We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY way to 'see' Barcelona”

Runner Bean Tours Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 710 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a Spanish-Irish couple who started this project in 2010, offering FREE TOURS in Barcelona as well as other WALKING TOURS, inspired by our passion and love for everything with Barcelona’s name on it. As we became more popular over the years, we expanded our team to other like-minded locals. We are all professional guides ready to welcome you, share our knowledge and help you discover Barcelona in a fun and friendly manner. You will only find Runner Bean Tours in Barcelona. Recommended by Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers… Hope to see you here soon! The Runner Bean Team.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Four of us (2 couples) chose some PRIVATE walking tours offered through Runner Bean - one each day over two days (Gothic Quarter and Gaudi) before our cruise sets sail. We chose private tours run by locals because we wanted to contribute to the LOCAL SMALL BUSINESS COMMUNITY rather than pay mega-corporations (whose market presence overshadows and is indeed squeezing local efforts). We also wanted more personal interaction - being able to ask questions when we wanted and actually hear everything they had to say, rather than standing at the back of a large group straining to hear and be engaged. We are SO GLAD we did our tours with just the four of us and were all EXTREMELY HAPPY with the results. Gorka (the owner of the company) showed us the Gothic Quarter and Katherine introduced us to Gaudi. Both were exemplary guides and we cannot thank them enough for enriching our knowledge, experience and appreciations of this beautiful city - Barcelona. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND Runner Bean Tours, especially a private tour (which is a VERY reasonable price). You absolutely will not regret it!!! Cheers... Leanne

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Leanne,

Thank you so much for choosing us and recommending us. The pleasure was actually mine. You were a such a wonderful group :-). Catherine also enjoyed your company (I just forwarded her your wonderful email too).

I hope we can meet again soon (in Barcelona or anywhere else)

Gorka

PS: Enjoy the turrón next Christmas ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old city"
in 1,539 reviews
"gaudi tour"
in 1,441 reviews
"runner beans"
in 766 reviews
"walking tour"
in 742 reviews
"gothic quarter"
in 855 reviews
"great tour"
in 474 reviews
"ann marie"
in 181 reviews
"free tour"
in 222 reviews
"free walking"
in 127 reviews
"placa reial"
in 86 reviews
"great introduction"
in 98 reviews
"gaudi's life"
in 58 reviews
"sagrada familia"
in 301 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 106 reviews
"gaudi buildings"
in 89 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 62 reviews
"night tour"
in 54 reviews
Filter

4,822 - 4,826 of 5,785 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I knew very little about the charming city of Barcelona before we arrived and basically nothing about its history. We did two tours, one with the owner, Gorda and one with Katherine. Gorka spent 3 hours with us, sharing his passion for the history and culture of this beautiful city. You find yourself transported back in time as you walk through the old city and listening to Gorka weave his tales from several bygone eras...... and there have been many.

Katherine (hoping I spelled this correctly) took us on a memorable journey through the years and life of Gaudi, an obvious passion that she delightfully invites you to share with her. Her enthusiasm is infectious causing the tour to end way to soon. She leaves you in front of the Sagrada Familia in awe of what Gaudi has done and much more knowledgeable about the man than when you started and eager to learn more by going into the basilica.

If you have the time, do these tours........ you will have a much better appreciation for this wonderful city.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Bob (and the rest of the crowd),

You were a delight to walk around with. We even went over time by 20 minutes because I was having so much fun. Thanks a million for your incredible review. It helps a lot.

I hope we can meet again soon (in Barcelona or anywhere else)

Gorka

PS: Catherine says hi, by the way :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The guide was very nice and helpful and really could tell a story. Me and my friends went on the free gaudi tour and loved it. It would have been much less interesting to see the places we visited without the description of the guide and the company of our cheerful tour-mates.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank MVRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thanks a lot for the positive feedback. I am glad that you had such a good experience on the Gaudí tour.

All the best :-)

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great tour, we took the free gothic quarter tour and it was excellent, we had a great time with our guide Laura she is true Barcelonian with love and passion for her city.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank RachelMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Rachel,

I let Laura know about your review and I am sure she will be delighted. thank you so much :-)

Ann-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

While in Barcelona, I went on both the Gaudi and Old City tours. First, Jessica brought us on to the major Gaudi attractions, walking and even using the subway system. Her interest in the topic and consideration was perfect. On the Old City tour, Gorka shared lots about the Catalan traditions and historical changes in Barcelona. Following the tour, Gorka even emailed me extra cultural information about a festival in town!

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Amy,

Thank you so much for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed both tours and I hope you had a good time watching the human towers.

All the best :-)

Gorka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runner Bean Tours Barcelona also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Runner Bean Tours Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing