We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's like staying at the home of a good friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's like staying at the home of a good friend”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

spotless, central, friendly, quiet, and did I mention spotless?

Barcelona is a beautiful city; clean, relaxed, interesting, with terrific food. There are so many little surprises here awaiting those who take the time to get lost. Barcelona Central Garden is centrally located; very near to the "Street of Discord", and just far enough away from the noisier downtown neighbourhoods of El Born & Barri Gotic to be relaxing.

However, it was the owners and the staff of the Barcelona Central Garden that made it truly memorable for my wife and I. We had a beautiful quiet room with a balcony and bathroom facilities and kitchen shared among 4 rooms. The shared spaces were spotless and it seemed that they were cleaned at least three or more times per day. Not surprisingly, the proprietors Alessia and Mirko set the standard for the rest of the staff and are the reason this place feels so comfortable to stay here.

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to add a third week to our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    74
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
96
156
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If it were possible to give a place 10 stars, it might *almost*be enough to properly describe how amazing the Barcelona Central Garden is! Although the location is incredible (very conveniently and centrally located) and the hostel itself is immaculately clean, comfortable, and homey, it´s the staff who make this place the best I´ve ever stayed in. Julian and Karen are incredibly kind, friendly, and knowledgeable, willing to help in any way possible to help make your visit to Barcelona enjoyable.

The owners, especially, make this hostel stand out. Mirko went above and beyond expectation again and again, personally arranging the overnight shipping of an Iphone I had lost in Madrid and spending hours of his own time helping me to plan out and book the rest of my time in Europe. Thank you SO much for your help, and for opening this wonderful home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reed54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Loved the stay here. Basic rooms but extremely clean and quiet. The location was perfect as its walking distance to everything, or if your not into walking its close to bus stops. The staff were friendly as well! This is more like a hotel than hostel in my eyes, besides the bunk beds!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were greeted by Diego who works at the hostel and he gave us the best introduction map/info about Barcelona and what we would see/should see (with pictures too!). We even saw him later at a party and he hung out with us and introduced us to his friends. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and I've never had such genuine help and nice people than at this hostel. They even let us use their computers for free. The people staying at the hostel were also really great, got some good tips and some friendly faces every day.

We had a room with 1 bunk bed, pretty standard, very very clean. The bathrooms were really clean as well.

Location: The location couldn't have been better. It was on a very safe quiet street that was very central to Sagrada Familia, Casa Batllo, Las Ramblas, etc. Last time I was in Barcelona we stayed close to Las Ramblas and it proved to be pretty far from other sights. So this one was perfect.

All in all, a wonderful experience here. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: any of them seem fine, we had the private bunkbed one which wasn't that much more than the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv4dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

first of all the hostel location was very good , and it was easy to find thanks to the they description sent , they crew was very helpful , from the moment i arrived a map was ready with all the touristic attractions marked and their routes highlighted , every night there was smth to do in the hostel , the room was clean and the bathrooms too ,and i met some great people , i would recommend it for sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Moataz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This got to be the best hostel ever I've stayed in.From the time we started communicating with them before the trip (as someone else pointed out) it was great.They would send detailed personalized ontime mails.When we reached they made us sit down, offered us water and treated us like family.Next evening when we were leaving the lady came down and helped us get a taxi in time so we wont miss our train.Best hostel Nuff said!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The minute you start booking with these guys, you know that things will be good: your trip starts with a clear and efficient communication with the hostel, they automatically give you all the necessary info for reaching the city.
Then, when you get here, they sit you down with a cup of coffee to make you comfortable and explain you the highlights of the city. The rooms are kept extremely clean, good facilities, wifi working as it should be, good isolation. What more can you ask for? In short, this crew goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one, without being more expensive than any of the other hostels and without any hidden catches, just a genuine authentic striving for quality and hospitality. The location is great: eixample is excellent for reaching all of the different neighbourhoods of the city, not to far from the ramblas.

Perfect score all the way, anything less would be a sheer insult!

If I might give one single pointer (this is in no way a criticism), it would be handy to have the remote control of the airco in the room itself so you can regulate the temp yourself, but I understand that people might get it lost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sekhmet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#4 of 722 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#25 of 722 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#8 of 305 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#20 of 722 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Central Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Central Garden Hostel

Property: Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Address: Roger de Lluria 41, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Barcelona Central Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Central Garden Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing