We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest Service, Dirty Glasses and dishes...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Atril

El Atril
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
El Atril is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #585 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rudest Service, Dirty Glasses and dishes...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

To sit down in El Atril turned out to be the worst mistake of the day.
The waiter first took ages to turn up, then was very rude.
Taste of our food was poor, the glasses and plates dirty.
We'll definitely not eat there again and cannot reccommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    154
    36
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East grinstead
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ditch the guide book recommendations and head straight to this little gem of a restaurant for possibly some of the best Tapas you will eat in this fantasic city. The ceviche was to die for and the baby squid and fois gras Devine. And don't get me started on the white chocolate pistachio cheesecake. Brenden the Australian owner raises the bar with this charming eatery and could certainly teach the Spanish a thing or two from the experiences we had at other places. This was by country mile the best meal we had during our 3 day stay. My family of foodies can't rate it more highly; we would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Maisy-daisy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Barca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in Barcelona for 8 days last week and this was the best restaurant we ate at. Sometimes in Barcelona the restaurants and tapas bars are pure finger in the air hope for the best pot luck, regardless of how great the menu sounds. We were beginning to lose our faith in tapas, suffering pile upon pile of mediocre patatas bravas, soggy pan con tomate and rushed service. Then we had stroll through the gothic quarter and took a chance on this place.

The staff were very friendly and amusing, and pretty attentive. There is all the regular tapas stuff but with little touches of difference that make it stand out as a place with an actual chef, rather than an average cook, which is what most of the places seem to be rocking.

Much more atmosphere in this square than most places and MUCH better value than most of the places we went to - the potential in Spanish food was actually realised for once!

GO HERE

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great meal here on a Sunday night (so not too busy). All the plates were delicious, including the kangaroo (!) and very reasonably priced. The white chocolate and pistachio cheesckae was heavanly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank MCW1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice fusion mix - warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This lovely restaurant offers a very warm and nice atmosphere and a lovely dish. Definitely take the time and enjoy your dinner, pre reservation is helpful as the space is limited. Try the tapas! A must! (Banana chips)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Netti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Atril also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Atril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing