We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to find little gems in Barcelona!”

Runner Bean Tours Barcelona
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.14*
and up
The Dark History Night Walking Tour in Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 548 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a Spanish-Irish couple who started this project in 2010, offering FREE TOURS as well as other WALKING TOURS, inspired by our passion and love for everything with Barcelona’s name on it. As we became more popular over the years, we expanded our team to other like-minded locals. We are all professional guides ready to welcome you, share our knowledge and help you discover Barcelona in a fun and friendly manner. You will only find Runner Bean Tours in Barcelona. Recommended by Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers… Hope to see you here soon! The Runner Bean Team.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great way to find little gems in Barcelona!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went on both the Old City and Gaudi tours on our recent trip to Barcelona. We have experienced other similar free tours in other European cities but these ones were by far the most personal, informative and enjoyable.

We went on the Old City tour with Ann-Marie as our guide. We were part of a small group which added to the charm of the little gothic streets and beautiful architecture. We were very pleased to learn about Barcelona's history alongside legends, traditions and funny stories. We were taken to see certain stunning places that we would have never found on our own, just with a pocket guide.

After our great experience on the Old City tour, we returned the following morning to take part in the Gaudi tour. Jessi was an excellent and knowledgable guide who made a real effort to involve all members of the group. We felt that we were given not only a great explanation of the architectural side of the buildings but also an inside into the man who created them. We appreciated the fact that Jessi showed us pictures of the inside of the buildings so that we could decide for ourselves whether or not we should visit. She also very helpfully provided us with the information relating to entrance fees and opening hours of all Gaudi attractions.

In addition to the great tours, both Jessi and Ann-Marie were more than happy to answer our questions relating to transport, places to eat and other attractions. They were extremely approachable and friendly .

Runner Bean Walking Tours are a MUST for anybody visiting Barcelona.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Calling us a MUST in Barcelona is a great compliment. Thank you so much. I really enjoyed that tour as well. You were all great :-). Jessi loved reading the review too.

I hope we will see you again soon,

Ann-Marie

PS: Tara also enjoyed the scratches ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,962
    306
    22
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting for the whole family”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our family of 6 includes a 7yo and a 70yo. Ann-Marie conducted our private walking tour so interestingly, that our son and teenage daughter were so enthusiastic in listening every explanations, and interacted with the activities. The activities were so funny and engaging for all of us.

I will definitely recommend RunnerBean (and Ann-Marie) to anyone planning to visit Barcelona.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ismangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Ann-Marie here. Thanks a million for the review. It was a pleasure to take your family from grandparents to grandchildren and walk you from the Old Town to the Gaudí's creations. You all got involved and I really enjoyed myself that day too.

I hope you managed to get to the paella restaurant and enjoyed a nice lunch too. It is definitely my favourite place for paella in the city :-)

All the best,

Ann-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Aus
Level Contributor
224 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A great way to see and enjoy Barcelona.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We learnt about Runner Bean tours through TA and very glad we did. Booking our 2 trips online before our visit we were lucky enough to have Jessie (Gaudi tour) and Gorka (Gothic Quarter) entertain and inform us over 2.5 hours. Both our guides were very knowledgable, giving us some wonderful insights into their topics and life in general in Barcelona.
There is no cost to the tour rather a donation to whatever value at the end of the session. We really enjoyed our time in Barcelona and that can be contributed to our informative and worthwhile tours with Runner Bean walking tours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckBrisbaneAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It is great to hear such positive feedback from the other side of the world. Thank you so much for writing this. I passed it to Jessi too.

I hope you will come back to Barcelona soon :-)

Gorka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The old city and Gaudi tours”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time exploring Barcelona by foot with two great guides, the lovely Jessi and Anne-Marie. The tours were fun and educational, we learned a lot at a very short time. COOL guides who took some of the best pics in our trip.
Beside the tour, great Barcelona tips were given , we highly recommend it! :-) go for A run in Barcelona with Runner Bean

Helpful?
Thank Adi A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi guys,

I remember you well (the picture taking gave you away ;-). You were a very enthusiastic lovely couple. I hope you made the plane OK that evening. Thank you so much for writing this review. It is lovely to get such positive feedback. Jessi loved it too.

Take care,

Ann-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must when you visit Barcelona”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited Barca for my birthday and our wedding anniversary and wanted to make it a memorable trip and runner bean helped us to to that , we did both the tours , firstly the old city tour with Gorka which took us around the Gothic and Jewish areas and explained places and things that we wouldn't have noticed if by ourselves , Gorka is a fantastic guide and very knowledgable about his city thanks Gorka , thought he would be hard to beat but Anne Marie who took us on the Gaudie tour the following day was equally as passionate and knowledgeable and we had a fantastic time once again , please look up runner bean tours if you are in Barcelona you will not be disappointed .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathybaker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputrip, Owner at Runner Bean Tours Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Kathy,

First of all, happy birthday and wedding anniversary! I am so glad that we both made it that bit more special :-). You were a lovely couple and we are really happy that you liked the tours so much.

Thanks also for all the likes :-)

Gorka & Ann-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runner Bean Tours Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Runner Bean Tours Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing