tours in Barcelona. Recommended by Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers… Hope to see you here soon! The Runner Bean Team.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

On our first day in Barcelona I scheduled the Gaudi 5 hour private tour for my wife and myself. Our tour guide was Ann-Marie, who was waiting for us in the iconic runner bean vest by the designated monument. She was very nice, knowledgeable and spoke very good english, which was important because we speak very little Spanish. She started off by getting to know us, our trip, what we are interested in and what gets us excited when thinking about the architecture in Barcelona. Since it was out first time in Barcelona, we were just happy to be seeing the most important sites. We saw three of Gaudi's major works in Barcelona, including Casa Batlo, Casa Mila and Segrada Famila, where Marie made an incredible amount of knowledgeable relevant and digest-able. It was an amazing experience. I will not spoil any of the sites for your trip but I would definitely recommend a private tour. After the sites, they scheduled a beautiful lunch near Segrada Familia.
On our second day in Barcelona, we went on the FREE walking tour of the Gothic Quarter. This was also really great. They kept the group sizes down to between 8 and 15 people, which is a good size. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable and super helpful. She gave her own personal understanding of the Barcelona experience, which made the tour even more special. They use a little speaker, which makes it easy to hear and the people in the group were very friendly.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Raphael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Hi Raphael,

It is great to read that you had such a nice experience on the two tours you took with us. Your guide on the Gaudí private tour was Mari (not Ann-Marie who is also another guide). She is a great personable guide with fantast¡c English. I am also glad that you enjoyed the vegetarian place we chose for lunch.

Thank you so much,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old city"
in 1,539 reviews
"gaudi tour"
in 1,441 reviews
"runner beans"
in 766 reviews
"walking tour"
in 742 reviews
"gothic quarter"
in 855 reviews
"great tour"
in 474 reviews
"ann marie"
in 181 reviews
"free tour"
in 222 reviews
"free walking"
in 127 reviews
"placa reial"
in 86 reviews
"great introduction"
in 98 reviews
"gaudi's life"
in 58 reviews
"sagrada familia"
in 301 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 106 reviews
"gaudi buildings"
in 89 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 62 reviews
"night tour"
in 54 reviews
Filter

2,627 - 2,631 of 5,788 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2016

I'm a history major and do a lot of tours. I you look at some of my past review you can see I've been a lot of places and tend to do a lot of private tours including Rome, Florence, Madrid, Colombia, etc.

This was a great tour. The guide did a really great job and got most of the information correct. It's easy walking all over the Gothic area and included most of the churches and the Jewish area.

I would highly recommended Runner Bean tours.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Hi Greg,

Thank you so much. It is always great to receive such a fantastic feedback from customers who are used to this type of service. I am delighted that you enjoyed the tour so much.

Next time you are in Barcelona, we would love to take you around again to show you other parts of our city.

All the best,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We had a great walking tour viewing the archecture of Gaudi. This is a free tour and you will only see the outside of the buildings.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank ufgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed discovering Gaudí's world with us.

All the best,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I did the old city tour with Runner Bean - and it was great. Like most free walking tours, it is a pay what you can afford/what you think it is worth. This was a really great tour, better than the ones i've been on that were paid upfront.

The guide was knowledgeable, funny, interesting and just generally nailed it. He even bought scarves so we could get into a chapel which required most modesty than how most of the people were dressed.

Two thumbs up!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Allygirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thanks for the thumbs up. It looks like you really enjoyed the old city and the guide. It really is an stunning place with lots of surprises to discover along the way.

See you next time around,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We did two tours with Runner Bean - Gaudi & Gothic Quarter. Both guides were great. They really knew their stuff, were entertaining and gave us loads of local insight into places to eat as well as things to see that were off the usual turistic tracks. There was no pressure at all when it came time to tip, which we happily did.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Hi Evan,

Thank you for joining us on two tours and for supporting a local company. I am glad you enjoyed your time with the guides and also their recommendations.

Next time you visit, please contact us again and we will love to take you around again.

All the best,

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runner Bean Tours Barcelona also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Runner Bean Tours Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing