We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall impression - very overpriced place”
Review of Atica Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atica Apartamentos
Ranked #218 of 740 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Let's start with the good things about this accommodation - good internet connection, good location (30-40 min. walk to main city center sights; nearby metro, bus and train stations), very VERY clean - they cleaned our apartment every day (which is unusual for apartments :)

And now the 'be aware' ones - There was no initial sign of "Apartamentos Atica" - when looking for it on the street, look for Hotel Everest sign and entrance. Lack of attention to detail - e.g. there was no towel in the kitchen or sponge for dish washing; instead of telling us everything when "welcoming" us, we had to ask for every little thing - pass for the internet, daily cleaning times, checkout time, etc. Besides, we got a twin room although we specifically asked (and got a confirmation for) a double room...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at Atica Apartamentos for one night in Jan 2013. I travelled alone. I paid 34 Eu/night. In fact, Atica Apartamentos are flats in a dwelling building. In the same building Everest Hotel is located and when you check-in, you have to use Everest Hotel reception which is located on 6 or 7 floor.

Pros:
- Brilliant location, 10 min walk from Sant Pau metro station, 15 min walk from Sagrada Familia.
- Rather big flat, en-suite, good furniture, bed and kitchen.
- Good wi-fi in the room.

Cons:
- There's no sound proof at all - you hear everithing from your neighbors - stepping, caughing, breathing - ALL!! Also you hear all noise from the street. For example, I had Italian neighbors - old woman, young woman and a child. It was nighthmare - they loudly cried and... sang songs till... 2 am!!!!! No chances to sleep!!!!
- The personnel don't speak English at all - we had to use "finger language" only )) Fortunately, it was not the first visit to Barcelona ))

Resume:
This is your decision to stay or not to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Given that Barcelona isn't a huge city and has excellent public transport facilities, the hotel/apartment is in a good location for sightseeing either on foot, or by subway, being set in a quiet street a few minutes walk from the nearest Metro station.

Part of the fun of travelling is often the language difficulties encountered, but the lack of any English-speaking staff during our stay caused us no problems and we got the keys to our apartment without any drama. We had apartment 2a on the first floor - it was spotlessly clean, had a well-equipped kitchen, a double-sinked bathroom with a terrific shower, large flat-screen TV, comfy sofa and dining table - and it had 6 beds! Yes, six beds in four separate bedrooms for just the two of us for two nights.

So then, up to now it would seem that 4+ stars should be appropriate for this accommodation. And it would be, except for one thing - you can hear everything (and I do mean everything) happening in rooms next door, beneath and above you. We stayed for two nights, only encountering the noise on the first night while the second was blissfully quiet - but it was enough to put us off staying there again - such a shame. So 3 stars it is I'm afraid.

Room Tip: If travelling from the airport, look to buy a card for travelling on public transport (for as long a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzippyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I only like that the hotel is within walking distance to Sargada Familia and that it comes with Free wifi.

It's actually quite a distance walk to any of Metro stations

Apartment is dimly lit, and can look a little depressing. On one of the days during our stay, the housekeeper left all doors unlocked. We were lucky not to have anything missing from our room.

Tip. There is a direct bus

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

During the desicion making process on where to stay I thought the reason why this apartment was "affordable" is because it is some distance from the heart of the old town and not close to the beach either. That is certainly true but it is also much smaller, cramped even, than I anticipated. Everywhere there is stickers plastered "silence!" and I understand why, the walls are so thin you can hear people in the next apartment walking around, never mind actually making a noise. I picked an apartment over a hotel because we were three friends traveling and I wanted more space, but the whole experience was cramped, even the lift could barely fit two people. Beds are narrow and short. While not horrible, there must be better value in Barcelona than Atica Apartamentos.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TianTalJard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Atica apartments is a nice rental apartment, with clean modern fittings and furniture. The entrance is a bit confusing and the reception in the 6th floor is even more confusing. But otherwise the place is good, located close to ( 15 mins walk) Sagrada familia and also to the San Pau metro station (10 min walk)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed in these apartments for a month, and they messed up my reservation causing me to have to pack up and move my luggage two extra times! However, this did not compare to having to deal with the people at the desk and the management, which was a true nightmare!! They were rude and the few people that could speak some English had to be called on the phone and could not even speak well leading to additional confusion!! Also, the cleaning people always arrived late, and one of them was extremely rude to us. The apartment was always noisy due to paper thin walls--we heard the people above us at all hours which was annoying and AWKWARD!!! Very poor wifi signal as another review mentioned. The last night they moved us into a hotel room because the reservation had been messed up. The room had an awful smell and was infested with ants!! Could not wait to leave!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 740 in Barcelona
1,618 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#121 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#66 of 740 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atica Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atica Apartamentos

Address: Carrer Travessera de Gracia, 441, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Horta - Guinardó
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 740 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $66 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atica Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Atica Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atica Apartamentos Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing