We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“catalan cooking”
Review of Julivert Meu

Julivert Meu
Reserve with
Julivert Meu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #641 of 9,704 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“catalan cooking”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Recommended by our hotel so we thought we would try it. Glad we did - the staff were friendly and helpful, the food good, it was not too busy so there was no wait for service. Started with the toasted bread, tomato and garlic which we really enjoyed and was a good start to our first meal in Barcelona and followed with a salad and meat platter, then duck, and veal all washed down with a couple of bottles of rioja.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    285
    80
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok/New York
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“just another touristy place with bland food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

a friend of mine visited Barcelona and had talked about all the places she had been and being someone i trust implicitly when it comes to food i took her recommendation on Julivert Meu as one i could count on, the problem is she got a bit confused and Julivert Meu was not the place she was thinking of when she told me about it. however when i arrived it looked like a nice neighborhood place (granted it is a touristic neighborhood and i considered that but felt she had to be right) had a fair amount of customers who appeared to be happy, so i stayed to have dinner. the staff were polite and efficient and i was seated immediately and given an English language menu. in retrospect, after going over the menu, i should have paid for my water, said thank you and left, but i saw 2 things on the menu that did appeal to me, and although i would not consider them Catalan Cuisine i stayed ... i ordered the Goat Cheese Salad, a plate of Ham and the Duck Confit ... it was the salad and the duck that caused me to stay, you can get good ham almost anywhere in Barcelona so that was not what kept me in Julivert Meu ... the salad was a mix of flavorless arugula, limp red oak lettuce, some strips of carrot and capsicum, cherry tomatoes, golden sultanas and a fair portion of goat cheese. i know how many restaurants love this kind of cheap arugula and colorful lettuces but at least use ones that are fresh, not limp and tired, and have some hint of flavor. arugula should be nutty and aromatic, this was flavorless ... the accompanying bread with the tomato and garlic appears to be a nice touch, but i would prefer for them to do this in the kitchen as they did in every other place i dined at in Barca. i just find it messy and inconvenient to do this particular dish myself, especially when the bread has been toasted to the point that it is dry and crumbles too easily ... the ham is standard Iberian ham and after spritzing it with some olive oil it was good and the portion was also fair ... when the confit arrived i was surprised to see that the skin did not appear to be crisp, and upon tasting it my apprehension were verified ... its my understanding the skin on Duck Confit should be beautifully golden and crisp all over and that is how i have always seen it prepared. this was not, in fact it was elastic in texture. not enough of the duck fat had been rendered out of it, and the meat was chewy. granted, one reason to order confit is for the duck fat, but this piece was drenched in it under the skin. this is a very simple dish to prepare and all they had to have done was cook it longer before serving it. possibly it had been deep-fried and not pan-fried ... the potatoes were cold as were the over-cooked veggies. i got the impression that they had been cooked at the beginning of the evening and had suffered the wait ... Julivert Meu is not an overly priced restaurant considering the location right off of Las Ramblas, and the portions were good sized, but i did not consider it a value becuase of the quality of the salad ingredients and the lack of attention to my confit plate ... in my 2 weeks in Barca there were many places i would have returned to if given the time and there were two i did go to three times each ... so in retrospect i still feel that i could have never gone to Julivert Meu and i would have been better off going to a place i had already tried ... the room is nice, the ambiance is inviting, the staff are attentive and can communicate well, but the food for me was just a non-starter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“home atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is good restaurant for those who want to experience Catalan cuisine. Service is very good. The starter and main course were excellent (aubergine and other vegetables, Catalan sausage and red peppers, duck leg). Dessert were below average and we would recommend not to try it and have an icecream on La Rambla instead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lucky find ! Full of interesting objects, lots of reasonably priced tapas to choose from and also good steak dishes. Shame that the puddings were bought in !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saturnstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Experience Catalan Cuisine”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Restaurant was one of several recommended by our hotel, just off La Rambla. Julivert Meu has a traditional bar, hung with Iberian hams, at the entrance. It opens into a series of rather narrow dinning rooms that have pottery and farm implements displayed from the ceiling and along the walls. Low wooden beams create at cozy atmosphere that evokes Catalonia's rural roots and obviously appeals to tourists. We had a traditional starter of cold potatoes, egg plant, red pepper, and onions, which tasted rather bland, but honestly Catalan cuisine is not spicy and rarely do you see even salt and pepper shakers on the tables. Our main dishes were a carcappio of beef and cheese and verda variada with tuna. Dessert was flan, with beer and wine to drink. The food was good and the portions ample; no complaints with the food or service, both quite satisfactory, but still nothing memorable in our case. Because of the décor and traditional menu, the restaurant does offer a worthwhile dinning experience for new arrivals to Catalonia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxford1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julivert Meu also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Julivert Meu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing