We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Marcelo Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night during the peak season
Barcelona was wonderful
This is right in the heart - walkable yo the cathedral, beach and la rambla
Staff - Marcelo and the other guy quite friendly and helpful
Cons
Breakfast is decent - but not great particularly compared to what I experienced before coming here in central Europe :)
Rooms are a bit pricey - maybe bcos its Barcelona and it was peak, but still pricey
And for a room without bathroom :(
Beds are bad - I could hardly sleep
Other than that, great choice
Hope.Marcelo fixes these details

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Casa Marcelo Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 845 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for two nights at the end of October for a quick visit to Barcelona. The B&B far exceeded our expectations. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and warm. The location is great for exploring the city and the staff had great recommendations for things to see and do since it was our first visit. I truly cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay. I would definitely recommend Casa de Marcelo to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent four nights in Marcelo's B&B and loved it. It's a beautiful place, great location. We definitely recommend staying there. Marcelo, thanks for making our trip to Barcelona so much fun... See you on our next visit! All the best, Ziv and Adi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ziv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October for 3 nights. Everything about this place was wonderful. It's owned and run by a small team who no doubt do it from their heart and with a sense of pride, who love what they do, and who pay attention to the details. It's small, quaint, charming and homey. It's in a good neighborhood, just minutes walk from good restaurants and shops and sites and transportation. We're so glad we found this place. We'd stay here again. We've told our friends about it. And we absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

just returned after staying for three nights, 1st-3rd Dec, visiting Barcelona with family and friends to celebrate 50th birthday. We had three rooms of the 5, all were warm, very clean and comfortable . The shared bathroom was very clean at all times, as was, the kitchen area. Excellent variety of drinks available from the fridge at very reasonable prices. The location of Casa de Marcelo is great , within easy walking distance of metro and sightseeing musts. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by, but happily it is peaceful and quiet during the late hours so a good nights sleep is enjoyed . The team were happy to recommend restaurants all of which we found to be good and suitable. Barcelona is a super city to spend time with family and friends for a special occasion and we all agreed that Marcelo and the team helped it to be that little bit more special and memorable .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at Casa de Marcelo. The location was fantastic, within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see and close to the metro for those things that were slightly further away. Also lots of great bars and restaurants nearby for the evening. The staff, Marcelo in particular, were incredibly helpful and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. All the facilities, including the shared bathroom, were spotlessly clean at all times. In terms of constructive criticism, and not meant as a negative, the breakfast could have been a little more imaginative. It did improve over the course of our stay but on our first morning was just bread, jam/nutella and coffee. Pastries or yoghurt, for example, would have made all the difference. The coffee, however, was extremely good. Would definitely recommend. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We felt very comfortable and at home with Marcelo at the B&B. The room was very clean and cosy. The B&B had modern amenities while still maintaining the early 19 century charm. We highly recommend this place to anyone that wants an enjoyable and comfortable stay in Barcelona. The price was very fair. B&B is very conveniently located, although a bit difficult to find at 1st. Be aware that the cab drivers are very picky in Barcelona......we had a tough time getting a cab from Plaza Cataluna since they consider it a short distance......it is really not too far, but when you have big backpacks.....2+ km is a long way to walk......just be persistent.....you will find a cab.....our best tip, just hop in and then tell them where you want to go.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miravz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,332 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
890 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
263 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marcelo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marcelo Barcelona

Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, 1-1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $78 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast with charming and intimate atmosphere, located in Barcelona center (El Born district). 15 mins walk to the Ramblas, the beach, the Picasso museum, the Gothic quarter and the cathedral. Marcelo is looking forward to welcoming you at his house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Marcelo Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Casa Marcelo Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing