We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommende hotel for any Barcelona visitor”
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the Room Mate Emma hotel in Barcelona in the first week of June 2014. Entering the lobby we found a very stylish and modern looking hotel and very friendly and helpful crew. Allthoug we arrived a 11 am ( a few hours before the official check in time ) the welcome was very friendly and within ten minutes after arriving everything was done to prepare our room.

We had to get up a 5 am in the morning to get our flight to Barcelona an so we were happy that we could move into our room which then turned out to be a small paradise. We had a room at the top floor with a terrace and a wonderfull view over the city. The room was spacious, clean and really nicely designed. Enough storage room for all our clothes. A nicely stocked minibar and a hand written greeting letter in the room.

We felt really, really welcome. Through our whole stay the crew at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The room was perfectly cleaned every day. The breakfast was good. On our last day we were again greeted by a thank you letter an a handwritten card by the room maid saying thank you for our stay.

Only one little thing could be changed for the future.
- It would be very nice if there would be some german language channels on the hotel TV.

The location of the hotel is perfect for anybody wanting to explore the city as most interesting points can be reached in a walking distance. A lot of good restaurants, cafes and bars are not more then 5 to 15 minutes walk away.
Having travelled to many cities within the last ten years we can say that we have never felt so welcome and well treated in any hotel. Therefore a very big thank you from both of us. If we come to Barcelona again we will definitely stay at Room Mate Emma again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for trusting in Room Mate Emma during your stay in Barcelona, and also to give us such a complete feedback about it.

As you know,It is our main goal to satisfy and exceed all your expectations, and we are so proud to have done it during your stay with us. We always bear in mind all your comments to improve day by day.

If you return, would be a pleasure to help you to discover our city one more time.

Regards from Barcelona,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Emma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was my third trip to Barcelona and my first time in this hotel. In terms of location, this is the best I've stayed in. Take the bus from the airport to the Placa de Catalunya and this hotel is approx 15 minute walk.

Our room was ready even though we arrived a few hours before check in and were offered an upgrade for 10 Euros per night. This gave us an external window and I'd say it was worth it. The room was spacious, clean, had a safe, hairdryer, fantastic shower and very comfortable beds. The air con was also lovely and refreshing after a warm day!

The staff were helpful and friendly and we were able to walk to most of the tourist spots from here. The one time we were shattered we took the metro which is great and very reasonable.

We didn't opt for the breakfast so couldn't comment on this. Overall, a real gem in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLonelyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Thelonelywanderer,

All members of our staff want to give you thanks for your incredible comments about your stay at Room Mate Emma.

It is our main goal to satisfy and even exceed all your expectations, and we are so proud to did it, because as said, you enjoyed very much our location,the stylish, and our friendly staff.

If you return, would be a pleasure to help you to rediscover Barcelona.

Kind Regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend , and it was all u would expect from a hotel.
location is very good : 5 min from Diagonal Metro and in a quite location
large rooms ( we took the superior with an external window ) , very clean and well maintained.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was nice.
to sum it up : I would return .. and will look for room-mate hotels in other cities :-) .

Room Tip: regular rooms does not have an outside windows . there are many neighbors nearby , so ask for higher...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear ORS_4,

Thank you for trusting in Room Mate Emma during your stay in Barcelona, and also to send us your comments about it.
We are so proud to had been your friend in this great weekend with us, having enjoyed our breakfast, location,comfortability and everything.

We would be so happy if you think return to Emma on your next trip to Barcelona or any Room Mate Hotel around the world.

Kind Regards,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was nice and clean, and the location was great. Central, but still in quite surroundings. Nice and helpfull staff! The breakfast was good and had everything I needed. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsloFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Oslofab,

Thank you for trusting in Room Mate Emma during your stay in Barcelona, and also to give us a feedback about it.

It is our main goal to satisfy and exceed all your expectations, and we are so proud to have been so helpful during your stay with us.

If you return, would be a pleasure to help you to discover our city one more time.

Regards from Barcelona,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here during our visit to Barcelona and was very pleased we chose it after checking out quite a few. Good central position, not far from La Sagrada Família and about 1.5 miles from the harbour. Great funky decor throughout with very friendly and helpful staff. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our arrival requesting a room with a street view on a higher floor and got exactly that (I'd recommend that as some of the rooms look out to an internal atrium). Great and varied breakfast selections that's available up until noon.

Room Tip: High floor at the front although Saturday night was a bit noisy from a bar down below which disturbe...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Themusher,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your stay at Room Mate Emma.

All members of our team are so pleased to know your thinkings about the staff, situation, stylish,ect because our goal is that you feel as a friend´s home.

If you return to Barcelona, we hope you decide to enjoy another Room Mate Emma´s experience.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I would recommend this hotel as a high value hotel. Comfortable beds, free wifi, TV , A/C and I liked the shower. But the best thing was the friendly front desk staff. They were very knowledgeable where to go and how to get there.
Coming from the airport you can ride the areo bus to Pl. Catalunya, hop on subway FSC to Provenca. When you disembark take the Rossello exit and walk one block.
Plenty of bakeries and restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BTDTAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear BTDTAtlanta_Georgia,

On behalf of all our staff, thank you so much for sharing your opinion about your stay with us.

Is a great pleasure to know your stay with us was as nice as you explain, because our goal is to feel you as a friend´s home!

Do not hesitate to contact us again if you decide repeat your experience at Room Mate Emma.

Regards from Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I rated Room Mate Emma with 5 stars because of the helpfulness of the staff. It didn't matter who was at the desk (although the two women we frequently saw in the day times were especially
nice), they all were friendly and would do anything to make our stay comfortable. They gave us directions, recommendations, offered water with lemon and oranges), printed tickets we ordered on line,helped print boarding tickets, etc.

The rooms were comfortable and spotless. We even got used to the funky design. We didn't want the music piped in and a quick call to the desk and we learned where to turn it off (switch next to the bed). Showers and bath were fine, although that step into the tub is a big one and a tad difficult if have a mobility issue. Liked having the mini refrigerator and we bought drinks and sandwich makings across the street very inexpensively at the market. The neighborhood is upscale and the balconies and outside decorations on the buildings are worth a look. Felt completely safe here and no one hassled us for money or to buy junk anywhere in the neighborhood. Only complaint are the chairs in the lobby. They simply cannot be used by an older person or a woman in a dress. Even my husband had to get on his knees to get up.

The breakfasts had a decent selection, and we loved the fresh fruit and a latte or espresso each morning. We ate too many rolls with meat and cheese and will have to change our ways when we get home!

The subways we needed were one and two blocks away, and we walked to a lot of the places we wanted to visit. We purchased two 10 trip metro cards which saved us about half the costs of single tickets even though we had a few trips left on the card. We took the bus from the airport to Placa Catalunya for just over 10€ for the two of us and then caught a taxi to the hotel for under 10€. We found that was the easiest and the bus leaves the airport every 5 minutes.

We recommend booking tickets on line and printing them at the hotel to several of the tourist spots to avoid the lines. We did that for Segrada Familia, the Museum of Catalan Music, and La
Pedrera. We also had a great day trip in a small group to Montserrat and Park Guel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Emma, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Torte_Sue,

All members of our team want to thank you so much your fantastic comments about Room Mate Emma, and above all about us and the helpful staff you during your stay.

We always do the best to feel you as a friend´s home and we have checked with your comments that we have done it, so is an absolute pleasure for us.

We hope to see you soon one more time in Emma, your hotel in Barcelona to rediscover-it. We will be waiting for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
313 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
366 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#67 of 513 in Barcelona
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#107 of 513 in Barcelona
1,015 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#47 of 513 in Barcelona
1,178 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#75 of 513 in Barcelona
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona
Room Mate Emma Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing