We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Born area of Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Marcelo Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Marcelo was there to receive us with a warm welcome and help us get our bearings after getting off the cruise ship. It was so nice to have a clean and quiet place in such a fast, metropolitan city. The Born neighborhood is quiet and within walking distance to the Las Ramblas, the cathedral and so many excellent restaurants, including some just across the street, which is a pedestrian only. Marcello helped us plan our time most efficiently, since we only had two days, and it was perfect. He gave us the way to get there and advised on excellent Restaurants. Our room was clean, medium sized, with a bathroom and window facing an ally (I think) which was quiet for the most part, except the holiday night of May Day, but it wasn't so bad that night either. I didn't hear anything myself, with my earplugs in. We were in room 3 as we had requested a quiet room and he said that room 4 (with the King bed) was noisier. I don't think that 4 would have been noisy though either, now that I know the quiet street that it overlooks. Our room supposedly had a small balcony, which I can now see on the website photos, but we never used it as were not in our room much and I frankly did not notice that the bottom shutters open like doors. It was a very light breakfast, just toast, sliced cheese, juice, coffee and a basket of fruit, which was great for us. It was a good visit with the other guests who were all repeat guests and very nice, interesting people. This is not a five star hotel, which you can find there in Born if you look, but it is an excellent value and was perfect for our two night stay after the cruise. The very thorough and personal concierge service from Marcelo could not be matched by any 5 star hotel, and that is very valuable to me especially because he speaks excellent English in a city where very few people seem to.

Room Tip: Marcelo recommended room 3 as the quieter room and I did think it was quiet. There was just a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarciHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 845 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

great location, lots of small local stores and tapas bars around. short walk to the beach and all the must-sees.
the rooms are nice and clean, there is all you need. room no. 3 is calm for a good sleep. not to forget: perfect breakfast hours until 11:00.
olivier is very helpful and gives great advices.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank zepsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I'm not sure I can add much to the list of outstanding reviews suffice to say our high expectations were more than met. Marcelo and Olivier are so welcoming it was like staying with old friends. We had visited Barcelona several times previously but this was the first time we had stayed in El Born which is a delightful area with lots to do and see. We stayed in the balcony room which I would definitely recommend as you get a great feel of the city just by sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate and of good quality. The honour bar in the kitchen was a welcome touch and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room tidied each morning. The overall experience is one of very high quality, amazingly so when you consider the price. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: There is some street noise in the balcony room but a no point was this excessive and it was a deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Olivier & Marcelo put a lot of care & thought into the guest experience at this B&B. From the moment I arrived the service & attention was so warm & generous, perfect introduction to Barcelona hospitality.

The B&B is well cared for & includes many classy & sophisticated touches that we're so thoughtful & appreciated. The location cannot be bettered for proximity & ease of navigation & is located in the most delightful & charming square with many great places to eat, drink & browse nearby.

I will be recommending Casa Marcelo to any friends planning on visiting Barcelona & hope to visit again as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deboir_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Marcelo. Marcelo and Olivier could not have been more gracious, kind hosts and the accommodations were ideal. The location is quite honestly the best place to be in Barcelona and the rooms we stayed in were very clean with comfortable beds. The shared bathroom was never a problem and the common areas were all very well kept. Breakfast every morning in the dining room was a pleasant way to start the day and the food and coffee were excellent and plentiful. We would highly recommend Casa Marcelo and would definitely return!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank flyerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay.
Marcelo and Olivier are great, and make you feel at home.
The location is perfect.
The down side is the rooms are not spacious and equiped, the shower isn't the best and the window is not to a nice street view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoss__yos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Marcello and Olivier are perfect hosts in a lovely, central but quiet property. They were incredibly attentive to our needs, were always charming and offered more advice and help than we could reasonably expect; they even translated a Spanish document for us. They were determined we would have a successful and enjoyable trip. Every recommendation was good.
We booked room three, very quiet and comfortable. The facilities are good and the B and B has great style and charm.
We would unhesitatingly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room three was great, with a window onto a gated alley and a Lichtenstein print on the wall and an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#7 of 308 in Barcelona
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#2 of 308 in Barcelona
518 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
559 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marcelo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marcelo Barcelona

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, 1-1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $76 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast with charming and intimate atmosphere, located in Barcelona center (El Born district). 15 mins walk to the Ramblas, the beach, the Picasso museum, the Gothic quarter and the cathedral. Marcelo is looking forward to welcoming you at his house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Marcelo Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Casa Marcelo Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing